We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Village Pub”
Review of The Black Horse

The Black Horse
Ranked #46 of 1,159 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A Traditional independantly owned Victorian English Village Pub. Packed With Character, Real Ale, Gins, Burgers, Homemade Food, Real Fires. We Like You To Feel Like It's A Home From Home. Doggies Welcome. We're Not A Children's Pub But We Are Family & Community Oriented. With Monthly Events, Quarterly Beer Festivals & Many Pub Clubs For You To Get Involved In. We Look Forward To Seeing You Soon
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Village Pub”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Whilst I don't live in the area, I use this as my local pub. Like everyone else has said, the beer is great and constantly changing, the food is superb (recommend the Sunday lunch but you have to book because it gets so busy) and I try to get to the beer festivals that are HUGE. Whilst this is a local pub you will not see lots of young lads & lasses which is a shame but the customers that they have in are friendly and welcoming.
I love the fire that has been roaring all winter,
Well done Alan, Sarah & team I believe the reviews are fair and a true reflection on this Great British Inn

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bittermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylestoneblackhorse, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Bittermonster,
What a great review!
Very kind words.
We host 4 Beer Festivals a year now, so hope you can join us for all of them.
Cheers
Thanks for taking the time to review us, it is very much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    27
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg made local pubs......”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

For a long time we struggled for a decent local in Aylestone, then came the new owners to the Black Horse. What more could you want, great homemade food, a constant change of beers, ciders and largers, regular entertainment, great beer garden, fab hosts and loads of events that other pubs would have the time or imagination to deliver. This pub won an award recently and they thoroughly deserve it. This is a great pub and I'm over the moon to have it on my doorstep.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylestoneblackhorse, Owner at The Black Horse, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
If Carlsberg made punters.............
THANK YOU
xxxxxxxxxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and excellent staff”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

This is our local pub and we often go on a Sunday for the amazing home cooked Sunday dinner. We also go to as many of their events as we can as they are so good and well organised. Can't recommend enough!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katiej12379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Black Horse Rocks!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This pub is a fantastic pub, tucked into the estate where you will find a great selection of real ales, cask ciders, and some premium lagers. They serve good tasty food throughout the day and evening. The bar staff are all very friendly and the landlord and lady make you feel more than welcome. This pub is in the CAMRA top ten pubs for a reason. Long live The Black Horse!!!

Helpful?
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Pub”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This classic English pub, sells first class beers, ciders and all the other drinks you would expect. There is a warm welcome from the host and hostess and their friendly staff. Recently they started serving excellent pub meals at very good prices. I visit often with friends and we always enjoy the atmosphere,the food and the drink.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Horse also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Black Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing