We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Herts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for just one night as we went to the races at Leicester. Excellent check in with a very efficient, friendly and helpful young lady on reception. Views are nothing to write home about but the room was fine. Clean, fairly spacious, comfortable bed and both air conditioning and a window that could be opened. Free parking and not too far into the town centre. Breakfast was fine (all buffet style) although the cooked breakfast offered only consisted of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. Would recommend as very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    180
    115
    43
    25
See reviews for
92
90
36
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I wasn't expecting much from my stay in Leicester but this brand new Holiday Inn, which is right next to the Walkers Football Stadium, was a pleasant surprise. The price was modest, the car parking was free and right outside the door, the breakfast was good enough and the woman on the front desk (a bio sciences graduate) was so sweet and helpful she should get a medal. She even printed out a map for me of Leicester. The whole place is new, clean and perfectly acceptable by my standards. You do have to pay for wifi which is a nuisance but I am offsetting that against free parking. The room was, for me, hot at night and the air conditioning didn't seem to work. However, everything else worked fine, good shower, good bed, and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I will never forget the breakfast sausages - they looked like the fingers taken from very old corpses, wrinkled and grey brown. The breakfast ingredients may not be 'qualiddy produce' but there was plenty of it and plenty of choice so I felt it was reasonable for the price. Would use this chain again.

Room Tip: could be noisy on match day. choose a room on the other side, away from the stadium??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I stayed in this hotel as I was attending a business meeting at the Leicester City football stadium. Having arrived quite late, and knowing how small Holiday Inn Express car parks can be, I was not hopeful of finding a car park space, which I did. Added benefit was discovering the following morning that they didn't charge me for the car parking.

The rooms are standard Holiday Inn Express decor, although unlike a stay in another hotel, I did not slip in the bathroom, so the shower does have some strength to it.

Food: there is a restaurant next door which does reasonable food, and at reasonable prices.

Overall, this is a fairly decent find, and within walking distance of the Leicester Tigers ground also.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bollezeele, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

hotel just in front of local soccer team stadium. Be careful, you may not access to the parking during games.
Otherwise, easy to find.
Very friendly personnal, "english style" bathroom, breakfast fine even if hot drinks have to eb taken from machines, newspaper available.
You have to pay for wireless internet, what a pity.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Two night stay for two people (we paid £49 including breakfast per night). The room was clean (seemed very new) and had a kettle (though very little supplies - we brought our own supply of tea bags and milk). Our bathroom had a shower. The bathroom door became the loo door allowing one person to use the loo and the other to use the bathroom. A hair-drier was supplied, as was liquid soap and shampoo.

Breakfast was fine - self-service - with toast, croissants, scrambled egg, baked beans, sausages, cereals, tinned fruit, apples, oranges, delicious blueberry muffins, nice coffee machine, a variety of teas. The juice was pretty cruddy but no worse than expected.

One nice feature is that in the corridors at night the firedoors (or are they just sound-proofing?) are closed, giving a better chance of undisturbed sleep from noisy neighbours.

The hotel is in a bit of a grim-looking area. It's within a few seconds walk of the Walkers Stadium, but not a lot else. However parking is free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Squarebear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night on business earlier this week.

Hotel is very clean, modern and looks very new.
Car parking is free and reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast decent for HIE - standard buffet of sausage, bread, eggs etc.

The only draw back is that there doesnt seem to be any eating places close to hotel (which is right beside Leicester Football Ground). If you have a car, no big deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecrock02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

THE GOOD
Nice, modern and very clean rooms.
New flat screen tv's.
Comp toiletries.
Free car parking.
Friendly staff.
Decent breakfast.

THE BAD
Nothing that really stood out. The location wasn't perfect for me but great if you're in town to watch a footy game!

Overall great value for money and I would def stay again (and I'm fussy!)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Toto44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing