We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,084 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great location and quality hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for a night before we went to a music festival nearby. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the room, the cleanliness and the services available. Also, the breakfast the following morning was very good with a wide range of food available and all that was good quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express Leicester.
Your kind words are appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team who will no doubt be appreciative and keen to continue with the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express on your next visit to Leicester.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Holiday Inn Express Leicester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    195
    118
    46
    27
See reviews for
98
98
40
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently and wasn't too impressed.
Room was ok but hate seeing a sink with multiple cracks and then having a shower that doesn't flow away properly.
Food from the next door took too long (50 minutes) and wasn't the best quality...expected home made and got in my opinion per made, reheat food.
As a high using platinum member I expect something for my loyalty but nothing here not even free hr of Wifi.
Hotel was full as I think there may have been a conference in town so standards may have dropped on this occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay on this occasion.
As a Platinum member we value your loyalty and continued support and we have introduced free Wi-Fi to all our Gold and Platinum members in recognition of your status.
Our menu is constantly under review and improved upon and we are confident that we have ironed out the issues you experienced during your visit.

Please be assured that we continue to strive to exceed our guest expectations and we thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Had a Four Night Stay, Very Nice Staff, Exceeded Expectations
Room Very Clean and Personal touch added by cleaning Staff.
Receptionists All Very Helpfull And Friendly.
Good Value, Free Parking That is A Bonus
Will Stay Again If In Area

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonlitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in this Hotel for 1 night.
For the price i paid (£50 with brekfast) it was excellent value.
The only slight annoyance was checkin. I had booked 2 rooms, 1 a twin and 1 a double. Upon checkin the receptionist claimed we had booked two doubles. After showing her the confirmation she happily agreed to change room type for us, however, she didnt know how to do this on her system as she was new and had been left alone?? after playing around for 10 minutes she still wasnt able to change our room category. eventually she called one of her senior collegues on his mobile and he explained how to change room category. In her favour she was extremely polite and very apologetic. An asset to the Holiday Inn chain. Other than this the stay was good.
Rooms clean and have every basic essential. The beds were extremely confortable and the AC (unlike other Holiday inns ive stayed in) worked perfectly and kept the room to a nice cool temperature. Brekfast was buffet style and was better than i expected. Had a hot section (Eggs, Sausages, Beans) and also all the continetntal items (cheeses, crossiants, yogurts etc.)
Checkout was quick and smooth. I would come back and stay in this hotel again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoeb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The stay was ruined by the unfunctional AC even after changing rooms it seems to work only on the heating system, when you are diabetic you can not stand the heat and need a fridge to keep your insulin, especially when you are staying at a holiday inn express which do not have mini bars, I would suggest since they don't do room service is to at least provide a mini bar to keep medicine and food.
The price was good but I would have prefered to pay extra and stay at the holiday inn at the city center, where I usually stay since I am a priority club member, however they have stopped doing smoking rooms there and this was my only choice, will not stay in the express again, I'd rather stay in a hotel that has a minibar and room service.
Don't get me wrong though everything else was fine the staff were helpful and honest, they also kept my medicine in there fridge and provided me with a fan, but as I stayed there for 5 days it was not sufficient enough.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sawsan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed for just one night as we went to the races at Leicester. Excellent check in with a very efficient, friendly and helpful young lady on reception. Views are nothing to write home about but the room was fine. Clean, fairly spacious, comfortable bed and both air conditioning and a window that could be opened. Free parking and not too far into the town centre. Breakfast was fine (all buffet style) although the cooked breakfast offered only consisted of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. Would recommend as very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I wasn't expecting much from my stay in Leicester but this brand new Holiday Inn, which is right next to the Walkers Football Stadium, was a pleasant surprise. The price was modest, the car parking was free and right outside the door, the breakfast was good enough and the woman on the front desk (a bio sciences graduate) was so sweet and helpful she should get a medal. She even printed out a map for me of Leicester. The whole place is new, clean and perfectly acceptable by my standards. You do have to pay for wifi which is a nuisance but I am offsetting that against free parking. The room was, for me, hot at night and the air conditioning didn't seem to work. However, everything else worked fine, good shower, good bed, and tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I will never forget the breakfast sausages - they looked like the fingers taken from very old corpses, wrinkled and grey brown. The breakfast ingredients may not be 'qualiddy produce' but there was plenty of it and plenty of choice so I felt it was reasonable for the price. Would use this chain again.

Room Tip: could be noisy on match day. choose a room on the other side, away from the stadium??
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing