We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another consistent Holiday Inn Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 31 October 2012

It's in a good location right opposite the football stadium and is your usual Holiday Inn place. That's not a bad thing though as I see the chain as the McDonald's of hostelry in that no matter where you go in the UK, you know exactly what you are going to get.

I had a bit of concern with my room in that it was adjacent to the lift shaft, but turned out not to be a problem.

The room was atypical of what you can expect - clean, modern and adequate facilities.

Breakfast was decent, with a wide choice. The reception area is a little too hot though, so my only criticism would be to turn the heating down! It was also a little pricey for an Express, so check out the rates to see what you can get as often I can get a Holiday Inn reservation in some towns for less than the cost of this Express stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrickVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.
Your positive comments will be shared with the team who strive to exceed our guests expectations.
With regards to your other feedback it is appreciated and we have taken it on board to improve our levels of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Holiday Inn Express, Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight, we arrived quite late but still a wait for check in as a party had arrived. The receptionist was friendly enough and we were given the keys to our rooms. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable, we did not eat here so we cannot comment on the meals but the breakfast was lovely. The only thing that it was marked down on was whilst I was checking out and we thought we had paid when we reserved our rooms over the internet this was not the case and was not explained by the receptionist. It was a nice stay and I would return again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.
We appreciate your positive feedback and have taken note of where you feel we can improve. This feedback is valuable for us to be able to improve our offering and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards.

Eugene Skoebrla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Booked this by accident!! The area isn't very good, but.... The lady on reception was lovely when I arrived, asked how my day had been and was just generally very nice.
Room was clean.
Food isn't available, mental note to self about HI Express!
One night only is OK

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigboyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank for your review of the Holday Inn Express Leicester and your comments.
Our staff appreciate feedback and this positive feedback will be passed on to the reception staff.
If you are in Leicester and in need of accomodation we will be happy to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Stayed here for a night before a conference, booked a non-smoking room but got put in a smoking room; the duvet and pillows stank of smoke. Everything was clean though, and the breakfast very good however only half and hour fee wi-fi then £6 for 24 hours is rather tight!
Found a very good Indian restaurant nearby on Walnut Street - Spicy Haandi - would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank Lozzak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Lozzak

Thank you for review of the Holiday Inn Express Leicester.

I would like to offer my sincere aplogies for the oversight of placing you in a smoking room.
On occasion during our peak nights the demaind outstrips the supply of non smoking rooms, please accept our sincere apologies on this occasion.
Thank you for the feedback on the Wi-Fi offering, it is worth considering and your opinion is valued.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Holiday Inn Express Leicester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for a night before we went to a music festival nearby. We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent quality of the room, the cleanliness and the services available. Also, the breakfast the following morning was very good with a wide range of food available and all that was good quality.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Express Leicester.
Your kind words are appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team who will no doubt be appreciative and keen to continue with the good work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express on your next visit to Leicester.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla
Holiday Inn Express Leicester

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed recently and wasn't too impressed.
Room was ok but hate seeing a sink with multiple cracks and then having a shower that doesn't flow away properly.
Food from the next door took too long (50 minutes) and wasn't the best quality...expected home made and got in my opinion per made, reheat food.
As a high using platinum member I expect something for my loyalty but nothing here not even free hr of Wifi.
Hotel was full as I think there may have been a conference in town so standards may have dropped on this occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2012

Dear Sir

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.
I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay on this occasion.
As a Platinum member we value your loyalty and continued support and we have introduced free Wi-Fi to all our Gold and Platinum members in recognition of your status.
Our menu is constantly under review and improved upon and we are confident that we have ironed out the issues you experienced during your visit.

Please be assured that we continue to strive to exceed our guest expectations and we thank you for your feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leicester in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Had a Four Night Stay, Very Nice Staff, Exceeded Expectations
Room Very Clean and Personal touch added by cleaning Staff.
Receptionists All Very Helpfull And Friendly.
Good Value, Free Parking That is A Bonus
Will Stay Again If In Area

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonlitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
969 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,591 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
925 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £52 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing