We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food but rooms were ok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and of a good standard but the food in the hotel was just awful. Breakfast was cardboard tasting salty powdered scrambled egg, very poor quality sausage and the toaster warmed the bread or burnt it. Diner was oven chips and microwave curry, burgers etc £10 ish for a ding ding meal isn't good enough. If stay here book with no breakfast and eat in the counting house up the road. Many hotels in the area like premium inns offer similar prices and why better breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Simon M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and please accept my sincere apologies for having a less than great experience.
We have a new restaurant opening next door that will be serving great food seven days a week.
We also appreciate your candid feedback and this feedback helps us address and identify areas where we can do better.
Thank you for your custom on this occasion and we hope to be of service in the near future again.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stay here when in town for rugby, so far we've never won here, but still come back each year.
Hotel is only 10 mins from ground and then another 10 mins if you want to go into town. Room was very clean and had all you could want for an overnight stop. Free brekkie and parking an added bonus, bar available for pre and post match drinks too.
Will be back next season and hopefully this time we might get a win.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Exilequeen

Thank you for your continued support of our hotel and for taking the time to share your positive stay with us.
We are delighted to hear you enjoy our clean and functional hotel.
We look forward to seeing you for the next match but I have to say those Leicester Tigers are a great team and it does take a lot to beat them.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As we were attending a function at the Walker Stadium we chose the hotel for its proximity to the venue which was a 2 minute walk away. Once we found our way into the car park the rest of our stay was excellent. The hotel was modern and our room was very clean, the beds were comfortable and there was tea & coffee making facilities. As we had an early start the next day we were pleased with the 7am start to breakfast and as it was self service it was very quick. The food was good with a reasonable choice of hot and cold dishes. Breakfast was free so we felt the hotel was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor overlooking the Walker Stadium but the lifts are efficient so I presume an...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce777975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Joyce777975

We would like to thank you for your review and your custom on this occasion.
Free breakfast and free parking is a good deal and we are happy to hear you feel the same.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming back real soon.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Fantastic helpful staff who helped me with all queries including ordering and sympathising afterward with a subpar local pizza delivery, perfect room, good value. Highly recommended and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McRosty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear McRosty

We are delighted to hear our friendly and helpful staff has another happy guest, this review will be shared with them team.
Thank you for your custom on this occasion and for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed here for 3 days on Business. Ideal location, close to all the main roads. Comfy room, lovely shower room and very clean. Simple breakfast but that was beneficial, no messing, which is handy when you need to be out quick.

Slight complaint was the size of duvet on a single bed. Way too small for anyone over 6 foot. Also the meals in the evening. My fish and chips were burnt to a crisp. However I have to say the staff dealt with it really well and offered a free desert.

Overall, very handy hotel - also, free parking! Brilliant!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnySheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Johnnyski16

Thank you for custom on this occasion and we appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay.
We have a great restaurant opening during December who will be taking care of the meals for us, I am confident you will be more than satisfied with their offering.
Your feedback is appreciated and well received and we will address this in due course.

We look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting my son. Tea and coffee in rooms, plenty of space, breakfast included. Good value for money. Only complaint is there's no mirror at the dressing table. Mirror is further up the room, my hair dryer wouldn't stretch from plug socket to mirror. Bad designing!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helfi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear helfi26

Thank you for your custom on this occasion and for taking the time to post a review of your stay.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our clean and spacious facilities and it is good to hear that your wallet is also pleased with the great value your enjoyed during your stay.
On your next visit to your son we will be very happy to have you back with us.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Although we only stayed one night we would recommend this hotel. We were given one of the accessible rooms which was extremely spacious and exceptionally clean. Pefectly located for the football gound and close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miketina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear miketina07

Thank you for your custom and your kind review.
I will be sharing this feedback with the team who will be delighted to have another satisfied and happy guest.
We are happy to hear the clean spacious facilities were well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
903 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
653 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £52 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing