We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for short stays :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on 5/1/14 whilst visiting friends in Leicester. It is ideally situated close to the city centre, but is far enough away to be peaceful. It would be fantastic for anybody coming to watch either the Leicester Foxes or the Tigers. It's on site for the football ground & just over the road from Welford Rd rugby ground.
I was on the 4th floor, right at the back of the hotel with a nice view onto the weir & canal behind the hotel. My only criticism is that the mattress was a little soft for my taste.
The room was spotless & so were the towels.
Breakfast was really good & was included in the price.There was a good choice of things to eat & drink...Sausages, scrambled eggs, croissants, cheese, cold meats, coffee machines etc etc. I would happily recommend this hotel to everyone.
The reception staff were both lovely & extremely helpful. Well done HI Express Leicester!

Room Tip: I was on 4th floor at the back & it was lovely & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissRicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear MissRicki

Thank you for your kind review, our team will be delighted to receive your positive sentiments.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our clean facilities and that the free breakfast hit the spot.

On your next visit to Leicester we will be delighted to host you again.
All the best for 2014 and thank you for you support.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My son and I enjoyed a one night stay when we travelled to watch Leicester Tigers. Staff were very friendly, room clean and hotel ideally located for both football and rugby matches. The only downside was the breakfast which was a bit basic, but for what we paid for the room I can't really complain. In the evening we went a short walk to the Odeon cinema where there were a couple of restaurants like Nandos.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank AddisonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Addison Family

We are delighted to have another happy rugby fan that has enjoyed our clean facilities and have been charmed by our friendly team.
Thank you for your custom and for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
We also have the neighbouring Spur restaurant here with us now and this could save you the short walk up the road.
We look forward to seeing you at the next game.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for 2 days between Xmas and new year and was very pleased with the hotel.

The room was very clean and was spacious for 2 adults. Our room only had a shower and no bath which I personally did not like. Also the plug sockets are not near the mirror which I found odd.

The breakfast was free and very good. They had various cereals, fruit, toast and jam and croissants. The hot food consisted of scrambled egg, beans and sausage. Also free coffee, tea and juices were provided.

The staff were helpful and very polite. Checking in and out was completed very swiftly.

This is a great value hotel and convenient for the football and rugby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Melissa H

We are delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed our clean and spacious rooms.
I will be sharing your review with the team who no doubt will be buoyed by your comments.

All the very best for 2014 and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed with my wife and 2 children one aged 2 and the other 8 months. Had a family room, double with a sofa bed. Sofa bed was already out set out as a bed, my 2 year old was very comfy in it. Not a lot room for us to layout a travel cot and also keep the pram upright, but we managed to squeeze it all in.

Nice open plan breakfast area which I was able to use with the 8 month year old at night for her to be fed and then also as a family to have breakfast the following day. Attentive staff on hand to ensure the tables were clean and the food was stocked.

Location was good, plenty of car parking, all in all a smashing hotel which I would be more than happy to use again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris18921892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear chris18921892

Thank you for your review and your custom and of course for taking the time to share your comments with us.
I will be sharing your comments with the team who make stays like this possible.
A tip on your next stay, ask for one of the accessible rooms as they have a little more space especially if you are travelling with children.
All the very best for 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

A really good hotel - the staff were excellent and very helpful. Stayed with my family and it was a great stay. We forgot our toothbrushes at home and when I asked about purchasing one from the hotel they gave me some complimentary! Asked to stay longer then check out and that wasn't a problem, the breakfast was made perfect with delicious coffee. Thank you to all the staff for their great service.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shkh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear shkh1000

Happy New year and all the best for 2014.
Our team will be delighted to have another happy and satisfied guest to add to our list.
Thank you for your kind comments and for your custom on this occasion.

On your next visit to Leicester we will be happy to welcome back.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location for the stadium and very convenient for city centre. Clean rooms, friendly and polite staff, breakfast very tasty, free wifi and free parking, all with an early booking discount.
Nothing more to be said for a budget hotel stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mukesh C

Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear that enjoyed all our facilities with the free Wi-Fi, free parking and free breakfast.
Your comments will be shared with the team who no doubt will be very happy to be recognized for the hard work they put in.
We will be looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I feel a little conflicted about the three star review of this hotel, but I do use the brand quite often and in my experience this is just an average example.

The hotel is located a mile or so from the city centre, but is very handy of course for the Leicester City ground. Good clean room, but a slightly uncomfortable night as the bed dipped in the middle - on this occasion we were a couple, staying for a work Christmas party nearby.

The breakfast was a bit tired and a little more limited than normal for HIE (it was Sunday near the end of service) with the LOL toaster either leaving the bread slightly warm or cremated. But it wasn't an unpleasant start to the day if like us, your expectations are realistic at the price level.

An average stay by HIE standards, which are generally quite high, but don't be put off as the quality and value is still better than most. A couple of nice slices of toast might just have slipped in an extra star...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnBarra57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear JohnBarra5

Thank you for your support and the time to post a review of your stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies that this stay did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. Your candid feedback allows us to address these areas and continually improve on our offering and service.
We are happy to hear you appreciated the good value on offer though.

Thank you again and we appreciate your loyalty to the brand.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
999 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
1,626 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
951 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £55 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing