We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed one night, very friendly and helpful reception staff. Rooms as good as any holiday inn express. Not the easiest hotel to find but free car parking and free wifi in room - but very complicated way to use needing to register and the log in using the longest password I've ever seen with 16 characters! But that's not too important, overall this is an ok hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear GordsGuinness

I am delighted to have another guest that has been impressed by our friendly and very helpful staff.
Our internet service provider is working on a simpler logging in procedure and they will be launching this very soon.
Thank you for your support and for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Staff are happy & polite. A nice, clean & newish hotel, but not a great location. No food in hotel during evening, only option on site is "Spur" restaurant. Which is like a soulless Nandos with average everything.
Inside the Leicester City FC compound, but doesn't seem to be a problem. NB been staying in Leicester for about a year now - hotels are often full so this is expensive for an 'express'.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Matt T

Leicester is doing very well for itself as a city and having said that, it still does reflect very good value.
I am very happy to hear that our friendly and happy staff made an impression upon you and that our clean hotel was appreciated during your stay.
Thank you for your custom and your review on this occasion and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Reception was very busy on checking in and out with a number of guests waiting I was also concerned being a gold member when I mentioned food I was given a menu and told next door could deliver or I could eat next door, and then a sum of 50 pounds was pre authorised off my card if I needed any food this has never happened before and I usually stay in Holiday Inns/ Express a dozen times per month ( I decided not to eat ) although the staff were helpful they were extremely busy when I booked in

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Kevin E

Thank you for your review and for your continued support of Holiday Inn Express.
IHG, along with most other major hotel companies, utilizes credit and debit card authorizations as a standard practice, as the hotels are individually franchised the terms and conditions as demonstrated in this instance might vary from location to location.
I would like to apologise that this might have distracted you from enjoying your stay with us.
I am happy to hear that our friendly and helpful staff made an impression on you during your stay,

We hope that we can be of service to you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

stopped here for one night using reward points - check in (Hanna I think?) was ok and room ok on 5th floor overlooking the front of the football stadium - easy to find the hotel - parking free - cab into city cost £6 - cinema with free parking very close - room ok, has the blue lights in the bathroom which is handy at night - pillows are a bit rubbish (HI need to get pillows and duvets like Premier Inn!) - breakfast ok - plenty of food right up the close at 9.30 - lovely friendly lady (slightly older, short hair) was very pleasant and chatty - staff on reception when we left not very talkative and didn't ask how the stay was, or wish us a good journey or anything ... we just handed the key over - very handy hotel (not on a match day though!) if you want to do Richard III visits to the city

Room Tip: be aware that this hotel is next to a football stadium !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear janeyShropshire

Thank you for your custom and for sharing your candid review with us.
Your comments are appreciated and noted. These comments allow us to focus on areas where improvement is required and rest assured they will be attended to.
I am happy to hear that you had some great interaction with our team but there is clearly an area for improvement.

Thank you again for sharing with us and we trust that we can be of service again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I stayed here one night in February 2014 and found the hotel and the staff to be very pleasent.

Considering it's location, it was very quiet.

The room was spacious and clean.

Minor irritations:
The free wifi was quite slow and tended to drop out quite a bit.

The free breakfast was uninspiring. Bland eggs, odd tasting sausages and not a lot else to offer. Croissants were warm but very dry and tasted a little old. This may have just been a bit of over zealous warming on the hotels behalf.

Generally, as a place to sleep it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear JamesT99

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that our friendly and helpful staff made an impression on you.
We had an issue with the line provider that interfered with our Wi-Fi service but this has been resolved and we are back to a fast and stable service now.
Thank you for sharing your other comments and rest assured we will use these to keep on improving our service and offering.

We trust that we can be of service again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed twice for 4 nights, rooms were clean but walls thin and could here people next door. Day staff friendly but night staff didn't even look up on most days, had problem with heating which night staff said they would. Got back at night, heating not working and night staff had not reported, manager put electric heater in straight away. Not much choice with food as restaurant next door meat mainly

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveisgplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear steveisgplc

Thank you for you review and for sharing your comments regarding your stay with us.
I would like to aplogise for any inconvenience during your stay and that this might have prevented you from you enjoying your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on our friendly and helpful staff and we have clearly let ourselves down on this occasion.
We appreciate you highlighting this as it allows us to identify these areas where improvement is required.
We trust that we will be of service in the near future again.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel last week and was impressed with the friendly staff and those in the ajoining restaurent.Despite the Hotel being next to the footie stadium and on a main road I had a good nights sleep and a tasty breakfast.The Hotel is about a mile and a half from the City Centre and Railway station but easy to get to and the bar staff were friendly and accomodating too.A good experiance

Room Tip: Room was away from the stadium looking on to the car park and canal but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear IAN D

Thank you for your kind review and for your custom.
We are delighted that our friendly staff have made an impression on you and I will share your positive sentiments with the team.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,
Eugene Skoberla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
975 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,598 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
931 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £51 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing