We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be underestimated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed on night midweek . Good clean hotel with decent food in adjacent restaurant chain and obviously tight at the stadium. Friendly helpful staff and all the essentials well provided for. Based on a very competitive rate I would say definitely give it a go.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank DSP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear DSP1963

Thank you for your recommendation and for your custom on this occasion. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities and that our value was recognized as well.
We look forward to your next stay and thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting family. The ground is outside the king power stadium. Nice and clean rooms look pretty new. Nice and comfy at a decent price. Breakfast included in booking and was really nice. Staff nice and helpful. Will stay here again next time we visit.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Darren S

We are delighted to hear that we will be seeing you again and that our great value and service was right up your street.
Thank you for your support on this occasion and for posting a review of your stay.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for three nights and my daughter and I had a really good stay. Very helpful and friendly staff, super clean room and we both had three nights good sleep in a comfortable bed. Excellent value for money. We stayed in a room overlooking the stadium and although they were getting ready for a match it was quite. The breakfast we thought was really good and the coffee machine is just waht you need in the morning as you can have as many as you like. The hairdryer was broken and I reported it to reception in the morning and ny the time we got back in the afternoon a brand new hairdryer had been installed. The car park for the hotel is at the back and you need to drive into the stadium past the front of the hotel and then sharp right past a barrier. The restaurant next to the hotel is fine if a bit expensive. Location was not a problem as it is an easy ten minute drive into the centre of Leicester whre there is a car park in short street that charges £5 for the day and closes at 7pm - this is a lot less than the main shopping area carparks in Highcross. When we visit Leicester again I would happily stay in this hotel that to my mind offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Rachael B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay and I am happy to see that our clean facilities and our overall value for money was very well received. You also seemed to have taken the time to see the sights in Leicester, which is great.
I will be sharing your positive comments with the staff who are the guys that put in the hard yards.
Thank you for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back real soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

You get what you pay for in life and if it's just somewhere to crash while on business then this Holiday Inn Express does just that. Set your expectations at the right level and you won't go far wrong.

Location may be considered a bit of an issue unless you are going to the football ground. which is just about as close as you can get without actually being part of the complex - so if you don't fancy the bar & grill next door you will need transport to get into Leicester city centre or venture out to a country pub (which is what I did)

It's a clean hotel with a surprisingly decent breakfast - no bacon on the menu but everything else is rather nice to load up on before a day at the coalface ...

Room Tip: As a modern hotel, air con I believe is standard throughout but maybe worth checking. I did not stay...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hanhamvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear hanhamvillager

Thank you for your custom and for your review.
I am happy to see that our clean facilities are well received and that you made the most of your visit to Leicester with a visit to centre and its variety on offer.
On your next visit to Leicester we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a 1 night stay in a family room here the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was nice to with a decent selection of items. The staff were generally ok but on checking in there was only 1 person I had to wait what felt like 10 mins to be attended too because someone else was checking in before me. I also had a knock on the door and phone call within 10 mins of the check out time not always easy when your travelling with small children. However I didn't let that spoil my stay and would return I'm not expecting miracles for the price. I would advise the views are not spectacular so don't expect lovely city skyscrapers.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rashid187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Rashid187

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay.
I am very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and at the same time thank you for the feedback on the areas where we can improve.
I am delighted to hear that we will be seeing you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I was not expecting much as this is an Express but I was wrong! Large well equipped rooms, a comfortable bar, very good breakfast (included in price) and charming very friendly reception staff. This hotel is great value. It is not very central but very convenient (opposite) the King Power Stadium. The Spur restaurant is next door serving steak, burgers, ribs etc. I would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Tim G

We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations during your visit to Leicester. Not much can beat a good stay with a great burger on your doorstep.
Thank you for your support and for your custom and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Leicester.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked here because we were going to the Leicester City friendly against Werder Bremen (Leicester won 1 - 0, which was a bonus)! It's an "Express" so we did not expect to be waited on hand & foot. Our double room (217) was clean, spacious and well equipped. The staff on Reception (who also man the bar) were charming, helpful and efficient and even arranged to store our "doggy bag" of yummy leftover curry (see separate review of Spice Bazzer - their spelling) in a fridge overnight. The self service breakfast was great - loved the DIY "barrista" machine which dispensed great quality espresso and latte. Would certainly recommend and go again. Perhaps not recommended for those who don't like large football crowds - but it is always a good idea to check exactly where your hotel is located before you book, as we did.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left of the corridor overlook the (free) car park, on the right they overlook the King...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fetlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Fetlocks

It is great to see LCFC start the season on a positive and lets hope it continues for the rest of the season. I will be sharing your kind review with our charming bunch who will no doubt be delighted to have another happy guest through our doors.
Thank you for your custom and for sharing your comments, we look forward to seeing you real soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
932 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
903 reviews
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
654 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 40 in Leicester
1,551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £53 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing