We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for the rugby, great value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the rugby, great value!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

Friendly staff at check-in and at the bar! Room was cold but staff provided additional heater. Walking distance to football and rugby stadium. Perfect! Some people on here complaining about the view!!! Seriously u are in central Leicester what view are u expecting?
The guys at reception where great!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDerry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressLeicester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
We wish to acknowledge receipt of your review following your stay with us and thank you for your time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    186
    115
    43
    26
See reviews for
95
91
38
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
250 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

Freezing cold room. Surly, rude staff. No spare blankets. Wouldn't even try to fix the freezing air con. "Breakfast" was a joke. Looked as if the uneatable food had been made a week ago. Prison style tables dirty, chipped cups and plates.
Staff got a real attitude problem. Real dump and very surprised it's a Holiday Inn as normally they are very good. Steer well clear of this dump or take extra bedding if are stupid enough to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fox555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressLeicester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We trust the matter has now be resolved to your satisfaction and hope you will continue to use Holiday Inn Express hotels. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We attended a work's Christmas do at the Walkers Stadium and the hotel was literally next to it, about a 1 minute walk.

Typical Holiday Inn Express layout, quick check in but given key to wrong room so had to wait whilst correct key sorted!

Had a smoking room which for me, as a non-smoker, did make the room smell quite stale. Fixtures and fittings and bathroom quality very good. Individually controlled room temperature was good but little noisy if left on.

Breakfast was satisfactory and adequate as included in price (which we paid nothing as redeemed points!). Only had sausage and scrambled egg for the hot food.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

I usually stay with Premier Inn, but because this hotel is right next to the Walkers Stadium it was ideal for the match I was in town for. Big mistake! The hotel becomes a massive pub on match days and I had to fight my way through a four deep queue for the bar to get to reception. I then had to wait as the "receptionist" was working serving beer. The floor was absolutely filthy where you could see it. My room was freezing, with the totally indequate heating full on I slept in my clothes with two duvets (fortunately it was a twin room) The window leaked so badly I was still cold. There was no evening meal provision whatsoever. The receptionist gave me local takeaway menus. Breakfast was an absolute joke. The most dried up sausages I have ever seen and cold scrambled egg. No other hot food in sight. The cereal dispenser had both Corn Flakes and Special K in the same tube and I never saw a single staff member the whole time I was there. Next time I'll walk to the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiJohnDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIExpressLeicester, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We trust the matter has now be resolved to your satisfaction and hope you will continue to use Holiday Inn Express hotels. Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

We chose this hotel as it is next to the Football Stadium. It now has an adjacent restaurant but does not say on the website that the restaurant is closed on matchdays.Also both at lunchtime and in the evening the hotel ground floor was overwhelmed with football supporters in the bar whilst their children played football on the resident's car park . The toilets were trashed which is apparently a regular occurence on matchdays.After going out for dinner we returned at about 9.00 pm for a quiet drink only to find that there were some very drunk men propping up the bar and swearing loudly. We complained at reception and whilst we received an apology no action was promised so we reluctantly went to bed early.The room was fine,the breakfast basic and the staff's attitude indifferent.It seems on matchdays that the hotel turns into a pub.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delboy5822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

My recent stay at the holiday inn express at walkers stadium was disappointing due to the poor attitude of staff and their lack of people skills. I had arrived at the hotel at 1:30 pm and was told to wait in reception as check-in was not permitted until 2pm. As a gold priority member I think this is very poor show. When I finally did get to my room the accommodation was not much to brag about. Pay less for your hotel and you'll get crappy service if not a poor room too

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

I revisited this hotel after a year and it never fails to disappoint - excellent service, friendly and efficient staff. The new restaurant attached to the hotel has now opened with a great choice of cuisine of excellent quality. Ample parking, sensible price and clean comfortable rooms makes this the number one hotel to stay when visiting Leicester

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELBLOG0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.9 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Address: 4 Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing