We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat lovers paradise!”
Review of The Smokehouse - CLOSED

The Smokehouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Came here as a table of four on a Wednesday to try out the 'big smokes' Wednesday offer.

Welcomed very pleasantly by the waitress who was very quick with our order and provided both the offer menu & the main menu so we could decide. Whilst we waited for friends we had the virgin mojito- best I've had in a long time and a fruity Fizzy mocktails.

We ordered from the Big Smokes offer menu and were not disappointed! The pulled pork melted in the mouth and had the right balance of savoury and sweetness, the burger (double burger with all the trimmings and pulled pork) was in a brioche bun and has converted me to being a burger fan- just fantastic!
The deal included a side and a beer or wine- the mac & cheese was great but I would urge you to try the mash with gravy and chine butter- could just eat bowls of this it was that good!

We felt we hadn't been enough of gluttons with the mains so had dessert also. I was very impressed with the cherry pie, simple yet very well executed and my friends all made very encouraging noises about the sticky toffee pudding with bourbon glaze.

All in all, great food, lovely mocktails and beers, perfect service and good value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kittenkirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O bar Leics T, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for visiting us and going out of your way to review us with with such lovely comments. We're really pleased that you have enjoyed our half way hog Wednesday deals. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Me and my wife visited the Smokehouse last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and were both massively impressed. I'd been once before, and knew it was pretty special, but it's nice that me and the wife can agree on something :)

What they do here is very unique. Forget the american-inspired places you've been to before, serving the same old things slathered in overly-sweet BBQ sauce, served with fries and garlic bread. This is purposeful, thought-out, authentic food, and the place deserves to be judged on it's own merits.

The limited menu (as other reviewers have commented) is not something to be shrugged at - it's an indication that the people behind The Smokehouse know and care about what they are doing. They'd rather offer a smaller number of carefully crafted dishes, and prepare them passionately, than 50 mediocre ones, boshed out like a car production line.

Quality ingredients, prepared and combined with love, skill and genuine passion. It's a true gormet dining experience, without the pretentiousness. Add to that the excellent service and great array of craft beers, wines and cocktails on offer (A nice, sharp long island iced tea is a perfect choice to cut through the rich food and cleanse the palette) I can't think of a place I'd rather eat.

I still can't get those ribs out of my mind! :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Babicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O bar Leics T, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review and nice comments. We're so pleased that you enjoy our authentic and fresh menu - it is really important to us that we get this right and because of that, it is such a great reward to hear that our customers enjoy it!

We're currently working on our new cocktail menu and next seasonal smokehouse menu, we please do keep an eye out for the launch of both!

The O bar and Smokehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was my first visit to the Smokehouse after a recommendation by a friend. Our friends were over from the States and we were looking to take them somewhere different as they had already had 2 Curry's. Pulled Pork is very popular in the States and I thought this would be a good place to go. We were made to feel very welcome in a lovely environment with great music in the background. It was explained how to order, and we ordered a main of Pulled Pork, Ribs & BBQ Chicken and then several side dishes including mashed potatoes & salad. The food was awesome and we even ordered more pulled pork & ribs much to the amazement of the waitress, the non alcoholic cocktails were really good & quite imaginative too. Would highly recommend for a good evening out & somewhere different from the rest. Our American friends were pretty impressed too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O bar Leics T, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. As residents of Leicester, we're proud of the fantastic selection of Indian restaurants that we have in our city and we're pleased that you're friends have had a nice slice of the cuisine on offer in Leicester!

Saying that, we love it when we have american guests visit, as its a good way to measure our version of an American smokehouse to what they are used to experiencing in the United States. We're over the moon that you all enjoyed this visit and gave us such a nice review. We hope to see you again soon!

The O bar and Smokehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have now been to the Smokehouse 3 times. This may sound exaggerated but if there was one place I would recommend in the UK it would be here. The service is great, the selection of beer on tap is way above most pubs but, most importantly, the food is unbelievably good. The side dishes are great but you must order the ribs. Americans don't know how good these ribs are. I think the value for money is great as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O bar Leics T, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you so much for such a lovely review about The Smokehouse. We pride ourselves on both the food and drink that we serve here and we're over the moon that you have enjoyed these with us a number of times now. As you are probably aware, we are constantly updating both our food and drinks selection, so please do come back for another try as our summer menu is now out. Oh, and don't worry, the ribs are still on the menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We visit for the first time on Saturday night and we're really impressed. The food was perfect, four of us shared 2 starters, 4 mains and 3 sides and there was more than enough food for us all. The best pulled pork I've ever had, and the mash is amazing! The bill was £100 for our food, a bottle of prosecco and 4 beers which we thought was extremely good value.

The service was great too, the waitress gave us her recommendations and was really lovely. It was nice to eat somewhere where the people working there can have a laugh and a joke with you without compromising on service. Would definitely recommend to people and would love to visit again soon.

1  Thank Louby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The O bar Leics T, Manager at The Smokehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your review on The Smokehouse. We're proud to have a team here both front of house and in the kitchen, who are passionate about what we do and how we do it. We're so glad that we delivered on food, drink and service for you when you visited us.
It is a cliche, but it really does make it worth while to hear that our guests have enjoyed their time at The Smokehouse. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you - The Smokehouse and O bar team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing