We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Day trip” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belgrave Road

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Day trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Did a day trip with family. Expected a lot but was average.
Some of the shops were excellent had a large variety of clothes but limited in quantity. Some of the shops were run down. Not many restaurants on the stretch of road but one or two are quiet well presented. Being a vegetarian only saw two restaurants large enough to consider, one did not look that good and the other looked good but also did meat dishes so that put me off. The best bit was the history lesson for my young one when we saw the statue of Mahatma Ghandi.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    22
    15
    6
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently visited the 'Golden Mile' in Leicester. I was very disappointed to see, that for an area that apparently has been awarded national notoriety, many of the shops made little effort to look presentable. The constant hum of cars in an area with far too many traffic lights created what felt like an extremely busy but not comfortable environment. I had heard much about the restaurants along the Golden Mile, but found most of these were cheap 'chicken' takeaways, serving deep fried chicken for as little as a pound. I would say this is hardly 'upmarket'. The whole experience was just very disappointing. I will not be returning any time soon.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“grate street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Belgrave rd is grate I buy all my Bollywood DVDS there and the best blace to eat is Bobbys its all veggie food but its amazing place to eat great staff and grate food go there trust me you will love ti

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Belgrave Road - What a disappointment.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

I had heard of Leicester's famous golden mile.......
went today with my family and highly disappointed. Yes, selected veg restaurants like Sharmilee are very good, but generally the choice and price of Asian clothes isn't great. Have been to Southall, Birmingham sparkbrook / Ladypool road, as well as Soho Road (and even Bradford) - and this looks the most run down. Shame really as expectation was high.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaudry-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a dump.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Filthy Filthy Filthy. How can anybody come up with the name Golden Mile. People spitting in the street ,boxes on the pavement,oh my god what a dump.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Tina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belgrave Road also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Belgrave Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing