We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was great until breakfast time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything was great until breakfast time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Fieldhead is on a main road, but it is surprisingly quiet and cosy. The staff were very helpful and approachable and our evening meal was really nice. We then retired to our clean and comfortable bedroom. In the morning we were setting off for home and were looking forward to the highlight of a stay in an Old English Inn - a delicious breakfast. We were down for breakfast at 8.45, and found no croissants. We like a croissant, a pain au chocolat or a Danish pastry in the morning, none of them were available. The only place we found them was on the menu. Breakfast service was slow and without a smile and let this very nice hotel down a bit.

Room Tip: Handy location if you are travelling on the M1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsupergran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    151
    68
    53
    48
See reviews for
81
229
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel on the weekend of the 5th and 6th March through an offer with the daily mail. I was a bit worried at first because i only paid £10 per night but i was pleasantly surprised because the hotel was excellent. Gorgeous old hotel. The room that i stayed in was massive and the double bed was huge too. Never seen one so big :) The staff were very friendly and helpful. Last but not least the food is amazing and a great atmosphere in the restaurant/pub too!!! I have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all, it was brill.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

visited this hotel back in november but having noticed some bad reveiws i was gobsmacked so had to have my say.Freezing cold weekend but couldn't have had a warmer welcome.everyone from front of house to the breakfast waiters were freindly and very proffesional.Our room was a good size with an immaculate bathroom.The choice at breakfast was very varied and everything we had was superb.We ended up eating in the pub attached both nights wwe were there as again there was a good variety on the menu and the quality was top notch.The only bad part was the tina turner tribute but even she was so bad she was good in the wrong way.We visited the hotel with an offer from the daily express so it was excellent value,however i wouldnt hesitate to pay full price.great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed with wife for weekend using Tesco Vouchers. I am always a bit weary using Tesco Vouchers in case you get dumped in the poorest room. This was not the case here. The room was clean enough, spacious and had usual necessaties (tea, coffee, TV, powerfull shower). Staff were helpful and freindly. Ate in restaurant and had the tasiest lamb shank I have had in years. Food came quickly, plenty to choose from, and service great.
My only gripe about whole experience was that the carpet from kitchen to Restaurant and my chair was a old and could certainly do with renewing. Dont let this put you off though.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed one night, business trip with my partner. Took quite a while to book in at reception. Room was fine, spacious, clean with a comfortable bed. Busy evening, staff worked hard and were helpful. Entertainment that evening, very good! Varied menu. We are vegetarians so ordered mushroom suet pudding. It was delicious!! However, the vegetables were cold and overcooked. Real fire but not lit and it was a freezing December night. We would return for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendywombat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We decided to stay here after gettting a fantastic £10 pp B&B deal through the newspaper. The rooms were large, well furnished, with a massive extra-kingsize bed. The bathroom was clean and shiny. Nice. The room windows need replacing - they're old wooden and single glazed. For us that was fine, for my son's room it overlooked the courtyard which had the smoking hut. As it was a Christmas party night, they could hear talking into the early hours.
We weren't there for the party night, but they still found us a nice table in the pub part for a well cooked and well served dinner, despite being ferociously busy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

i visited the Fieldhead on Sat 11th December, i had to wait for an hour to be served, although my food had been preordered, the meat was inedible and uncooked, the waitress took my half glass of drink before i had finished, overall, terrible service, food was awful, i definately will not recommend or return to this establishment. (secret Diner)

oh and the head matre d, didnt know how to compensate me. thought it would have been obvious.
Gaynor Crew

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
7.5 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing