We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we chose this venue for our Wedding celebrations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“So glad we chose this venue for our Wedding celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We held our wedding celebrations here- renewal of vows ceremony, reception and evening disco and buffet. We had a fabulous weekend, which was due mostly to the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Led by the wedding co-ordinator, Toni, they ensured that our day went smoothly and that all our guests were well looked after. The Fieldhead is a mid range hotel, which offers good accommodation and food. It has a few little quirks- but that is one of the reasons we liked it when we first stayed there! It offers very good value for money, lovely breakfasts, and wholesome ‘pub grub’. The rooms are clean and comfortable and offer extras which are great for wedding guests such as irons in each room and full length mirrors. We hired a separate marquee for our reception and buffet, and the staff set this out beautifully to our specifications ( see photo) A small number of our guests were a little disappointed with their main meal after the ceremony, but the majority tucked in and really enjoyed it. The buffet was plentiful and delicious, and the DJ arranged by the hotel was very friendly and kept exactly to what we requested. A lot of the staff are quite young, and would perhaps benefit from a little bit of extra training to deal with things like serving children with appropriate glasses, or laying the table correctly. They ALL, however, were polite, friendly and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We are so pleased we chose this venue and we had a really memorable day. A huge THANK YOU again, to Toni and her team.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    149
    64
    53
    48
See reviews for
77
227
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed here last month for 2 nights, along with many family members celebrating my sister's wedding. Our room was spacious and very clean, with a huge kingsize bed. and large bathroom with bath and shower over. Our daughter's room, next door to ours, was of the same size and clean standard. Our rooms had full length mirrors and iron + board - essentail items when a girl needs to look her best!

The staff were all friendly and efficient and enhanced our lovely stay. The food in the bar is served until 10pm each night and was of a good quality and price. Breakfast is served until 12md and there's a large choice of buffet and cooked meals.

The wedding celebrations all went smoothly. We had a 3 course cooked sit down meal. The soup was wonderful, but sadly the main course was very disappointing, being overcooked and tepid. This was the only letdown for me throughout our stay.

The evening buffet and disco was very enjoyable; all the staff worked hard to ensure we had a good time.

I thoroughly recommend this as a great party venue, with attentive, caring and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerQueen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed here with my husband the last weekend of May....nice room, clean and comfortable - the beds are amazingly comfy too.... Had one of the "2 main meals for £10.45" deals on Friday night - very good, and a nice choice. Ate "a la carte" in the restaurant on Saturday night - again very good. Staff were friendly and helpful, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harbykiwikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We've stayed here on 3 different occasions now while breaking the journey between London and the north-east. It's situated just off junction 22 of the M1. Not only convenient, it's a very comfortable hotel, with friendly staff, lovely big beds and a good breakfast. If you book late, there's usually a cheap deal going. Makes a long trip into a mini-break!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ag115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

The Fieldhead is on a main road, but it is surprisingly quiet and cosy. The staff were very helpful and approachable and our evening meal was really nice. We then retired to our clean and comfortable bedroom. In the morning we were setting off for home and were looking forward to the highlight of a stay in an Old English Inn - a delicious breakfast. We were down for breakfast at 8.45, and found no croissants. We like a croissant, a pain au chocolat or a Danish pastry in the morning, none of them were available. The only place we found them was on the menu. Breakfast service was slow and without a smile and let this very nice hotel down a bit.

Room Tip: Handy location if you are travelling on the M1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsupergran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel on the weekend of the 5th and 6th March through an offer with the daily mail. I was a bit worried at first because i only paid £10 per night but i was pleasantly surprised because the hotel was excellent. Gorgeous old hotel. The room that i stayed in was massive and the double bed was huge too. Never seen one so big :) The staff were very friendly and helpful. Last but not least the food is amazing and a great atmosphere in the restaurant/pub too!!! I have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all, it was brill.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie8521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

visited this hotel back in november but having noticed some bad reveiws i was gobsmacked so had to have my say.Freezing cold weekend but couldn't have had a warmer welcome.everyone from front of house to the breakfast waiters were freindly and very proffesional.Our room was a good size with an immaculate bathroom.The choice at breakfast was very varied and everything we had was superb.We ended up eating in the pub attached both nights wwe were there as again there was a good variety on the menu and the quality was top notch.The only bad part was the tina turner tribute but even she was so bad she was good in the wrong way.We visited the hotel with an offer from the daily express so it was excellent value,however i wouldnt hesitate to pay full price.great weekend.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.8 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing