We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, limited breakfast”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great room, limited breakfast”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in one of the suites which was a fantastic sized room with plenty of space and a nice comfy bed. Great location of hotel if you like the outdoors. The only downside was the breakfast in the morning as I had requested vegetarian breakfasts for the morning in advance and unfortunately this had not been catered for.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a superior or suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room was spacious and comfortable. I am sorry that your breakfast requirements were not met on this occasion; we will ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    154
    72
    56
    50
See reviews for
86
236
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staff very friendly. Room large and bed huge and very comfortable. Room very clean.However, only five hangers looking lonely in the big wardrobe. Not enough.
Also had to be careful walking dog into hotel and there was broken glass on path by door and in car park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerwithSharPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Field Head Hotel. I am glad that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable and I am sorry that you found broken glass within our grounds but I can assure you that this will be cleared up and monitored in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Friday 1 November 2013 due to seeing friends in Leicester. The food was excellent, the service brilliant and our room was clean and very comfy. The staff we met were very welcoming and everyone said hi/good morning. Really lovely customer service.

Will be going back when in Leicester next.

Great hotel, reasonable price. Superb. Thank you

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights having booked on the OEI website. We've stayed at other OEI properties and have always had a good experience. This was no exception. Our room (22) was large, well decorated and very clean. The bed was big and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the meal deal is very good value for money. All the staff were excellent - just the right level of friendliness. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 22 looked out on to the front of the hotel but was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We use this hotel often but on this stay some inconsiderate customer booked in to the room next to ours with a yapping dog .The dog barked for an hour or more when the owners went to dinner. Surely a hotel does not need to cater for dogs it felt like trying to sleep in a kennel. Why can people not put pets into proper kennels when on holiday we do! . Remember if you sleep with dogs you will get fleas and no ordinary clean will remove the fleas these animals could fetch in disgusting practice. If the hotel wants dogs build them a kennel way out back and keep them away from paying customers who do not want to share with animals . However the food is great here and we would use it again however if a dog is there we will not be.

Room Tip: Choose a room well away from dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We are grateful for your feedback thank you and for taking the time to comment. I will ensure this does not happen again. I’m sorry you had a disturbed night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a B&B basis through Booking.com, the booking details stated we would have a bright room with a seating area etc etc. We did have a bright room with a seating area but nothing to sit on as there were no comfortable chairs in the room only 1 chair at the desk. We did mention this to the young blonde lady on Reception and she told us only superior rooms have a seating area? but she said she would arrange to put chairs in the room, however when we came back later there were still no chairs so we ended up sitting on the bed all through our stay which was not very comfortable and not ideal for relaxing especially as there was not many comfortable chairs in the bar area either. Some parts of the hotel are looking a bit scruffy and the furniture is all a bit of a mismatch, the tables in particular need some TLC . The food and drinks in the bar and restaurant were reasonable and they had some meal deals with drinks included. The food was quite good but sometimes the meals and particularly the chips always seemed to be a little bit on the lukewarm side and not particularly hot but maybe we were just unlucky. The tables would have been much more pleasant to sit at if there was maybe some place mats as they looked a bit worse for wear in some places and very bare. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would have given top marks if these little niggles were sorted.The staff were always smiling and pleasant and we would recommend it to anyone planning to visit the area.

Room Tip: book a superior room if you want chairs for the seating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Many thanks for you feedback; I am sorry that we did not meet your needs throughout your stay. We will ensure this doesn’t happen again. We look forward to welcoming you back to an Old English inn in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

3rd time we have stayed for the weekend at the fieldhead and we love it especially the theme nights on fridays, the breakfasts are lovely so much to choose from and excellent service as always we will definitily be back for another stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jesstella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#17 of 40 in Leicester
498 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
346 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
115 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing