We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no attention to detail.total refurb needed. nice staff.”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Firstly, my review is no reflection on the duty manager who I will start by saying is an asset to Old English.

My partner and I booked the christmas package, as it is our first Christmas/1 year anniversary so we opted for the superior room.

Pre arrival- no notified you need to ore order christmas dinner/book a table for Christmas Eve- I have stayed at another old English at christmas so I emailed in advance.

Arrival- friendly reception lady. We were given our room key etc/directed where the facilities were

The room- number 16, big disappointment- one of the light fittings was literally hanging off the wall and the window didn't close.
Not to mention, a chip in the mug, cracks (in several places across he ceiling), mould in the bathroom, wallpaper coming off in places, a tier in the carpet, burn hole in the ironing board- is this the 'superior' room

We went back to reception and the manager did his best to quickly sort the situation- he offered us two other rooms- 23 and 29 ( amusingly the window wouldn't close again, and being Christmas Eve overlooking the bar/courtyard it was going to be noisy)
The manager personally fixed the hanging light fitting (again, be couldn't have been more apologetic and the review is a poor reflection of Old English not spending more money/time on repairs)

Christmas Eve evening meal- the bar was busy being Christmas Eve and the manager ensued we were promptly served by Jodie- fantastic waitress and again a credit to the staff- again couldn't apologise more when several of the menu choices weren't in stock..
The good, massively different to say for example the Phoenix inn (Sheffield, old english run) and not in a good way. It could be because it's christmas, put piling a bag of 'florette' lettuce on a plate doesn't constitute a salad..
Again, Jodie was fantastic.
The bar was really noisy being Christmas Eve and was still loud at midnight - impossible to sleep with the constant scrap of chairs (something the cleaning staff might want to be mindful of at 7am in a morning..)
although, was it really necessary to have 3/4 police cars (and a van) to escort 1 person from the bar christmas eve?)


Christmas Day, would be nice to have a choice in breakfast, the only one available was full English- with the rich food of the day it would have been nice to have the normal menu

Christmas dinner- not bad overall definitely would not have paid the £54 for It though- and cheese board- a piece of Stilton a piece of cheddar (literally) and a dozen biscuits.. Hmm

Facilities- the room itself was fine, hairdryer, TV, shower etc. I don't understand why the superior room didn't have the king sized bed that 23 did- if I was paying full price for the room I'd rather have a comfy bed- myself and partner didn't sleep well either night but that could be preference

Overall if you are considering paying full price- don't.

It's in need of a total refurb, but the staff are lovely but seriously, the cleaners need to report things that are wrong there is NO excuse for a chipped coffee mug!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xkat86x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We will be continuing our light refurbishments of the rooms throughout the new year, I am pleased that the team at the Fieldhead made you feel comfortable and at ease. We look forward to welcoming you back to Old English inns in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
There are newer reviews for Fieldhead Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

due to a change in circumstance we had no chance to arrange Christmas Day lunch, although full the staff found a way to fit us in at the last minute - we arrived with our 15 week old son and found the building well presented and very appealing . we were met by some particularly welcoming staff who made us feel very comfortable. The meal was well presented and hot, the staff served well and teher was no delay , but we were not rushed. Loved the whole experience and will be back well done all and many thanks for stepping in to help during a difficult time for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas day dinner and we are happy that we could accommodate you and your family; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in one of the suites which was a fantastic sized room with plenty of space and a nice comfy bed. Great location of hotel if you like the outdoors. The only downside was the breakfast in the morning as I had requested vegetarian breakfasts for the morning in advance and unfortunately this had not been catered for.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a superior or suite room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room was spacious and comfortable. I am sorry that your breakfast requirements were not met on this occasion; we will ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Staff very friendly. Room large and bed huge and very comfortable. Room very clean.However, only five hangers looking lonely in the big wardrobe. Not enough.
Also had to be careful walking dog into hotel and there was broken glass on path by door and in car park.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerwithSharPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay with us at the Field Head Hotel. I am glad that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable and I am sorry that you found broken glass within our grounds but I can assure you that this will be cleared up and monitored in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Friday 1 November 2013 due to seeing friends in Leicester. The food was excellent, the service brilliant and our room was clean and very comfy. The staff we met were very welcoming and everyone said hi/good morning. Really lovely customer service.

Will be going back when in Leicester next.

Great hotel, reasonable price. Superb. Thank you

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kate2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights having booked on the OEI website. We've stayed at other OEI properties and have always had a good experience. This was no exception. Our room (22) was large, well decorated and very clean. The bed was big and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant both nights and the meal deal is very good value for money. All the staff were excellent - just the right level of friendliness. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting the area.

Room Tip: Room 22 looked out on to the front of the hotel but was very quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We use this hotel often but on this stay some inconsiderate customer booked in to the room next to ours with a yapping dog .The dog barked for an hour or more when the owners went to dinner. Surely a hotel does not need to cater for dogs it felt like trying to sleep in a kennel. Why can people not put pets into proper kennels when on holiday we do! . Remember if you sleep with dogs you will get fleas and no ordinary clean will remove the fleas these animals could fetch in disgusting practice. If the hotel wants dogs build them a kennel way out back and keep them away from paying customers who do not want to share with animals . However the food is great here and we would use it again however if a dog is there we will not be.

Room Tip: Choose a room well away from dog owners.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

We are grateful for your feedback thank you and for taking the time to comment. I will ensure this does not happen again. I’m sorry you had a disturbed night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fieldhead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
368 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#15 of 40 in Leicester
518 reviews
4.2 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
651 reviews
3.8 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#2 of 2 in Coalville
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £61 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing