We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TWO NIGHTS AT THE FIELDHEAD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“TWO NIGHTS AT THE FIELDHEAD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Can thoroughly recommend the Fieldhead Hotel, comfortable beds, clean and tidy rooms and helpful staff. Close to the main A50 road but this didn't interupt our sleep. Michael (the manager) very 'hands on' and helpful. Only (minor) downside - hot tap running cold at 6.30am-7.00am each morning, didn't fancy showering in cold water!

Room Tip: Can recommend room 11 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; We have dealt with timers on the boilers to ensure this does not happen again, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    151
    68
    53
    48
See reviews for
81
229
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Yet again another fantastic short break. Stayed in our usual room which we love the size of the beds here. The food menu has a good selection also good choice on the breakfast which include continental and cooked which ranged from eggs on toast, full English to kippers and smoked salmon. Rooms were comfortable and nice clean towels in bathroom. Would recommend to anyone looking for a break away from home

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

There is nothing wrong with this hotel that a good housekeeper couldn't sort out. A number of details combined to give an impression of lack of care. We had booked a room for two but it was equipped for one and we were told the toilet roll holder had gone missing over Christmas; the dishes in the restaurant were not properly clean - probably a dishwasher malfunction; several items were missing from the breakfast table and we had to ask for them. Individually all these are small points but we couldn't ignore the bottle of Prosecco that arrived in place of the advertised offer relating to champagne.
But on a more positive note the beds were comfortable, the food was good pub food and the coffee was excellent. The staff were helpful and our feedback was received in a positive manner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. Im sorry on this occasion you felt there was a lack of care, we have dealt with the matter in house and ensure that both the kp and house keepers pay more attention to detail. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Overnight stay on way back from London. Clean comfortable room, really pleasant cheerful staff and good pub food at reasonable prices. Very handy for M1.
Full English breakfast, tasty and nicely cooked.
Couldn't fault the place. They have got it right!

Room Tip: Don't know. We got a deal so had room one. Could do with painting but overall great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Firstly, my review is no reflection on the duty manager who I will start by saying is an asset to Old English.

My partner and I booked the christmas package, as it is our first Christmas/1 year anniversary so we opted for the superior room.

Pre arrival- no notified you need to ore order christmas dinner/book a table for Christmas Eve- I have stayed at another old English at christmas so I emailed in advance.

Arrival- friendly reception lady. We were given our room key etc/directed where the facilities were

The room- number 16, big disappointment- one of the light fittings was literally hanging off the wall and the window didn't close.
Not to mention, a chip in the mug, cracks (in several places across he ceiling), mould in the bathroom, wallpaper coming off in places, a tier in the carpet, burn hole in the ironing board- is this the 'superior' room

We went back to reception and the manager did his best to quickly sort the situation- he offered us two other rooms- 23 and 29 ( amusingly the window wouldn't close again, and being Christmas Eve overlooking the bar/courtyard it was going to be noisy)
The manager personally fixed the hanging light fitting (again, be couldn't have been more apologetic and the review is a poor reflection of Old English not spending more money/time on repairs)

Christmas Eve evening meal- the bar was busy being Christmas Eve and the manager ensued we were promptly served by Jodie- fantastic waitress and again a credit to the staff- again couldn't apologise more when several of the menu choices weren't in stock..
The good, massively different to say for example the Phoenix inn (Sheffield, old english run) and not in a good way. It could be because it's christmas, put piling a bag of 'florette' lettuce on a plate doesn't constitute a salad..
Again, Jodie was fantastic.
The bar was really noisy being Christmas Eve and was still loud at midnight - impossible to sleep with the constant scrap of chairs (something the cleaning staff might want to be mindful of at 7am in a morning..)
although, was it really necessary to have 3/4 police cars (and a van) to escort 1 person from the bar christmas eve?)


Christmas Day, would be nice to have a choice in breakfast, the only one available was full English- with the rich food of the day it would have been nice to have the normal menu

Christmas dinner- not bad overall definitely would not have paid the £54 for It though- and cheese board- a piece of Stilton a piece of cheddar (literally) and a dozen biscuits.. Hmm

Facilities- the room itself was fine, hairdryer, TV, shower etc. I don't understand why the superior room didn't have the king sized bed that 23 did- if I was paying full price for the room I'd rather have a comfy bed- myself and partner didn't sleep well either night but that could be preference

Overall if you are considering paying full price- don't.

It's in need of a total refurb, but the staff are lovely but seriously, the cleaners need to report things that are wrong there is NO excuse for a chipped coffee mug!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xkat86x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. We will be continuing our light refurbishments of the rooms throughout the new year, I am pleased that the team at the Fieldhead made you feel comfortable and at ease. We look forward to welcoming you back to Old English inns in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

due to a change in circumstance we had no chance to arrange Christmas Day lunch, although full the staff found a way to fit us in at the last minute - we arrived with our 15 week old son and found the building well presented and very appealing . we were met by some particularly welcoming staff who made us feel very comfortable. The meal was well presented and hot, the staff served well and teher was no delay , but we were not rushed. Loved the whole experience and will be back well done all and many thanks for stepping in to help during a difficult time for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas day dinner and we are happy that we could accommodate you and your family; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed in one of the suites which was a fantastic sized room with plenty of space and a nice comfy bed. Great location of hotel if you like the outdoors. The only downside was the breakfast in the morning as I had requested vegetarian breakfasts for the morning in advance and unfortunately this had not been catered for.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a superior or suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room was spacious and comfortable. I am sorry that your breakfast requirements were not met on this occasion; we will ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Field Head Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
6.4 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
7.5 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#8 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing