We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, friendly staff but slightly dated”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #21 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Quick stop over sa us checked into the Fieldhead for the evening. Didn't try the evening menu but breakfast was pretty decent. Room clean if not a little dated but nice to have so much room. Best part of our stay was the staff - very hospitable. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillonc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, in particular the great comments regarding our team, they are central to everything we are trying to achieve here at the Fieldhead.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently spent a night at the Fieldhead hotel and found it to be a little gem <3

It's lovely location and upon arrival we we're greeted by a very friendly receptionist with long dark hair, she couldn't do enough for us and made us feel very welcome straight away.. We checked into our ground floor room, and found it was very old English traditional and cosy... The beds were really comfy and we felt very at home!!

The staff in the bar/restaurant we're equally fantastic, and after a small mishap with the food the chef got us a complementary drink and resolved the situation... Very professional :) ....

The waitress 'Jodi' in particular was great, very attentive and friendly :)

We really enjoyed our little night away. And would recommend this little gem to anyone who wants a home away from home <3

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jolea_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

We really appreciate your valuable feedback, I’m glad to hear the bedrooms were to your liking, in particular our Old English décor. We do hope to welcome you back again to the Fieldhead in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I have previously had bad experiences with hotels that are attached to pubs and restaurants as the availability of staff tends to be affected by the opening hours and demand in the pub or restaurant. The Fieldhead has restored my faith, as the reception is well attended, open at all hours, and when the staff are elsewhere in the building they are very quick to respond to calls and return to base. Check in, Room Service and all the services offered are delivered by warm, friendly individuals who are keen to make the stay as easy as possible.

The room itself was well equipped and a decent size, and there is a good range of food available throughout the day.

The hotel advertises itself as pet friendly, and there were absolutely no issues with our two dogs. There is also plenty of space to "exercise" the dogs in the grounds of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your valuable feedback, your great comments have been passed onto the team. We are glad you found your stay so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to the Fieldhead hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Reading some of the reviews made us a little nervous about booking our Civil Ceremony reception here, family and friends were coming from far and wide; but we were working to a bit of a tight budget as we wanted The Maldives Honeymoon more than a 'flash expensive venue!'
The new Manager, Michael Butler, after a bit of an uneasy start (I speak my mind you see!!) was very obliging and even changed his day off to run the order of ceremony on the day (27th February 2014) There were a couple of very minor issues, which didn't really spoil our day, and he more than made up for this by not charging for a couple of 'extras' we ordered....and a complimentary room too!! Michael was a real credit to the place and really tried incredibly hard. he contended with new staff, some who were not very experienced but he did a sterling job keeping it all together!! Sorry to say the new wedding co-ordinator wasn't brilliant - Michael did a much better job, and gave the impression he really cared - that counts for a lot!!
If you're looking for a reception (or full ceremony) then we don't think you can beat the value....it's the best locally!!! The food was good, the service overall was good, atmosphere good; although the place is definitely ready for a full refurb (having said that the rooms were clean and VERY good!) as the downstairs looked very tired - but then it is a busy place - so invest the money Green king!!!
Overall very pleased, and we'll definitely be popping back regularly for coffee and cake, again bargain at £2.95 each!!
Well done Michael - a credit to the Hospitality Industry!

Room Tip: Room 28, at the back, quiet and very comfortable....although careful not to trip over the linen in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrowLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for the great comments regarding your civil partnership here at the hotel. We are glad to have been a part of your special day and your kind words have been passed on to the team. We hope you enjoy your honeymoon, and we look forward to your next visit here at the Fieldhead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We went here for a Saturday lunchtime meal on 22nd February. We started to have doubts about it when we saw stains on the menus and when paying by credit card at the bar before the meal we were asked to leave a tip. I would normally expect to have sampled the food and service first.

The service was fine but the food was the worst we've had for a long time. My brother's huge serving of mashed potatoes out of a packet had not been stirred properly, the powder still visible. The small serving of veg (cauliflower) was bitter and overcooked. Our side salad was topped with large lumps of new potato only they weren't new as the roots had been chopped off and one was bad. There was no evidence of the halloumi cheese being grilled; it looked like it had been microwaved. My sister had a cheese and pork toasted ciabatta. I don't know how they melted the cheese but it wasn't toasted, it was cold and the cheese had dried.

Never again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this valuable feedback, im sorry to hear the food was not to your liking, I will be speaking with our team here regarding this issue. The payment system does give the opportunity to leave gratuities whilst paying by card, however this is entirely our guest’s choice. We hope to see you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

They claim to welcome children but was made to feel very unwelcome with my two children agen 2 & 3. Apparently someone complained about the 'happy sounds' my children made so was asked to keep them quiet. If I hadn't already ordered food for the children, I would of left. They need to decide whether they welcome children or not. Best part is, by trying to make them sit still & be quit while they waited for their food, they actually made more noise! & they didn't even have the choice of food we ordered, we had to choose something else after paying! Will not go there again.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank jema_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for leaving this valuable feedback, please be assured that we are a family friendly hotel, supplying both children and junior menus along with our activity packs. Our apologies regarding the confusion surrounding this, we do hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After visiting the bar/restaurant this evening with my husband and two sons aged 2 and 4 yrs, I wouldn't recommend it for families with small children. We had a very unpleasant experience with a couple who regularly frequent the bar who seem very anti children. There is a children's menu which our children ate from but it would appear those regular bar users would prefer this not to be the case. There are lots of other local child friendly places to eat which we will be using in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bbie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback from your latest visit, Im sorry to her about this situation with some of our other guests. Please be assured that these views are not our own, and we welcome all families to the Fieldhead Hotel, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
6.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,598 reviews
8.2 mi away
College Court Hotel
College Court Hotel
#7 of 41 in Leicester
435 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#20 of 41 in Leicester
536 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
668 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing