We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average”
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good points:
- It is conveniently close to the M1 whilst being far enough way that there wasn't any road noises.
- The bed was massive and very comfy, room was a good size
- Pastries at breakfast were very nice. Cooked breakfast was ok.
- Paid using Tesco vouchers, so the room was effectively free. I don't think it was really worth the £80/night though.
Bad points:
- We stayed 2 nights and on the second there wasn't any hot water, or any the next morning. When mentioning this to reception on check out they told us someone was on their way to fix it but gave no apology. If that had been our only night's stay then the review would have been much worse.
- We were charged a bit of a random amount for the meal. We had the Wednesday night curry, the food was ok but were charged a couple of pounds more than the advertised price for no real reason I could work out.

Room Tip: We were told that room furthest from the boiler can take 10mins for the water to get hot (not sure h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpg500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fieldhead Hotel; we do appreciate and value your important feedback. We are glad you found the beds so comfortable and the breakfast was to your liking. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    155
    73
    57
    50
See reviews for
87
237
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

yet again a great stay at fieldhead staff wonderful room good needs a few minor repairs though, food good
the staff are always willing to do anything for you thank you to you all again
eric and bindy our greyhounds love the attention they get from you all with make there stay calm see you again soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darling42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a great review, you fantastic comments have been passed onto the team here at the Hotel. We will take your comments regarding the minor repairs on board, and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we had a lovely meal it was served quite quick very hot and good portions, the staff were friendly and helpful. good variety on the menu good atmosphere with the log fire burning will defiantly be eating there again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review regarding your recent visit to the Fieldhead hotel. We are glad to hear you will recommend us to others, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in superior room 16 and had a lovely room with a beautiful four poster bed, although the bathroom had seen better days, it was worth the £75 we paid although not much more. The reception staff were helpful but seemed a bit downtrodden when we complained about the food as if they get complaints a lot. However, there was quite a lot of loud swearing outside our window late at night when the staff were leaving and the meal we had was horrible. I had battered halloumi to start which was a tiny sliver of cheese with thick greasy batter that collected on the plate. I then had the vegetable and cashew risotto which was lukewarm (at best), had two cashews in it, and was topped with wilting, off rocket. My boyfriend had an 8oz steak, although I would dispute it was actually that much. It came with a tiny portion of chips and peas like you would expect on a children's meal. We complained to the waitress and she said she would talk to the chefs but didn't come back and apologise or give us any money off our bill. We then complained on checkout and were told again that the chefs would be spoken to but were given 50% off our meal bill when I said that was pointless as I would still be paying £9 for an awful risotto. Kept seeing the chefs go outside for smoke breaks, maybe if they spent more time actually in the kitchen the food would improve. In summary, stay in the hotel but DO NOT EAT HERE.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our bedrooms, in particular our four-poster bed. I will be speaking to our kitchen team regarding the food during your visit, the team be working hard in the future to improve our communication all around. We do hope to see you again in the future here at the Fieldhead hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon at the wedding fayre at the Fieldhead,it was very well organised despite the fact that the co-ordinator had failed to turn up but the hotel manager had done a brilliant job and there was plenty to see with a very friendly atmosphere. The staff were on the ball and knew what they were doing. What a delight!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairngormangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for leaving such a great review, you compliments have been passed onto the team and help validate what we do as a unit. The wedding fayre was a great success and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay here. The staff were friendly and approachable, and nothing was too much trouble. The manager was particularly helpful. Enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne281280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, we are overjoyed to hear just how much you enjoyed your stay; it’s great to know you will be visiting again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Quick stop over sa us checked into the Fieldhead for the evening. Didn't try the evening menu but breakfast was pretty decent. Room clean if not a little dated but nice to have so much room. Best part of our stay was the staff - very hospitable. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillonc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, in particular the great comments regarding our team, they are central to everything we are trying to achieve here at the Fieldhead.We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.2 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
643 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
355 reviews
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#17 of 40 in Leicester
509 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
4.0 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#2 of 2 in Coalville
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing