We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as it was.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The food quality has deteriorated over the last few weeks.On a previous visit the food was well cooked and tasty.We visited again last night and were served sausages surrounded bu a lake of gravy which killed the texture of the meal and a tasteless lasagne accompanied by a few chips and a wilted salad.No complaints about the service but the food needs a lot of improvement.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback, I am pleased to hear that our front of house team were more than accommodating and made you feel welcome. I have spoken to our chef with regards to your experience and he has put actions in place to prevent this happening again. I am sorry you found the food not up to scratch however I can assure you this is not the usual standards of the hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    149
    64
    53
    48
See reviews for
77
227
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was the 6th Old English Inn we have stayed at. The first 5 were excellent, this one was a disappointment.
On arrival one of the pillows was badly stained and the lid to the toilet was separated from the seat. We used the spare pillow and took the offending one back to the manager and told him of the toilet. When we left four days later the spare pillow had not been replaced and the toilet was still broken.
Over our three night stay we were aware of many things to do with housekeeping and the restaurant that were not up to scratch, the sort of things that an on the ball manager would have picked up on his rounds. As we never saw the manager again after taking the pillow back, perhaps he doesn't venture out and about.
On check out we mentioned these things to the assistant manager who made a list of our concerns which she said she would take up with the necessary people. She asked for our email address so that she could email us to let us know what action had been taken. Over a week has gone by but no email.
Got the feeling that there was a sense of frustration amongst some of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback, I am sorry that on this occasion we didn’t meet your expectations. This is far from the usual high standard of the hotel and I can only apologise for the lack of attention to detail you received. I have passed on your comments to our new manager and the team and we welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The common areas of the hotel were filthy and the restaurant areas were a disgrace. Food and cutlery under the tables on the floor - untouched for the three days we were there; at least 90% of the tables uncleared from previous diners; filthy cloths used to clean and crum down tables with the detritus swept onto the chairs; tables covered with rings from glasses; crockery and cutlery poorly washed and covered with food; cigarette ends in abundance on the paths leading to the hotel entrance and rubble, uncollected glasses and other rubbish in the terrace area.

Potholes in the car park with gravel spread across the parking area.

The room smelt like an old people's home and it was necessary to purchased bleach to clean the bathroom. No hot water in the mornings for two days.

The building itself is in need of renovation and the management stated that no work had been undertaken for twelve years but that renovation will take place in January 2015.

They did not deny the points I raised and blamed the situation on their head office who would not permit them to employ sufficient staff in order to maintain standards.

No one at Reception when we arrived with the telephone ringing constantly. It took fifteen minutes to locate a member of staff to book us in.

As a former hotelier and Hotel Inspector it was as bad as any hotel I've inspected in the last twenty five years.

The staff are poorly trained, if trained at all, and there is inadequate supervision of the service brigade and the cleaning staff.

We declined the offer of a free stay in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fordal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for providing this valuable feedback, the points you raised within your review have been addressed and rectified. We do apologise for the shortcoming within our service during your stay, and we now have new systems in place to ensure this is not repeated. We do hope you will return to the Fieldhead in the future so we can show you that this occasion was a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Good points:
- It is conveniently close to the M1 whilst being far enough way that there wasn't any road noises.
- The bed was massive and very comfy, room was a good size
- Pastries at breakfast were very nice. Cooked breakfast was ok.
- Paid using Tesco vouchers, so the room was effectively free. I don't think it was really worth the £80/night though.
Bad points:
- We stayed 2 nights and on the second there wasn't any hot water, or any the next morning. When mentioning this to reception on check out they told us someone was on their way to fix it but gave no apology. If that had been our only night's stay then the review would have been much worse.
- We were charged a bit of a random amount for the meal. We had the Wednesday night curry, the food was ok but were charged a couple of pounds more than the advertised price for no real reason I could work out.

Room Tip: We were told that room furthest from the boiler can take 10mins for the water to get hot (not sure h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpg500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Fieldhead Hotel; we do appreciate and value your important feedback. We are glad you found the beds so comfortable and the breakfast was to your liking. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

yet again a great stay at fieldhead staff wonderful room good needs a few minor repairs though, food good
the staff are always willing to do anything for you thank you to you all again
eric and bindy our greyhounds love the attention they get from you all with make there stay calm see you again soon

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darling42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us such a great review, you fantastic comments have been passed onto the team here at the Hotel. We will take your comments regarding the minor repairs on board, and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

we had a lovely meal it was served quite quick very hot and good portions, the staff were friendly and helpful. good variety on the menu good atmosphere with the log fire burning will defiantly be eating there again and recommending to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review regarding your recent visit to the Fieldhead hotel. We are glad to hear you will recommend us to others, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in superior room 16 and had a lovely room with a beautiful four poster bed, although the bathroom had seen better days, it was worth the £75 we paid although not much more. The reception staff were helpful but seemed a bit downtrodden when we complained about the food as if they get complaints a lot. However, there was quite a lot of loud swearing outside our window late at night when the staff were leaving and the meal we had was horrible. I had battered halloumi to start which was a tiny sliver of cheese with thick greasy batter that collected on the plate. I then had the vegetable and cashew risotto which was lukewarm (at best), had two cashews in it, and was topped with wilting, off rocket. My boyfriend had an 8oz steak, although I would dispute it was actually that much. It came with a tiny portion of chips and peas like you would expect on a children's meal. We complained to the waitress and she said she would talk to the chefs but didn't come back and apologise or give us any money off our bill. We then complained on checkout and were told again that the chefs would be spoken to but were given 50% off our meal bill when I said that was pointless as I would still be paying £9 for an awful risotto. Kept seeing the chefs go outside for smoke breaks, maybe if they spent more time actually in the kitchen the food would improve. In summary, stay in the hotel but DO NOT EAT HERE.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris_Garnett, Guest Relations Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us your valuable feedback, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed our bedrooms, in particular our four-poster bed. I will be speaking to our kitchen team regarding the food during your visit, the team be working hard in the future to improve our communication all around. We do hope to see you again in the future here at the Fieldhead hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leicester
4.8 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#5 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#11 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Markfield Lane, Leicester LE67 9PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Leicester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing