We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was our second stay here, and on this occasion, the hotel was let down by some staff members. The welcome we received was good and the standard of our room was fine.

At breakfast on the first morning, the two staff members on duty were so loud and raucous chatting to each other that they disturbed us so much we went elsewhere for breakfast on the other days we were there. They were discussing very loudly their opinions on other Premier Inns in the chain, and openly expressing their feelings with regard to changes made by head office on how they could use their staff discount when making personal bookings. Not something that customers need or want to hear about. They were also over familiar with guests and made such a fuss of a group of people arriving for a birthday breakfast, that we were actually wincing at the shrieking of their voices.

In addition to this, when we came out of our room and there was a cleaner in the corridor, we made her jump as she wasn't aware we were behind her. Her reaction..'.B***** H*** I didn't know you were there'.

Premier Inns seem proud that they promote a 'green' policy by asking customers to re-use towels where possible, and to put dirty ones in the bath tub. We duly did this, as we only needed a replacement bath mat (which unfortunately had what looked like blood stains on it) and we hung our remaining towels on the rail. However, all towels were taken to be washed, and we were left with less than we started with. ( We had requested a second bath towel, and now had to ask again). What a waste of money and time and not really 'green' after all.

We were very disappointed on this stay, as we really liked this Premier last time we stayed here, but I doubt we shall use this one again. We ended up having our breakfasts at Frankie and Benny's a few minutes away, and for five pounds it was wonderful (and peaceful).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 445 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This Inn was perfect for a short or overnight stay. Room/Bathroom was very clean and well appointed. Kettle,Hairdryer,Fan,TV. Only slight drawback, there is no phone in room if you need contact Reception quickly. You have to use your mobile. Would recommend it highly. Great restaurant attached.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Older than most Premier inn's we've stayed in but still clean, tidy and spacious for our family of 4. Next to a nice pub serving good food. Staff were extremely friendly, helpful and happy to check us in early. Across the road from a pub with an indoor play barn for the children which was useful for them to have a run around!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Used this placed too stop overnight when picking daughter up from Uni. Great welcome at reception. Room spotless and well equipped. Although near the road not troubled by traffic noise. Large free parking. The breakfast was provided in the adjacent Beefeater. A Buffet style with the hot breakfast cooked to order. Really good quality and topped of by Costa coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharkyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

So sorry to have to do this. This is a lovely hotel and we have stayed many times. Stayed here for one night on the 14th December 2013. I was bitten in bed and have since found out that they are bed bug bites. We were in room 32. I just want to warn people who are staying over the next week. I have emailed head office about this and had a standard response promising to get back to me in the next five days. THIS IS NOT QUICK ENOUGH! I do not want anyone else to have this experience. My main worry is that some bugs may have travelled back with us in our luggage so having to do a deep clean and spray the house.
On the positive side the staff here are very attentive and the restaurant is excellent. Breakfast was a bit chaotic though. I won't be staying in any hotels for a while after this.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 32.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roaminglady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here for one night on the 14th dec, first stay at a premier inn and very impressed. Called first thing in the morning to ask weither they offered an early check inn as my husband was doing a course in rugby all day which meant me and my daughter had to wait around check in is supposed to be after 2 but after calling and speaking to reception and leaving my number I received a return phone call approx 9.40 to say they had got the maid to get it ready for us what service. Shortly after arriving I had drunk nearly all coffee sachets and used 2 towels before popping back out the maid was outside and asked if everything was ok and if we needed anymore towels or tea,coffee etc. on my return coffee was refilled and more towels provided. As mentioned on previous review not enough towels they were certainly plentiful on our stay .couldn't of been any more helpful and I just want to say thanks for a lovely welcoming stay the best amongst other hotels we've stayed in so far with beds and pillows also comfy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception. Clean room BUT only 1 hand towel and medium towel between 2 people. Apparently hotel policy.Mode were provided after requesting.
Arriving just after 2pm the restaurant was closed so off to local shop to buy lunch. They didn't mind us eating in the lounge. Big disappointment. Good hearty breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annieguns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
3 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester Fosse Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Leicester
Hilton Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
1,620 reviews
3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel

Address: Meridian Way | Braunstone, Leicester LE19 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Leicester
#4 Business Hotel in Leicester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
#8 Family Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £43 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blast off at the National Space Centre or enjoy the big match five minutes away at King Power Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing