We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel let down by the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A good hotel let down by the restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Let's be honest, Premier Inn hotels are reasonably priced and comfortable almost wherever you go. But there is always the potential for a poor restaurant to let them down. And that's what happened here - my room was clean, comfortable and quiet, with polite and helpful staff on Reception, but the restaurant was poor.
Breakfast service and food were fine, but the evening meal was average quality and the service non-existent. First you have to queue at the bar to order (more than once unless you decide on both courses in one go), then you wait a long time while listening to kids screaming and mothers shouting at them. When the food arrives it's OK, but then you wait another 40 minutes for a cheesecake and eventually go to the bar again to ask where it is, and finally receive a completely different sweet from the one you ordered......
It's a shame, but next time I'd eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    170
    63
    19
    10
See reviews for
191
128
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Comfortable budget hotel with reaonably large and clean en-suite rooms. Friendly and helpful check in staff. Good choce of breakfast and good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Friendly staff and comfort hotel room for family of 5.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Another nice premier inn ,room spotless, 10 minutes from centre on bus ,breakfast was good staff not as cheery as last two inns ,food in nearby pub where you go for breakfast was cheap ,wouldnt eat there again im afraid, not really into powdered mash .did get woken up by noisey cleaner at 0900 but should have been up anyway ,overall good hotel well located ,good parking ,would stay here again but eat in town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have stayed here many times over the past 5 years, most recent stay was this week-end and again all was good. Big bed, clean room and great staff and all for £49 for the night - First class budget hotel - We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorlestonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Check in was very quick and the lady on reception very helpful/friendly. Stayed for 3 nights (2nd - 5th March) Myself, Husband and 2 children aged 1 and 3. We had a family room on the 2nd floor. We got a really good deal for the 3 nights. The room was a really good size with king sized bed and 2 single beds plus cot for the baby.

My only fault with the room would be the shower, it was either very hot or cold.

We had breaakfast at the restaurant opposite and it was very good, staff very friendly.

On the Sunday we went for dinner to the restaurant, which was very busy so it might be an idea to book in advance if possible, we waited 30 mins for a table and another 30 mins for the food. It was stressful to say the least trying to keep the children occupied for that length of time.

The food was very nice though.

We all enjoyed our stay here and would recommend if visiting Leicester or surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here a few times and has always been very good. No change this time, very friendly and helpful staff, good food in the adjacent pub, good choice at breakfast. Rooms spacious and clean. Got a good price as well.
Only slight downside was a fair bit of noise from room next door and room above, due to small children running around etc, however, not a lot can be done about that.
Another good stay at Premier Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
3.7 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester North West Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester (Braunstone) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester Fosse Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel
Address: Groby Road | Groby Road, Leicester LE3 9QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) is situated in picturesque surroundings although located on the main road leading to town. Ample free car parking facilities and easy access to The National Space Centre and the famous High Cross Shopping Centre. All of our rooms are ensuite, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen TV's with Freeview and the famous premier inn bed.At Leicester Central (A50) you will be greeted by people that genuinely care that you have a great stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Leicester Central (A50) Hotel Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing