We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD BAD BAD”
Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Stoneycroft Hotel........... Hotel ! ! ! ! How can this place have the word HOTEL after it ! ! !

Room Smells, Bedding was from the 1960's, Sheets clean BUT a blanket and counterpain, (Serious) its 2010, also the bed had a Clock radio built into the headboard, the clock did not have any hands on it BUT it went tick tick tick all night.

Shower was a bent bit of metal coming out of the taps with a nozzel on the end, no power to it and you had to stand 2 inches from the wall to get wet. Bathroom was clean BUT no plug in the sink or bath.

TV was an old Duraband type, signal was V Bad, could not see TV from bed.

Carpets - Minging

Walls could do with a paint

Everything about the room was BAD.

Breakfast was late. Cheap food (Prob's Tesco Value or cheaper) Certainly didnt eat mine.

I would not go to this HOTEL if it was the last one left in Leicester, wold rather find cardboard box to sleep in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

The location for the hotel was okay for the purpose, it is very close to the university and the event centre De montfront. it is within working distance.

The bed was comfortable, but the rooms need fresh painting and new decorations. it was hot inside the room.

The breakfast was surprisingly okay, contrary to other opinion, the staff were nice.

The owners or management of the hoteol needs to do a general refurbishment to the hotel.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank olumighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

There were quite a lot of us staying at the hotel, the website makes it all look quite elegant, but it's really not! At night the rooms are extremely hot as well as unhygienic looking, we didn't even use the blankets because it was too hot! The showers were good, but there is no window, so it does get hot. Nevertheless, the staff were very helpful and kind.

I wouldn't want to go back, and I only stayed for a night!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dipshah-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I booked a night there because everything else within easy reach of University of Leicester campus was full. They advertised check-in after 12. I got there at one, had to wait a good ten minutes because receptionist was on the phone talking about what sounded like a very complicated situation involving police and evictions. She then proceeded to give me keys to a room which turned out not to be ready so I went back
and got her to change it. The decor was beyond shabby and worn. The remote control for the tv in my room was filthy. The pillow was thin and I could feel the spring in the mattress with every move. Staff were helpful and nice but I would never recommend this hotel to anybody. I would happily spend a little more to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToastandJuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

ok the rooms are small and it is an old place. you could hear the shower in the next room though. the staff were very nice and rooms and linen were perfectly clean. i would stay again for the price.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
Thank marfarmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Its fair to say that having stayed in some fabulous hotels around the world, I didnt expect much from one of the cheapest hoteld in Leic! I attended a friends party and visited friends in Leic and really just needed somewhere to shower and sleep. I was pleasantly surprised.

The staff were very efficient and friendly. The room was clean and tidy also. There was a dead spider in the bathroom which made me scream but overall, given the £30 a nite for a single room, there was certainly nothing to complain about. Stoneygate is also a lovely area of Leic, if you do not want to nec be in the City Centre, but close enough to walk etc.

Overall, by no means amazing, but that wasnt what I wanted, just somewhere clean to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxuryTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Stoneycroft Hotel has very friendly, obliging staff. I agree the decor is a little outdated, particularly the bed covers and the rooms are small but what do people expect at the price?

I have stayed before but ate there for the first time which I would not recommend. The menu was different to the one in the room and I had to choose the pie. The gravy was watery and it had pickled onions in it, the chips were frozen! The plus side is the waiting staff were really polite and nice. Not a culinary experience and overpriced for what I had and couldn't eat.

Overall, you get what you pay for and as a single female traveller I felt safe and welcomed. The staff are all very friendly.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
Thank Blossom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#37 of 41 in Leicester
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#22 of 41 in Leicester
542 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 41 in Leicester
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
8.2 mi away
Mill on the Soar
Mill on the Soar
#35 of 41 in Leicester
209 reviews
1.5 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#26 of 41 in Leicester
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Address: 5/7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £35 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing