We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed overnight”
Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
2 reviews
“Stayed overnight”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The digtal TV was blurring & out of tuning. I tried it myself in retuned but not successful. I asked reception about the TV and was not very helpful. The single room was so small & too stuffy. Toilet didn't flushed very well!!! :-((((

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willstave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    21
    40
    35
    191
See reviews for
45
61
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The TV did not work for the three nights I was there. The room was small and uncomfortable, the pillows were hard and lumpy and the tea mugs were unwashed and chipped when I arrived.

The staff were OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I have stayed at the Stoneycroft Hotel on a number of occasions for business...all of which were terrible experiences. The hotel is very tired looking and the bedrooms are dirty. The 'restaurant' serves poor quality food that certainly isn't going to win any prizes. Breakfasts are of a similar standard with a large helping of fat and grease on the plate. There is an ongoing issue of no TV reception since the digital switch-over which isn't being resolved.

The hotel is not fit for purpose and doesn't represent value - there are much better budget hotels in Leicester so definately look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 86HFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The Stoneycroft Hotel........... Hotel ! ! ! ! How can this place have the word HOTEL after it ! ! !

Room Smells, Bedding was from the 1960's, Sheets clean BUT a blanket and counterpain, (Serious) its 2010, also the bed had a Clock radio built into the headboard, the clock did not have any hands on it BUT it went tick tick tick all night.

Shower was a bent bit of metal coming out of the taps with a nozzel on the end, no power to it and you had to stand 2 inches from the wall to get wet. Bathroom was clean BUT no plug in the sink or bath.

TV was an old Duraband type, signal was V Bad, could not see TV from bed.

Carpets - Minging

Walls could do with a paint

Everything about the room was BAD.

Breakfast was late. Cheap food (Prob's Tesco Value or cheaper) Certainly didnt eat mine.

I would not go to this HOTEL if it was the last one left in Leicester, wold rather find cardboard box to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The location for the hotel was okay for the purpose, it is very close to the university and the event centre De montfront. it is within working distance.

The bed was comfortable, but the rooms need fresh painting and new decorations. it was hot inside the room.

The breakfast was surprisingly okay, contrary to other opinion, the staff were nice.

The owners or management of the hoteol needs to do a general refurbishment to the hotel.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank olumighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2011

There were quite a lot of us staying at the hotel, the website makes it all look quite elegant, but it's really not! At night the rooms are extremely hot as well as unhygienic looking, we didn't even use the blankets because it was too hot! The showers were good, but there is no window, so it does get hot. Nevertheless, the staff were very helpful and kind.

I wouldn't want to go back, and I only stayed for a night!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipshah-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I booked a night there because everything else within easy reach of University of Leicester campus was full. They advertised check-in after 12. I got there at one, had to wait a good ten minutes because receptionist was on the phone talking about what sounded like a very complicated situation involving police and evictions. She then proceeded to give me keys to a room which turned out not to be ready so I went back
and got her to change it. The decor was beyond shabby and worn. The remote control for the tv in my room was filthy. The pillow was thin and I could feel the spring in the mattress with every move. Staff were helpful and nice but I would never recommend this hotel to anybody. I would happily spend a little more to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToastandJuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#36 of 40 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#31 of 40 in Leicester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#23 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Property: Stoneycroft Hotel
Address: 5/7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing