We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost.”
Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The only good thing about it was the staff.

1. The hotel is supposed to be good for wheelchair users. 1x Disabled toilet at the other end of the corridor from my room.
2. Could only just get the wheelchair into the room.
3. The room deperateley needed decorating, the curtains hanging of the rails.
4. Breakfast menu, half of it not available and no access in a wheelchair to the breakfast room.
5. The hall at the end of the corridor was disgusting, mouldy damp.
6. Beds and bedding poor quality, wafer thin pillows.
7. single headboard on a double bed.
Its just goes on and on!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 259 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have been in some bad hotels but this place beats them all,the first thing you notice is the smell of dampness,then when you get to your room you realise why there is a smell,damp patches,mould,dirt,there is also a stench from the plug holes coming from the sewer,we considered our room to be the best of the group we were with because we only had to endure a toilet door that would not shut,beds that were falling apart black mould on the walls carpets you would not let your dog sleep on,I sat on the only chair in the room and fell straight on my [--]
we went for dinner there becuase the menu looked good,dont be fooled,I had TRIO OF SUASAGE WITH MASH AND ONION GRAVY,it came after a one and three quater hours wait and was a plate of plastic smash with three deep fried sausage swimming in Bisto gravy not a hint of onion,my friends did'nt fair any better,frozen fish and chips with peas like bullits,I just could'nt understand why it took so long to cook and breakfast was the same inedible,
the staff were very understanding though there is only one english speaker who was a hero and tried her best to help.
do yourself a favour and give this place a miss,I would not give this hotel a single star but the AA rate it as three

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniversaryduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We recently had the misfortune to book into this hotel purely because we were attending a wedding reception here. There were a lot of deaf people booked in who could not express themselves in their complaints. Three of them, with the assistance of hearing people, had their rooms changed because the sheets were dirty, damp patches on the walls, cigarette burns on the carpets etc. In one room the bathroom door would not close properly, in another the toilet moved every time it was flushed and the plughole in the bath was full of hair. At the evening meal on the day before the wedding the food was disgusting. it took one and three quarter hours to arrive at the table and when it did come, nothing was fresh. It may have all be newly cooked from frozen but most of it was inedible. On lady waited over two hours for a vegitarian pasta dish only to be told that waitress had forgotten to order it. One gentleman found out to his disgust that EVERYBODY'S food had been put on to his room number, We had a fight on our hands to get this corrected. I would definitely say that this hotel should have NO stars, let alone three. I would certainly NOT stay there again at the exhoritant prices they charge

Room Tip: Didn't see a pool or fitness centre within the vicinity but the hotel does accept well behaved p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I stayed at Stoneycroft for (thankfully) one night, the staff are brilliant, very friendly, attentive and willing to go the extra mile and I expect they are fed up with complaints about the hotels terrible state. I've never been to prison but my room looked and felt like Texas Death Row. The bed assaulted me during my brief rest, it felt like I was being punched by a bag of marbles all night. I was hoping for a refreshing shower but when I turned it on I can only compare it to a tumbling waterfall from a semi punctured inflatable swimming pool. Looking forward to a cooked breakfast I was sadly surprised by a rock hard egg, and 'bacon' that was cold and may have been shaved from a small rodent. But on the upside I was always greeted by a smile from the staff. The building is awful, but the staff are wonderful.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Very poor value for money. Tiles in the bathroom are cracked. The wall papers in the room are coming out and are very old. The bed creeks. The boilers broke down 2 days that I lived there. The ceiling and walls had fungus on them and I also saw an area on the end of the hall (ground floor) full of fungus over the roof and wall. Service was bad too. The first room given to me had a hole in the wall. I totally regret booking a room there.

Room Tip: Just don't book with this hotel. Its absolutely crapy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Truthfully the only thing that the hotel has going for it is the jacuzzi in the room - and even the hot water in that ceased to work! When I informed the staff I received a very tired, uninterested response. I had to call twice to reception and go down there before they initiated any action to rectify the situation. Terrible atitude. The decor is attrocious!! Wallpaper peeling in the hallway and room, holes in the wall have been poorley filled. In the bathroom, the handheld shower wasnt working, the force from the wall shower was a trickle, and the cover over the instructions had chipped away to nothing, exposing the electronic buttons underneath. safe to say we shall not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Yuck!! old, tired, dirty. noisy bed, cigarette burns in carpet, horrible smell of food - breakfast disappointing, so glad I ate for evening meal. The only good thing about this hotel was its location and the poached eggs !! toast was white plastic bread - staff totally disinterested and unfriendly NEVER AGAIN thankfully only stayed one night

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAFASIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#37 of 41 in Leicester
107 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
537 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
1.3 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#26 of 41 in Leicester
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Address: 5/7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £36 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing