We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“British Micromount Symposium”
Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The British Micromount Society have used this hotel in Leicester, each September for the last 25 years. Yes, some of the rooms are 'tired', but Donna and her staff are trying to resolve the problems. This year we held our annual Symposium in the hotel, and nearly 70 delegates thought it a complete success. The staff bent over backwards to make our stay a very pleasant experience. If you are planning and event in Leicester, give the Stoneycroft Hotel a try. In time the problems with the decor will be resolved. Donna and her very friendly staff will give you a warm welcome.
Martin Stolworthy (Chairman British Micromount Society)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Stoneycroft Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel booking last minute for a festival in leicester .The hotel was 5 mins walk from the park where festival is held and i thought would be a great location.
After reading the reviews on here was expecting to stay at a faulty towers type place ,but i have to say we were both pleasantly surprised.
YES the decor is old fashioned and the room a little shabby and small but it was clean had a good bathroom with huge shower,bed was comfy and there was even a vintage radio above the bed.
You got mugs in the room instead of those pesky little cups and a full english breakfast in the morning AND free parking !!
For less than £40 for a double we were very happy with the hotel... it's not the Ritz but is far from as bad as these other reviews say !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank festivalfairy475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel in january, wary of bad reviews we solidered on in the hope that the jacuzzi would negate the negatives. We were pleaseantly suprised. Yes the hotel is dated and the staff are ignorant and rude. But it was clean and cheap ( except for being charged twice) The jacuzzi/steam bath was exellent and the situiation of the premises good. That led to a second booking for the four poster bed and jacuzzi combo (who said romance was dead?). This is were our luck ran out and our nightmare started. We arrive to mumblings of double bookings and that a wedding party has taken our room, but we have an alternative. To be fair we got 50 pound knocked off but you couldnt pay me to suffer the indignity of sleeping in this hole again. The room was bascially below sea level, had no windows of any fucntion accept to tease you with the the freedom which is outside, and the room had the lighting of a chilean mine. My other half related her experience to what she would preceive as time served at her majestys pleasure. The saving grace as always is the jacuzzi..... The only temperture setting available was scoulding, or the average temp in the river styx. the door was hanging by one cobweb only ( its a recession screws are expensive). The worst was the water in the spa/bath, its the liquid was a yellow tinged sulphuresque gloop of stale poision which took an age to fill up and an era to dispense. It was like the sewage works of 1800s london had transported itself to this plastic fantastic tub of sorrow. Other knocks would be no picture on the 70s tv (im all for retro) couldnt brush my teeth as the sink was permentlry full, oh and the room seemed to be next to the loudest and busiest kitchen in britian (god help the diners). All in all we got away lightly first time but paid fot iy the second. No go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

9 of us stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We had three rooms between us and all of the rooms had serious damp, the wall paper was coming off the walls. The rooms were not clean, lights did not work, showers had no hot water. No toilet roll in hotel rooms or in the toilets down stairs, when we asked for toilet paper we were given brown stained damp loo roll. The electrics were dangerous and in one room the bed side lamp burnt a hole in the headboard of the bed, a lucky escape there? There are steep stairs to all the rooms and the rooms are very very warm! The beds were very uncomfortable and most of us were unable to sleep. There were teenagers smoking drugs on the premises and so I would say DO NOT TAKE YOUR CHILD HERE. The quality of the food at breakfast was ok but we waited a long time for it and most of us did not receive what we ordered. If you would like a good laugth then pop in and check this place out for your self, but I would not recommend a stay in this place to a FAMILY OF RATS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I'm surprised this place hasnt been closed down?

Room Tip: Do not book any room at this hell hole
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I had a one night stay here. My primary concern being that it was located close to the train station. The hotel is somewhat close but that being said there wasn't many positive to say about the hotel. It is in desperate need of an update. The carpeting is old and musty smelling. My room had one small twin bed that needs replacing. One of the springs went when I just went to sit on the bed. But the sheets were clean and on average I had a pretty good sleep. The TV is an older model that didn't work at all and whatever digital device they had sitting on the top kept falling off. The bathroom was the best thing about my room. Generally it was clean and spacious and much bigger than other hotels I have been into. That said there needs to be more careful cleaning of the toilet. I will just leave it at that. The one positive about the bathroom was that there was a heated towel rack which is great if you need to do some quick hand laundry. Hang it up on the rack and depending on the item, it will generally dry overnight. The other general positive was that my room price included an English breakfast which was average. Nothing spectacular but not bad either. The check in staff when I arrived the previous night was very nice and helpful. A cheery attitude from staff makes the stay more bearable. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend on my "must stay": lists. It is a lower price but you get what you pay for in this instance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YVRTravelGirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The only good thing about it was the staff.

1. The hotel is supposed to be good for wheelchair users. 1x Disabled toilet at the other end of the corridor from my room.
2. Could only just get the wheelchair into the room.
3. The room deperateley needed decorating, the curtains hanging of the rails.
4. Breakfast menu, half of it not available and no access in a wheelchair to the breakfast room.
5. The hall at the end of the corridor was disgusting, mouldy damp.
6. Beds and bedding poor quality, wafer thin pillows.
7. single headboard on a double bed.
Its just goes on and on!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have been in some bad hotels but this place beats them all,the first thing you notice is the smell of dampness,then when you get to your room you realise why there is a smell,damp patches,mould,dirt,there is also a stench from the plug holes coming from the sewer,we considered our room to be the best of the group we were with because we only had to endure a toilet door that would not shut,beds that were falling apart black mould on the walls carpets you would not let your dog sleep on,I sat on the only chair in the room and fell straight on my [--]
we went for dinner there becuase the menu looked good,dont be fooled,I had TRIO OF SUASAGE WITH MASH AND ONION GRAVY,it came after a one and three quater hours wait and was a plate of plastic smash with three deep fried sausage swimming in Bisto gravy not a hint of onion,my friends did'nt fair any better,frozen fish and chips with peas like bullits,I just could'nt understand why it took so long to cook and breakfast was the same inedible,
the staff were very understanding though there is only one english speaker who was a hero and tried her best to help.
do yourself a favour and give this place a miss,I would not give this hotel a single star but the AA rate it as three

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniversaryduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#36 of 40 in Leicester
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#32 of 40 in Leicester
220 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#16 of 40 in Leicester
518 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
1.0 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Address: 5/7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £35 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing