We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor, dated, rusty, loud, creaky and cheaply put together...Shame as could have potential! Nice staff.”
Review of Stoneycroft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stoneycroft Hotel
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Poor, dated, rusty, loud, creaky and cheaply put together...Shame as could have potential! Nice staff.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Staying in Leicester for the week due to work. My initial thoughts of StoneyCroft were proven correct!
We ordered single occupancy room which comes literally with single bed and just enough space to squeeze past the bed to get to the toilet! Curtains were tied in a knot rather than attach the curtain ties to the walls!! Room 6. Paint was chipping off the walls! I pulled the flush and the whole thing started to shake and make a VERY loud buzzing noise!

Also no lift or help with heavy luggage! Took my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs with no offer for a hand! Though I was quite clearly struggling.

Extremely creaky floors! The stairs are likely to fall through at any time and I am surprised the banisters haven't already fallen off!! Can hear every single footstep around the building!

I asked to move rooms as mine was hideous, I moved into 'The Honeymoon Suit'. Which I should have expected less of as it was only £10 per night extra than the single room!! Stains and dirt all over the walls,and down behind the bed. Tiniest 9inch old school television! Which does have a digital box however signal was awful so was limited to few channels! Toilet flush was fine however the seat came off as soon as I lifted it up. Shower was good and powerful! Nice enough bathroom area!

Free wifi- if you're lucky enough to be able to connect!! Again- poor signal!

Staff were lovely! (Two young Indian girls) absolutely lovely and tried their best to correct issues and were very friendly!
Also an older woman in reception who wasn't too friendly, very abrupt and short patience!!

Breakfast was pretty good! Help your self to cereal and juice and able to order full English breakfast all inclusive of the nightly cost!

Also restaurant within... Standard English food, nice area with large tv and bar. Reasonable prices. Small menu!

Little improvements could easily be made to make this hotel a nicer place!! Ie/ Repaint walls, take more pride, Re-carpet throughout, get a few decent televisions and invest in decent curtains!! These are old, smelly and dated! Also look into food tips and presentation!!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel! It's not a great place to come back to after a long day at work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shakira F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    42
    37
    193
See reviews for
46
62
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just got back from my trip to Leicester which i stayed two nights in this hotel.When i pulled up to the hotel i noticed that the stone work outside was falling off in places.Inside was worse.
This place needs knocking down and rebuilt.The interior is old and needs updating in every way.
We got up to our room and was even more disappointed. The wallpaper was coming off in places and looked like it had been doner in the 60s.We had no tv,no cold water and the heating was on full belt.There did send somebody up to sort out the cold tap and also gave us a very small tv.The staff were very friendly and did help.Also the flow of the shower was terrible it just trickled out and took ages to get showered.The breakfast was ok and filled a space ready for the day.I did ask for the heating to be turned off at night but they said it was on a timer so we all couldnt get to sleep because of the heat.This place isnt the cheapest to stay as we stayed at another hotel last night down the road which was cheaper and much better.I could go on but all i can say is i will never be going back there untill the place gets a massive make over.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stopped at this hotel Saturday night. It was a very late booking and they were full but they found a room that was due for some work. The greeting on arrival made me feel like a long lost friend visiting a family home. Its pet friendly and that added to the feeling of it being more of a home than an hotel. The shower in my room was the sort I like It worked and was of a good pressure and the free wifi was easy to use and fast, a must have in my book. Breakfast was good and the staff likewise polite quick and helpful. All in all although a little bit of TLC is needed in places this is where I will stay next time I am in the City

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterafWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Cost £49 per night for a double room with breakfast available for 2.
Breakfast was excellent, room was standard I'd expect for price (Hol Inn and Premier Inn were almost double price for same nights).
Staff friendly and efficient, restaurant offers a real good value deal, plus a more expensive option if preferred. I had mussels,plus fish and chips - £8 - cannot fault that. Others had lamb shank and were well pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

No wonder the pictures are taken in the dark with soft lighting on in the hotel! The pictures of the featured room built my hopes up, i should have known better... Cheap flooring up the walls! This place needs a total makeover as of years ago. I asked for fresh coffee with my breakfast to be told that "the instant coffee is fresh"!! I'm working class but this is below standard and should not even have 1 star! PLEASE AA TAKE NOTE. This reflects badly on your rating system. Yes it may have been 3 star when it first opened.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

were treated as third class citizens during our 2 week stay. had to b changed to another room due to d mattress being so old and feeling the springs. after moving to the new room had d same issue. on the final few days after being promised a new mattress nothing happened. during the evening staff were sayingthey do not know wherethe new matrtressis and the next day d manager tried saying the mattress had bin changed when it clearly was the same one. what do they take us for litle kids. crazy people

Room Tip: never go there is my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yunus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed here for a few nights for a conference at the university. It's good location for campus, but the place is unpleasant. Bed and bathroom were clean, but the infrastructure is in bad shape. I couldn't turn off the heating, the lamp over the bed was broken, and the I got the sense I should not be walking barefoot on the carpet. I could hear everything that was happening above, below and on either side of my room, and the breakfast was bad (I skipped it after the first time even though it's included in the price). One ray of light was the staff, who were very nice and tried their best to make up for the faults of the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TauOver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.1 mi away
Croft Hotel
Croft Hotel
#36 of 40 in Leicester
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#32 of 40 in Leicester
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#19 of 40 in Leicester
501 reviews
4.0 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
1.0 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stoneycroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneycroft Hotel

Property: Stoneycroft Hotel
Address: 5/7 Elmfield Avenue, Leicester LE2 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stoneycroft Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stoneycroft Hotel is a privately run establishment, only a few minutes walk from the City Centre, and the world famous De Montfort Hall. Both of Leicester's University's, and the Railway Station, are within walking distance, yet situated in a peaceful Avenue off the main A6 London road.At the Stoneycroft hotel you're assured a warm welcome. Friendly staff are available to help make your stay both memorable and enjoyable. Whether taking a break, preparing for that important business meeting, or just visiting the area, the Stoneycroft Hotel offers you comfort and value for money in pleasant, relaxing surroundings. The Hotel comprises of 40 bedrooms of varying sizes, fully central heated, with colour television, tea/coffee making facilities, clock radios and direct dial telephones in every room. All of the rooms have full en-suite facilities either bath or shower and toilet, with some located on the ground floor for those of us who are less agile than we'd like to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stoneycroft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoneycroft Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing