We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of CandyStripe Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

CandyStripe Bar & Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks
Description: CandyStripe offers a hybrid of evening socialising open from 4pm daily and offers the widest range of drinks we have seen in the city in a colourful and cosy atmosphere. The restaurant area situated just behind the bar delivers a great view over the main area and is perfect for grazing or dining from our seasonal menu
1 review
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The chef was rude, the food was burnt and took 40 minutes to arrive. The atmosphere wad rubbish and i wouldnt recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This has been the worst customer service I have ever received. It took 40 minutes for the pizzas to arrive and when they came they were burnt and when I complained to the chef he was argumentative and rude and said he could not offer a refund for the pizzas but he would remake them forcing me to comply.
When the pizzas came the food was below average considering it was £8 each for very small pizzas. When it came to getting the bill we were overcharged.

This place is overpriced, rubbish atmosphere and rubbish customer service.

Helpful?
Thank Stells M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great new venue. Friendly and professional staff.

Hope this place is here for years to come. Nice for somewhere to go after work and have a relaxing drink.

Does not feel pretentious either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C0urt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good for after work drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited early Friday evening with some colleagues. Great place with a fabulous cocktail menu and friendly staff. We left very happy...!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great new bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Visited with a few friends recently and was very impressed. The refurb looks great with funky lighting and giant furniture! The cocktails were great, all sweet flavours which went down well with my friends. They even serve food till late in the evening!
The staff are nice and friendly.
Would definatley recommend to anyone either early evening or late at night at the weekends.
Nice to finally see something different in Leicester.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hol578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CandyStripe Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Markfield, Leicester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing