We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eat and be Happy :D”
Review of AJs Food Bar

AJs Food Bar
Ranked #169 of 1,155 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Fast food, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: HI this is AJS burger van located on de montfort streetopenig hours; 5pm to 3am mon-sat 5pm to 2am sunday.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eat and be Happy :D”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Scrumptious food made with pride and a reasonable price. Open till really late which is awesome for those burning candles in the library. Great service and always a delight to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Damystique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chilli-sauce heaven”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When I was a student at Leicester Uni, living in Opal Court, I would eat AJ's lamb doner kebab, or chicken kebab at least twice a week. Their chilli sauce is the kind of thing wars are fought over, it's just that good. The best part of AJ's on De Montfort atreet is the service. No matter whether they are closing or just opening up, they will go out of their way to make your order exactly how you like it. You can even order using text messages or facebook and pick your food up while you have a quick chat about football.

Head over for a solid serving of chips, kebabs, and burgers the next time you're craving a late meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why you not going?!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful food and the owner is always happy to have a conversation with you! Probably the nicest man I ever met! He cares about your well being aswell, so it's not just business.
When I moved to Leicester I didn't have much food and I had no idea where any of the shops were,so AJ's food saved me!
I normally get the burger meal and the chicken nugget meal. Both really good and I strongly prefer it more than Mc Donald! I do recommend you to try it when you are in Leicester, you would not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“kindness service and best burger”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I'm live opal for the past 9 months. The AJ's cheese burger is the best burger I have ever eat. especially the burger sauce which is great. the chip is also good. love the AJ's chips

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhou Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE ABSOLUTE BEST take-out kabob I've ever had in my life.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When I lived in Leicester, I literally survived off Beef and Chicken Kabob.

I cannot begin to express how awesome their chili sauce is and how amazing their food is. If it wasn't for these guys I probably wouldn't have gotten through law exams. These guys are the nicest people you'll ever meet. If I EVER go back to Leicester, I will absolutely stop buy the truck on De Montfort. Their cheery personalities and their delicious food will be sorely missed. Thanks for the great food guys!

-Chandler

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJs Food Bar also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to AJs Food Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing