We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor hotel with poor customer service”
Review of Campbells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campbells Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Leicester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I booked a single room and paid over the phone. I asked if I could pay upon arrival, but was told to pay upfront. I was told it was £25, a good price I thought. I said the price back to confirm and he confirmed and card details were given. When I turned up I was given a parking permit to park on the street (best part of the stay I'll admit). He asked me if I wanted the receipt. I took it, but did not look at it (my mistake, I trusted that it was correct and I trusted the manager had only taken the amount I agreed to, he seemed like a nice guy). The room was okay - the bathroom was pretty poor (tiny, cheap, old fashioned), there was wind blowing the window all night that I couldn't stop and the bed wasn't very comfy and squeeked with every movement. However, it was cleanish and I didn't expect the ritz for £25. However, the next day after I had left I noticed that I had been charged £35. I rang them up and the manager stated that he had asked me over the phone if I wanted an en-suite room and gave me the price with (£35) and without en-suite (£25) and that I had chosen the en-suite price. This is a lie as I had only been told the £25 room rate and I accepted. He spoke to the owner and then told me that I would not be given the £10 difference as they had given me a receipt and I could have pointed out their mistake and suggested that I was mistaken or lying (I was not). I also suspect this is the reason they wanted me to pay upfront and I would have had the same argument if I had noticed the mistake straight away as it would be non-refundable. If i had known it was £35 I would have stayed elsewhere at a better hotel. Pretty bad customer service in a poor hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed A, Owner at Campbells Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Campbell Guesthouse. The guest house is under new ownership and management since June 2014. We have undertaken allot of changes and we are improving all of our services including the establishment to provide people with better stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Campbells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at campbells in early August 2013 still cant an wont ever forget this place the staff/owner who were very very kind and helpful I have stayed in lots big name hotels an I never felt so happy to pay for my stay it was like visiting family. So I say to all the staff/mr Campbell I hope this hotel stays open for many many years to come you should all be proud of whats on offer. thank you....sleep=10/10price=10/10 staff=10/10

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

No on was there for check in.I was dragged up three flights of stairs with a bad chest.They would not give me a key until the boss turned up to look on computer to prove I had paid. Even though I had a reference no from late rooms. I nearly contacted the police. After three or more hours she turned up.They did put me downstairs where the bed was lumpy. I had to double up the duvet to get comfortable.There was aloud drip outside my window. I had to put tissue in my ears to sleep..

Room Tip: nothing can be said to improve your stay. .
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have stayed here three times now and on all occasions have been pleasantly satisfied with our stay.
Clean, tidy, afforadable and a nice walk into Leicester from where the hotel is situated.
There are two parks just nearby which the children enjoyed going to too :)
We will be visiting again !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 644357Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a room at the front of the building and slept with the windows open and were not awakened by street noise despite being light sleepers. The bed was very comfortable and the facilities clean and in good working order. There was no problem getting a parking space on the street despite returning to the hotel quite late each night. We would definitely stay there on any future stay in Leicester. Also, it is about a mile or less from the city centre, so within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefiB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I am an international student at DMU Leicester and stayed at Campbells for a night when I first arrived in Leicester (October 2010).
The location of the hotel is very good (especially for DMU students) as the hotel is situated on Narborough Road (full of fast food shops and convenience stores) and is around 10 mins walk to DMU.
The room was small but very clean and tidy. Had tv, kettle and tea and coffee sachets in the room. The breakfast was good and the owner of the hotel seemed like an interesting guy. The only bad thing about my stay was that the shared bathroom was on a different floor than my room and it wasn't easy going up and down the stairs at night with the stairs making all the noises.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khattak84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great for the price, Nice people working there and laid back surroundings. Had a lovely stay! xxxx

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
1.4 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 40 in Leicester
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Campanile Hotel Leicester
Campanile Hotel Leicester
#25 of 40 in Leicester
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#16 of 40 in Leicester
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbells Hotel

Address: 17-19 Westleigh Road, Leicester LE3 0HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leicester
Price Range: £31 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campbells Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Campbell's Guesthouse in Leicester. Campbells Guesthouse [formally Hotel] ia a family run guesthouse just a few minutes walk from the City Centre. We offer a simple informal place to stay whether visiting for a night or long term.We do our utmost to be flexable and accomadating at a low price. Please note that many online referances are very outdated & incorrect - so please check with us for any question.Whilst we do not provide breakfast as part of the booking it should be noted there are many good cafe and eating options close by. We also provide a microwave, toaster and kettle in the TV lounge in addition to the tea/coffee making in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Campbells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campbells Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing