We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not come here for the history”
Review of Launde Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Launde Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Just had one night here with my husband. I knew it was a christian retreat before I came and that there was no television in the room. I booked this stay because I was interested in the history of the place. It has a beautiful historic church and a lovely panelled library. It also has an historic fireplace in the piano room, but unfortunately thats where is stops. Some lovely windows which gives glimpses of its history but not much more. We were however not at all satisfied with the food. This place is really isolated and on the drive in we never saw a pub in order to purchase food. When we arrived about 5.00 pm we asked to book a meal and was told the chef might have gone. Lucky for us he had not and he said he would prepare us a light supper. This was a small cheese salad for me (vegetarian), lettuce, tomato, cucumber, cheese and coleslaw, plus loads of olives which I hate. My husband had the same but with meat instead of the olives. It was small and had no potatoes and no bread. We were not full. The waitress then said she would bring dessert, again no choice and we had a slice of what looked like a chocolate cheesecake, I would never had ordered this myself but ate it because I was hungry. The next day when booking out we were charged £19 for this, definately not worth the money. Also the breakfast was the worst I ever had. We were told breakfast was 8.30-9.00 but when we sat down the chef had not arrived and the waitress offered to cook us scrambled egg on toast. The chef did arrive then and we were asked if we wanted bacon and mushrooms as well. When the meal arrived I had scrambled egg and mushrooms it did not even look like scrambled egg. it was not yellow, it was slimey and tasted horrid I could not eat it. So after paying £90 to spend the night here my breakfast consisted of 2 pieces of toast which I made and a few mushrooms - not impressed. Another couple of negatives, only one bath towel in the room and no toiletries except for soap. There is nothing to do here and we stayed in the garden until about 8.45 pm, and then went to bed at about 9.00pm. We stay in hotels regularly and expect better treatment when we are paying £90. On a more positive note it was peaceful, the staff were friendly, the gardens were lovely and had beautiful rabbits running everywhere, they are what kept us amused. I do not mean to be negative this is a christian retreat where people come I assume to pray and have peace and if this is what you want you will not be disappointed but it was not for us especially at £90 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rainbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

My husband & I were married here a couple of years ago & have later had our daughter's christening here. Both times they could not do enough to help us and to add so many more extras into our packages! You honestly could not ask for more if you tried! Staff are fantastic, and Tim holds a brilliant service! AMAZING! Thanks to everyone there, this place has been the starting block to our happily ever after xxx

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayandjo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Set in the rolling Leicesterhire hunting countryside Launde Abbey is stunning in terms of its location and tranquility and stunning in terms of what it has to offer the visitor without all the usual commercial trappings.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank didicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We have been planning an event here, and the staff have been so helpful and kind. The food has been super and the venue is beautifully restored in the past year. The grounds are wonderful; is is set in managed sheep grazing land, away from main roads, or urban areas. A real oasis or calm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We were meandering through High Leicestershire in that wonderful Indian summer weather of 2011, looking at historic churches, and decided to go to Launde to look at the chapel attached to the big house, before pressing on to Uppingham for lunch. Found instead that Launde Abbey has been converted into a retreat, and was serving lunches - that was OK but the ambience and (for us) the unusual set-up of what is a Christian retreat were wonderful. Will definitely return for the stay - not only the tranquility of the immediate surroundings but also the lack of accommodation in what is an absolutely wonderful part of the English Shires - think a subtler, emptier version of the Cotswolds.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
2  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

When we booked a 1 night stay at Launde we did not Know it was a Christian Retreat. We Found it to be a most wonderful place set in about 3ooacres. 5 star in everyway. We will certainly go back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: The room we stayed was overlooking magnificent parkland. It has just had a £2,000,000 refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
14.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
11.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
16 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kirby Muxloe
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Plough Inn
Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Wigston
55 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#21 of 41 in Leicester
538 reviews
15.2 mi away
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launde Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launde Abbey

Address: Launde Road | East Norton, Leicester LE7 9XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Leicester
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tudor manor house once owned by Thomas Cromwell, set in lovely rural countryside with elegant ensuite accommodation, close to the market towns of Oakham and Uppingham. Easily accessible via the A1 and A47 between Leicester and Peterborough. There is also a converted Georgian stable block, glorious gardens and magnificent medieval Chapel, still used for daily services. Single, twin, double and family rooms available. Attractions nearby include Rutland Water, Richard III museum in Leicester and lovely market towns featuring individual shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Launde Abbey Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing