We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Launde Abbey

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Launde Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Me, my wife and our two young children stayed overnight in the early part of June 2013 and we weren't disappointed. The grounds were lovely, staff friendly and helpful and we were all made to feel welcome. Service was good, value for the room was good too and we all slept well. It's in the middle of nowhere so very peaceful - the main thing we heard was the sheep in the field close by. It's around a 15 minute drive from Rutland Water so an ideal place to stay if you plan on visiting there. Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at Launde Abbey after our friends daughters wedding. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is stunning! Our room on the second floor had the most beautiful views of the grounds to the front of the Abbey. The room was clean and fresh. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice. We would love to stay again sometime and take time to stroll around the grounds, relax in the lounge and peruse the library. As wedding venue, I cannot think of anywhere more perfect for your special day.

Room Tip: Forward facing view is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidsidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Launde Abbey is one of those very special places where you can relax, reflect, experience the importance of silence and stillness in an ever-busy world. This is where time spent in prayer, time with God, enables me to simply remain in touch with God and allow him time to work with me. Also the surroundings are magnificent, the facilties are superb, the meals rather filling and the staff extremely well-coming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This hotel is very easy to get to, just off the A47, but you feel like you're miles from anywhere.

This part Abbey part Manor house is nestled in a dell amongst rolling hills. It's very quiet and is wonderfully spiritual. The staff are very accommodating and the place feels homely. The space, the views and atmosphere are spot on; you'll love the relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: As to be in the main house - view from the front and back are wonderful. The stable block is comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apbee186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Wonderful old manor house in the most beautiful surroundings. Fantastic staff with the most wonderful welcome. So much fabulous home cooked food. An amazing retreat house with lovely gardens and medieval chapel.

Try and stay in the main house rather than the stables.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneAspleyGuise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Just spent a lovely week end here at a private party. This is an old Abbey and very atmosppheric and pictresque. It is still a retreat as well as having party and wedding functions etc. It is run by Leicester and Peterborough diocese. The rooms are lovely the place relaxing and the staff are so welcoming and helpful. Our evening meal was fantastic and the wine with the meal fabulous. There is no full bar but after the meal a limited bar is available on a trust basis. The standard of renovation is very high and the place is very welcoming and comfortable. Lots of places to sit and relax both in the Abbey and the grounds. The chapel holds ?twice daily services which you are welcome to attend but there is absolutely no pressure or preaching. There is no mobile phone reception, didn't see a television in the place so the boys of the group actually didn't know the football results... A very different but wonderful place to stay in a group for a party, for walks or for quiet reflection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizzieliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Beautiful location and building. Extremely polite helpful staff, spotless and large rooms. Can't fault any of our stay. My family (wife and three kids, 7, 5, and 3) had a lovely time. It's not a Butlins when it comes to children's entertainment, but lots for children to do and always felt very welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTrotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
14.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
11.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 41 in Leicester
682 reviews
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kirby Muxloe
303 reviews
12.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
Ibis Budget Hotel Leicester
#22 of 41 in Leicester
543 reviews
11.6 mi away
Plough Inn
Plough Inn
#1 of 1 in Wigston
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launde Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launde Abbey

Address: Launde Road | East Norton, Leicester LE7 9XB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Leicester
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tudor manor house once owned by Thomas Cromwell, set in lovely rural countryside with elegant ensuite accommodation, close to the market towns of Oakham and Uppingham. Easily accessible via the A1 and A47 between Leicester and Peterborough. There is also a converted Georgian stable block, glorious gardens and magnificent medieval Chapel, still used for daily services. Single, twin, double and family rooms available. Attractions nearby include Rutland Water, Richard III museum in Leicester and lovely market towns featuring individual shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Launde Abbey Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing