We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish excellence”
Review of La Tasca - CLOSED

La Tasca
Price range: US$10 - US$71
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Leicester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spanish excellence”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Visiting for a birthday celebration we were made to feel very welcome and valued as customers. The menu and drinks were excellent as well as the attentiveness of the staff

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Davewilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

went with a group who informed me La Tasca was excellent food, how wrong! greasy overpriced no flavour, I went home and cooked something else

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not worth forking out”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The decor, atmosphere and staff are all lovely, really warm and welcoming. Shame the food doesn't match up to this.

Far too over priced-a bit bland and to be honest I could probably make better at home, which is saying something! The paella to share was clearly microwaved and severely lacking in any kind of flavour-gloopy and bland. Some of the tapas were tasty enough but v small for the £5 price tag.

Never again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent food and service. Very fair price. Attentive waiting staff who are only too happy to help. Nice atmosphere. Would definitiely recommend and can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A disappointment, poor new menu,service the only saving grace”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We shared our first date at La Tasca Leicester (several years ago)so have eaten there many times since then, (we are signed up to their email offers), on seeing a new menu we decided on a weekend to go there whilst in Leicester,what a disappointment,it was very quiet,service was excellent,however, the food was a failure, normally the food is exceptional and full of flavour,not this time alas, it was bland,very,very bland,do they actually taste the food being served....i doubt it. We ordered 7 tapas dishes to share, all were unmemorable, we left disappointed and hungry,we had left food uneaten,as too had some other diners,if food is leaving the table uneaten that should be an indication. I really hope they can improve and get the quality of the food to what it was previously,if not then i don't hold out much hope for it's future. In a City as large as Leicester there are an amazing amount of places to eat,few would rate this poorly.
We will visit again,however, we will wait for a menu change,if it is as poor as this visit though it will be our last. Time to change the kitchen staff i think.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark421748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tasca also viewed

Markfield, Leicester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing