We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacularly rude proprietor but decent food, fairly priced”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #629 of 1,153 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacularly rude proprietor but decent food, fairly priced”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Ok, I will to try to be as objective as possible after having been given the worst service four people have ever experienced: Generally, everyone enjoyed their food. My pate starter was too cold but tasty, braised lamb shank slightly under seasoned but very well cooked, pancake dessert was delicious. Waiting staff were polite and pleasant. The fact that orders had to be double checked by the proprietor indicated that there was something wrong with the communication between waiters and the kitchen. My three friends ordered coffee (I did not). When the coffee came one was sent back because it was not what was ordered. The proprietor then came to our table and made it clear - to me - that it was my fault the coffee order was wrong and not his. All four of us were gobsmacked by the proprietor's aggressive behaviour. The bill came with service included. I pointed out to the waitress that the food and her service were good but that I wanted the service charge removed because we had never before experienced such rudeness from the proprietor of a restaurant. The proprietor then came to tell us that he had not been rude ('because he hadn't used swear words, or anything') and that, again, I was mistaken. Then, finally, at the end there was an apology. Too little, too late. We will never go back to this restaurant and I cannot recommend it to anyone because the proprietor does not seem to be aware of his own aggressive behaviour towards the customers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwearyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    12
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place, you wouldn't even know it was there!”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went here at the weekend recommended by a friend, and really enjoyed it. I walk past this place every morning, and with the shutters down, you wouldn't even realise there was an Italian restaurant there! We had the pate with toast and onion chutney and tomato and mozarella salad for starters which were good. We both chose veal for mains but cooked in different ways, one with a marsala sauce and the other with a creamy mushroom sauce, and both tasted amazing, along with the homemade garlic bread. Probably the best course though was the homemade lemon cheesecake, which we had to share! I'm not a pudding person, but this just melted in your mouth! Will definitely be coming back again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Heaven on a plate”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our third visit to La Dolce Vita and it continues to impress. My starter of mussels in a cream sauce caused me to request a soup spoon to finish off the sauce......beautiful. The main of braised lamb shank was beautifully cooked and literally fell of the bone, the accompanying jus complemented it perfectly. I finished with panacotta bread and butter pudding. A fellow diner and I agreed that it was probably one of the finest deserts we had tasted. Keep up the good work, we are already looking forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filbert_Sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Scrummy”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

La Dolce Vita always gives a warm welcome. Nothing is too much trouble. The waitress was helpful and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. The food is always lovely, a good selection cooked and presented well.
An informal place with lots of warmth, a rare combination these days. Go and check it out and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beresfordgadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“If only the Spanish waiter was on the menu!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Fantastic food and atmosphere but nothing compared to the wonderful floor show put on by Pepe including his majic show for the kids!!!! I would come and pay just for this alone, but the food and wine was also good!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoldieLocks415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing