We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it was”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #629 of 1,177 Restaurants in Leicester
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Been going to this place for years on and off and can say you always left quite satisfied with everything. A nice atmosphere with as mentioned the funny old guy who is not there anymore.
This time it was just ok but for the price not good enough. Would go again but wouldn't like to recommend it just in case !!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    12
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Countesthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rustic Italiano”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Great little restaurant which looks like its inside someone's front room from the outside. The food is excellent value for money, and it is fair to say we have never had a bad meal yet.

My only negative point is this. On all of the occasions I have visited, when ordering vegetables they come in a collective bowl to feed all. On every occasion we have had to ask for more Veg, the portions are tiny, and I feel that when you're paying a premium for a great steak, and a premium for bottled beer (draught not an option), the least they could do is give a healthy portion of Veg. It seems they are just scrimping, and they really don't need to, this restaurant is better than that!

That said, I would highly recommend this establishment

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DC98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt let down this time”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Me and wife has been here many times, and wont think twice about recommending usually, but they seemed to of changed waiting staff, old Italian gentlemen that stands around bar was excellent, on last occasion been replaced by young blonde lady that hadn't got time for patrons, trying to rush you out to get next people in, then to top it off put 10% service charge on top of bill, we always tip but its what we feel acceptable for service etc. really put us off. Will think twice before we go back ( but will go back )

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaDolceVita36, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Sorry to hear of your disappointment that the old Italian gentleman is no longer here as everybody has to retire eventually! None of the waiting staff would ever rush a customer unless it has been agreed that we need the table back by a certain time. There has been no service charge levied on any bills for the last four years unless it's for a party of eight and over, where it is optional.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“let down”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

had heard good things about this place so we booked for a saturday night a week in advance, only to be called the day we are going that they had double booked us, didnt offer a different time just that we couldnt go,

went a few weeks later - mid week, we were the only ones in there, and it still took a long time for our order to be taken, i could see the waitress and the chef messing about and flirting in the kitchen. the water was warm, the food was cold, i ordered a fillet steak, and at £18 a go you would expect something half decent. i ordered it rare but it came out near enough well done, no pink at all. the waitress forgot the side i ordered, the sauce was plastered all over the food instead of coming seperately, i think this was to cover the blackened steak, and it was the wrong sauce anyway.

there is no way i would go there again,

i wouldnt keep chickens in la dolce vita

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ash8722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY RUDE SERVICE!!!”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

First and only time we will be going to la dolce vita. Very slow bringing out starters, forgot one of the four mains we had to ask for my friends main meal as we thought they had forgot us.
Felt very rushed to eat, they had booked our table out and people were standing beside our table waiting for us to leave. Very uncomfortable service and unfriendly and unenthusiastic staff. As we finished our mains the bill was promptly put on our table and we had to leave to accommodate the next eaters without even being shown the desserts menu or having a post meal drink. Very unprofessional and non customer friendly. Will not be recommending to anyone only telling people to avoid avoid avoid!!!!! As it understandably put a downer on our evening out with friends. Very poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Goldglitter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing