We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well restored, well equipped cottage full of...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Blacksmiths Cottage, Groby a Grade II listed thatched cottage with parking and private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Blacksmiths Cottage, Groby a Grade II listed thatched cottage with parking and private garden.
Home of the village Blacksmith until 1972AD Owners of the Blacksmiths Cottage, Groby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
The Blacksmiths Cottage, Groby a Grade II listed thatched cottage with parking and private garden.
Home of the village Blacksmith until 1972AD
Owners of the Blacksmiths Cottage, Groby
Traditional paving leading to the cottage garden
Our beautiful Cottage garden with bird house
Traditional oak beamed cottage throughout.
Paving area with seating
Large Double bed with wardrobe and safe
Finished to the highest of standards
Large walk in shower
Vanity unit with hair dryer and make up mirror
Traditional kitchen with all the mods cons
Lounge diner, quaint but perfectly formed
Electric log burner and quarry tiled floors
Driveway parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Leicester, Leicestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David R L
1 review
“Well restored, well equipped cottage full of character”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

The cottage met all of our expectations and was ideally located for us to see our family who live locally. A delight to stay in such a historic building.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieRose...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little snug!”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I spent 3 nights at this beautiful cottage, first night with mum and sister (maid of honour) and 2nd/3rd night with my [New!] Husband!! It was absolutely amazing and just perfect for a short stay.
The extra amenities that Brian and Hazel pepper around the property are brill, they even went the extra mile for mum by going out of their way to provide an extra fold out bed.

We'd all like to thank you for our stay and again say what a wonderful place it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRela...
Craig Tara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had 2 lovely nights here. A cute cottage with everything you would need. Brian was brilliant too. Thanks for looking after us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimC4713
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing property - great location - excellent service”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great property! Unique, quirky, cute, quiet and so very comfortable with everything we needed.
We stayed for 6 nights and really enjoyed our time in Groby. The owners of the cottage were so helpful and did everything they could to make our holiday just perfect. The Stamford Arms Pub next door has the best food and the staff provide excellent friendly service. The village is still very country yet the city of Leicester is only 4 miles away. Wish we'd been able to stay longer. Thank you Brian and David for making our stay so enjoyable!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyMiM2...
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, combining character, style and comfort”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay at this delightful cottage. It has so much traditional character, but also has been modernised inside with a beautiful kitchen and bathroom. It was comfortable and furnished to a high standard, with lots of little added details like milk, wine and biscuits available (with an honesty box for donations). A perfect little haven!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zan190775
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent four days at this pretty little cottage, which is full of character but has all mod cons. It was very well appointed and equipped with everything we needed for our stay, except perhaps for a clothes horse but I'm sure that Brian would have sourced one for us had we asked, as he was very helpful and just on the other end of the phone.
The wonderful bathroom deserves a special mention with its large and easy-to-use shower, non-slip flooring and plentiful supply of towels. The vanity unit was also a joy.
I loved the little courtyard garden with its herb patch outside the front door and wish the weather had been better so that we could have sat outside and enjoyed it.
Having the Stamford Arms just round the corner was also a bonus - such a welcoming and friendly place where we enjoyed two lovely meals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna T
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Remarkable ”
Reviewed 18 January 2017 for a stay in February 2016

Surprise birthday treat! The husband treated me to a night away and what a beautiful treat. Absolutely lovely little cottage in the heart of groby. Quirky and comfortable, Home from home, with all the essentials and even those items that you may have forgot to pack.The finish on this cottage is superb.
This cottage is also situated next to a lovely local village pub, that serves great fresh food, a variety of ales, super gin bar and friendly attentive staff.

Overall would Definitely recommend, and would love to return, absolutely fantastic. Thankyou for an enjoyable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing