We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i felt like i had walked into another world”
Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Maiyango
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“i felt like i had walked into another world”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

i stayed at this hotel with my partner for a weekend away and we had a fantastic time. Everything from its friendly staff to the lovely decor and delicious food surpast all expectations we had.
i would definatly recomend this hotel/restaurant if ur looking for a relaxing luxuriuos weekend away, as you find yourself continuosly impressed by the little suprised that come inbetween, from fluffly slippers and chocolates in ur room to little amuse bouch and sorbets in the restaurant.
we definatly will come to this hotel again and intend to try out the cocktail masterclass they offer in their cocktail bar downstairs (where we go behind the bar to make our very own cocktails) when we next visit.

cant wait till next time,
thankyou hotel miayango

christine & alan

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    77
    28
    20
    20
See reviews for
27
146
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

It was a business trip and not much time to look at location,but restaurant very nice & room lovely.Would stay again

Room Tip: Park in NCP carpark by Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marley021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The rooms are nice and the food is nice, as are the selection of beers and cocktails. The staff however are not, in particular one gentleman When sitting for dinner he continually referred to each female member of our party as 'lady' and barked out instructions, i.e. 'pass plate lady' and refused to get my friend a drink because she had 'missed the table drinks order' where in fact he had not bothered to ask everyone. They also seem to cram everyone in as tight as possible into the restaurant, so it feels like one big table of fifty.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexlei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMaiyango, Manager at Hotel Maiyango, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you for your feedback and general positive comments. There is no doubt that Maiyango is a venue that prides itself on high standards but also the personalities of its team. Our waiter (from Morocco) who does call guests ‘ladies’ or ‘gentlemen’ is perhaps being overly polite / formal however that is his style. In regards to refusing to serve drinks, as I was not there myself I cannot comment but would assume that it would have been the last drinks order of the night and we must ensure that we serve drinks as per our licence.

We are also proud of our intimate dining environment and the ambience we have created in the restaurant, which a number of other guests really appreciate; maybe it’s just not quite for you?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We recently stayed here because we found the website and really liked the write up. we were not disapointed.We were given home made lemonade on arrival which was gorgeous. The room was lovely with some really nice little extras like manicure kits, moisturiser, bath robes and slippers. The restaurant was amazing, from the cocktails to the menu and all the little extras inbetween. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the poached eggs in the morning were the prettiest I have ever seen. We would definately stay there again, loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manda1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2011

me and my business partners stayed at hotel maiyango as it was recommemended to us by a freind.
i must say the room was beatifull and well laid out and was really fresh and comfortable
later on the evening we had a meal in the resturant which was lovely and the staff were exellent with there customer service and approch after we went upto the roof terrace bar for some drinks before the end of the night. i was suprised to see a differant range of drinks available not like the normal carling or fosters like most places
they had really great tasting imported beers and spirits which i found to be really eye opening also there was a great selection of wines
over all i would recommend HOTEL MAIYANGO to anyone visiting leicester on business as they do cater for confrances or if your just looking to have a quiet romantic weekend with your partner then this hotel is a must
thankyou again and i will be back in the summer

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed here for only one night and did not know the area beforehand so was apprehensive. Reception was excellent. The room and facilities were also really excellent. I have one real concern and one slight niggle!

The real concern - coming back to the hotel in the late evening and having to walk into an empty hallway (and then wait for a lift - which may take several minutes to arrive) was a real worry for me - i.e what if someone just followed me into the "empty space". Perhaps a swipecard from 5.00 pm for residents would be safer??

The niggle - in the bedroom there was a menu for the restaurant food - I hope you won't mind if I tell you you that it is Loch Fyne salmon (NOT lock-fine salmon). Sorry but this really does let you down!!!

Otherwise, I am glad that I stayed at Hotel Maiyango for my visit to Leicester.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed on a Sunday night and ate in the restaurant. The food was really good and the room was very nice. Unfortunately we found that we had been bitten by bed bugs the next day! I received an email from the hotel asking for any feedback. I replied regarding the above- 20 days later- no response. Unacceptable.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JtotheB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMaiyango, Manager at Hotel Maiyango, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Reviewer

You are completely right, it is totally unacceptable why you did not receive a reply, especially after going to the trouble of contacting you for feedback in the first place! For this I can only apologise.

Regarding you being bitten, I can assure you we have never come across this problem and the way our linen is laundered, handled and wrapped by our laundry company before being sent back to us would make it virtually impossible for there to be any issues. Furthermore our experienced Housekeeping team run a fantastic operation at the Hotel and it is their attentiveness that keeps our guests coming back time after time.

Without knowing where else you may have been, how your clothes were washed and stored in your luggage it is unrealistic to lay the blame with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 40 in Leicester
884 reviews
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#13 of 40 in Leicester
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Property: Hotel Maiyango
Address: 13-21 St. Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the modern quirky restaurant with rooms located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge offers a memorable dining experience with a focus on quality ingredients and bold flavours in an informal setting. The bedrooms are thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester
Hotel Maiyango Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing