We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maiyango
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Blade08
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I cannot believe this hotel and it's restaurant has received bad reviews! Some people seriously need to get a life!

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly helpful staff. The hotel is lovely with a unique calming atmosphere. We were shown to our suite which was huge and amazing!!! All facilities were fantastic.

We had booked the suite indulgence package and waiting in our room upon our arrival were fluffy robes, slippers, champagne, fresh fruit, water and petit fours. Perfect!!

We had booked a meal in the restaurant which was again beautiful and unique. We received free his and hers cocktails which were designed to our own personal tastes by Charlotte who was a wonderful host. She even gave us the cocktail recipes so we can recreate them at home!!!

Our food was AMAZING. I had scallops followed by poached chicken and duck and my husband had salmon followed by rib eye steak. The food was delicious and the service was perfect as was our private cosy little booth!!!!! We were also given an amuse bouche and sorbet between courses. The food was so good that we decided to indulge in a platter of desserts and Charlotte offered to take the same to our room. PERFECT!!!!

Full English breakfast was served in our room and it was delicious!!!!

Checking in and out of the hotel was quick and easy.

How can you beat a beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff and delicious food and drink.

The only small downside was it's location and the fact we had to leave the hotel, pass the taxi office/ rank to get into the restaurant. Its such as shame that you can't flow through the hotel and restaurant to carry on the wonderful experience. I felt a little intimidated by the people stood outside the taxi office.

I did think the cost of the hotel was a little pricey but it was our wedding anniversary so we didn't mind splashing out!!!

However I would highly recommend the hotel and restaurant to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blade08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    76
    28
    19
    18
See reviews for
27
144
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed on Sunday night, birthday treat for hubby, we were welcomed on arrival and offered a drink whilst we checked in (nice touch) then shown to our room (14), and it was massive! With separate seating area and large bathroom, the chap showed us round the room and his pride in the place stood out!
We also booked into the hotel restaurant, and had the taster menu, which was truly amazing, six courses with chosen wine (if required) and every course out doing, if possible the previous course!
The hotel is in the city centre, and city centres do generally start coming to life early in the morning deliveries etc, so I would suggest ear plugs if you’re as light sleeper
Breakfast; so much food at dinner not really able to do justice to this, however, great choice on buffet, smoothie in a shot glass mmmmm and lovely poached eggs! Plus the view over the roof tops
But the whole experience was one of excellence, lots of personal touches and pride in what they do @ this small independent hotel
Parking in the local NCP is discounted by the hotel, but we found it cheaper in the small car park just across from the hotel (Sunday rates)
Ps: Leicester is a great city to sightsee, really lovely more to it than first meets the eye!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a nice enough boutiquey type hotel. Rooms were clean, stylish and functional, the staff were interested, helpful and friendly, the bar well-stocked, open til late, and with a nice outside balcony. It's handy for the town centre, and for the station (10 minute walk), and the rugby club. Downside - it's in a pretty skanky edge of the town centre, opposite a Wetherspoons pub, a local bookies and over a taxi rank. Whilst everything in the hotel was clean and well-presented, the styling (from the name of the hotel to the pot plants) all ultra hip 15 years ago now feels a little dated. Breakfast though was good and beds comfy.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Let's face it, Leicester isn't exactly known for glamour. This place, though, is an attempt to provide some.
Access is by lift only, all in muted lighting. I arrived very late, but I'm willing to bet that the bar area is a destination for well-healed assignations. The room was very cool: spacious but not vast, wood floor, large bed, firm mattress. Free internet is by cable (provided by the front desk) and wasn't very reliable.
Unfortunately there was horrendous "plant" noise either from the extractor fans of the hotel itself or of a neighboring building, and this led to a sleepless night. Also I could here footsteps crossing the floor above (presumably also wooden flooring) on and off throughout the night.
The breakfast menu looked really enticing, but after such a bad night's sleep I didn't feel like eating.

Room Tip: Check for noise with the window open before accepting the room. The lower floor may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wondersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel is in my top 10 favourites around the world and im bye far sure it`s the best in Leicester. The main highlight of Hotel Maiyango has to be the resaurant me and freinds came to eat here on Tuesday the 19th and managed to secure our place in a stylish comftable booth. Throughout the night me and my friends became more and more impressed by the amazing service,drinks and food. I can`t put into words how much i would recccomend this place if you havn`t been to stay here you have missed out on something very special.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelinspecter5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

From the moment we entered the hotel lobby, we knew this place was special. The Asian-inspired furnishings and sense of nature given by the decor make you feel like you're at a resort. Staff are knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful and the management has gone to great lengths to ensure that every detail is taken care of. In the rooms, we were impressed by the size and comfort of the bed and the modern fittings in the bathroom. Everything was truly luxurious, from the type of tea provided in the room to the "pillow menu" on the bedside table. Continental breakfast eaten on the open-air deck the next morning was exquisite. We only stayed here one night, but really wished it could have been longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eldiadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on the Monday night special offer (which is extremely good value for money!) as a surprise for his birthday. All the staff we encountered were very friendly (particularly the receptionist), but in a discreet manner. The room (in the deluxe price range) was amazing; huge floor space, gigantic bed and beautifully decorated. In particular the massive flat screen TV mounted on the wall was a real luxury! The bathroom was equally impressive.

We also ate in the Maiyango restaurant as part of the deal, which I personally thought was really good. As a vegetarian I had the risotto and the beetroot and halloumi tarte tatin. The risotto was beautifully presented and extremely tasty, even my carnivorous boyfriend was impressed! The main was also very nice, especially as it is something I would never usually order. For dessert we decided to be greedy and shared the selection of them all and unsurprisingly they were all lovely. Also, there were extra touches such as delicious bread rolls, an amuse-bouche of a sweet potato and pumpkin soup and a sorbet between courses. The only complaint we had was having to wait a long time for dessert due to a mishap in the kitchen, but it really didn't matter.

If only I wasn't a student with no money to spare I would return again soon!

Room Tip: Definitely look into any special offers online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bekah91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Property: Hotel Maiyango
Address: 13-21 St. Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the modern quirky restaurant with rooms located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge offers a memorable dining experience with a focus on quality ingredients and bold flavours in an informal setting. The bedrooms are thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester
Hotel Maiyango Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing