We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay - Could not fault it”
Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Maiyango
Ranked #15 of 40 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay - Could not fault it”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 19th December, I booked 2 Superior Rooms for our Christmas Party - I have to say, this Hotel was absolutely amazing!

From the moment we walked in, we were not in Leicester, but Morocco!

The Superior room was huge, absolutely immaculate & quiet, despite being told about the party above. We had bath robe & slippers & the bath was large enough for 2!!!

The free wifi was great so we could Skype our 2 young boys - along with the flat screen tv!

We also enjoyed the lobby bar which was very cosy, we enjoyed wine & buckets of beer in ice, the service was incredible!

We had some issues with staff not confirming Christmas party bookings etc & we ended up having to eat in the Restaurant instead - but thank goodness for the staff's mistake because if not we would have never found this gem! The manager made sure we were taken care of with upgraded courses, wine etc. and the food was amazing (see Restaurant Review).

The Restaurant
From the moment we walked through the door you would not realise you were in Leicester, but at a kasbar! as the night went on, the food & service was outstanding, we can't believe a small train journey away brought us to this little gem!

The food was like Masterchef, and we could not fault a single item that was ordered, as we stayed in the Hotel, we were upgraded to our deserts being included & so glad we were - they were amazing - I can't say enough about this Restaurant - apart from - I will be going back & especially to try their cocktails!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captaingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    76
    28
    19
    19
See reviews for
27
145
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night and were not told when booking or when checking in of the function that was being held that evening. We were in room 12 which was a good sized room and at the back of the hotel but the noise from the function directly upstairs was just too noisy and we had to move rooms at midnight to one at the front of the hotel (room 1). That was still noisy as there's a club at the end of the road and a taxi rank right outside but at least the constant walking across the ceiling backwards and forwards had gone.

Other things that were disappointing;

Website advertises Aveda products and some are but the shampoo and body wash are in unmarked bottles that could be anything (Reception told me that it is radox)

Water was only cool when trying to run a bath.

Breakfast was traumatic. Was given coffee but had to ask for milk. Was given toast but had to ask for butter. You get the idea.

Overall was very disappointed with the whole experience and would advise against it at a weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinge_How
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was our second stay at the hotel which offers lovely rooms and great service.

Unfortunately we were put in room 7 and had no sleep all night, the noise from people waiting at the taxi rank directly below and also the road was VERY loud until around 5am, it really spoiled our stay - I really do think the hotel should warn you certainly about this room when checking in and give you the option of changing. We only found out about the issue when we came back at night and it was too late to change then.

So, not sure if we would stay again.

Room Tip: Not room 7 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a_casual_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed Saturday night on B&B Dinner deal for partner's birthday. We had a wonderful meal. Hotel was lovely with quiet rooms for city centre location. All staff very attentive but not OTT. Liked nice little touches like fresh coffee & milk in mini bar to use for tea/coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHouse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I booked in to this hotel for a four-day stay whilst visiting Leicester for business purposes. On first impression I was *very* impressed by the helpfulness and friendly attitude of the staff. The room that I had was very comfortable and exceptionally well-equipped (fluffy white slippers anyone?).
During my second day in Leicester, somebody managed to put a digger through a mains power cable in the street outside the hotel. I do not think that anyone was hurt but the hotel lost all mains power for (I think) half a day. The staff members on duty 'phoned around and arranged alternative accommodation for (AFAIK) all their guests. All though it was not the fault of the hotel, they was extremely apologetic and did their utmost to help their guests. Brilliant!
I had a meal in the restaurant one evening and it mirrored the very high standard of the hotel. The food is excellent and the staff are first class.
The only potential drawback is the location. If your room overlooks the street there is a chance of being disturbed by the noise of people and delivery vehicles.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blade08
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I cannot believe this hotel and it's restaurant has received bad reviews! Some people seriously need to get a life!

We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by friendly helpful staff. The hotel is lovely with a unique calming atmosphere. We were shown to our suite which was huge and amazing!!! All facilities were fantastic.

We had booked the suite indulgence package and waiting in our room upon our arrival were fluffy robes, slippers, champagne, fresh fruit, water and petit fours. Perfect!!

We had booked a meal in the restaurant which was again beautiful and unique. We received free his and hers cocktails which were designed to our own personal tastes by Charlotte who was a wonderful host. She even gave us the cocktail recipes so we can recreate them at home!!!

Our food was AMAZING. I had scallops followed by poached chicken and duck and my husband had salmon followed by rib eye steak. The food was delicious and the service was perfect as was our private cosy little booth!!!!! We were also given an amuse bouche and sorbet between courses. The food was so good that we decided to indulge in a platter of desserts and Charlotte offered to take the same to our room. PERFECT!!!!

Full English breakfast was served in our room and it was delicious!!!!

Checking in and out of the hotel was quick and easy.

How can you beat a beautiful hotel with friendly helpful staff and delicious food and drink.

The only small downside was it's location and the fact we had to leave the hotel, pass the taxi office/ rank to get into the restaurant. Its such as shame that you can't flow through the hotel and restaurant to carry on the wonderful experience. I felt a little intimidated by the people stood outside the taxi office.

I did think the cost of the hotel was a little pricey but it was our wedding anniversary so we didn't mind splashing out!!!

However I would highly recommend the hotel and restaurant to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blade08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed on Sunday night, birthday treat for hubby, we were welcomed on arrival and offered a drink whilst we checked in (nice touch) then shown to our room (14), and it was massive! With separate seating area and large bathroom, the chap showed us round the room and his pride in the place stood out!
We also booked into the hotel restaurant, and had the taster menu, which was truly amazing, six courses with chosen wine (if required) and every course out doing, if possible the previous course!
The hotel is in the city centre, and city centres do generally start coming to life early in the morning deliveries etc, so I would suggest ear plugs if you’re as light sleeper
Breakfast; so much food at dinner not really able to do justice to this, however, great choice on buffet, smoothie in a shot glass mmmmm and lovely poached eggs! Plus the view over the roof tops
But the whole experience was one of excellence, lots of personal touches and pride in what they do @ this small independent hotel
Parking in the local NCP is discounted by the hotel, but we found it cheaper in the small car park just across from the hotel (Sunday rates)
Ps: Leicester is a great city to sightsee, really lovely more to it than first meets the eye!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#7 of 40 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 40 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Property: Hotel Maiyango
Address: 13-21 St. Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the modern quirky restaurant with rooms located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge offers a memorable dining experience with a focus on quality ingredients and bold flavours in an informal setting. The bedrooms are thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester
Hotel Maiyango Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing