We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Dissapointing”
Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maiyango
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We were invited back to Maiyango after a dissapointing first trip by the manager. Previously we had to leave the hotel due to the extent of the noise. We were invited back and I hoped that my opinions would be changed second time around. Upon arrival the room was lovely, there was a problem with the lighting and after a couple of staff had played with the fuses eventually they realised it was just the lights on dim!! Dinner was good although having visited the restaurant a number of times it does start to seem slightly repetitive and the menu doesn't change much. At the end of the meal, I asked the waitress if she required me to sign the bill and she said no all is fine so I presumed they had our room number noted and we walked back to the hotel, only to be chased down the street by the bouncer and a member of staff & asked to sign the bill....very embarrassing and unprofessional! We returned to the room and the noise was horrendous, considering they were trying to win my business back they placed me in a corner room opposite the taxi rank and next to Weatherspoons. Overall very disappointing and I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Pick a hotel with double glazing!
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank MrsCliffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 1 night as part of our Wedding Anniversary celebrations.
Location: City Centre location next to the Highcross centre, a major shopping centre in Leicester. Pros - within easy walking distance of a variety of pubs, bars, restaurants, shops and other places of interest. Cons - as mentioned by other reviewers the noise... not really unexpected in a city centre admittedly, but what I didn't expect was the loud mechanical voice and warning signals that came from the bollards which block off a nearby pedestrianized street. Deliveries which set off the recording started early in the morning and seemed to go on a long time - perhaps some extra soundproofing would be a good idea.

Room: As it was a special occasion we booked the Suite. Pros - a clean, comfortable room; very spacious, with ample storage, large bed, desk, wall mounted TV, and a separate seating area. There were some nice little touches - fruit bowl, petit-fours, bottled water. There was coffe/tea making facilities with 'real' milk in the minibar. The bathroom was large with a huge bath. Robes and slippers were provided as well as plenty of towels. Cons - the lighting was too subdued for comfort - in some areas of the room I almost felt that I should have brought a torch!

Breakfast: A continental breakfast was complimentary and it was adequate. There were cooked options at an extra charge which we did not sample, though the menu suggested it would have been good.

Staff -all the staff we came in contact with were pleasant and helpful; we did feel sorry for the young man who checked us in, as the keycard system went on the blink and no room cards would work - it took him some time to get that sorted out - technology... a wonderful thing when it works!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel on 19th December, I booked 2 Superior Rooms for our Christmas Party - I have to say, this Hotel was absolutely amazing!

From the moment we walked in, we were not in Leicester, but Morocco!

The Superior room was huge, absolutely immaculate & quiet, despite being told about the party above. We had bath robe & slippers & the bath was large enough for 2!!!

The free wifi was great so we could Skype our 2 young boys - along with the flat screen tv!

We also enjoyed the lobby bar which was very cosy, we enjoyed wine & buckets of beer in ice, the service was incredible!

We had some issues with staff not confirming Christmas party bookings etc & we ended up having to eat in the Restaurant instead - but thank goodness for the staff's mistake because if not we would have never found this gem! The manager made sure we were taken care of with upgraded courses, wine etc. and the food was amazing (see Restaurant Review).

The Restaurant
From the moment we walked through the door you would not realise you were in Leicester, but at a kasbar! as the night went on, the food & service was outstanding, we can't believe a small train journey away brought us to this little gem!

The food was like Masterchef, and we could not fault a single item that was ordered, as we stayed in the Hotel, we were upgraded to our deserts being included & so glad we were - they were amazing - I can't say enough about this Restaurant - apart from - I will be going back & especially to try their cocktails!

Room Tip: Definitely book the Restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captaingreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night and were not told when booking or when checking in of the function that was being held that evening. We were in room 12 which was a good sized room and at the back of the hotel but the noise from the function directly upstairs was just too noisy and we had to move rooms at midnight to one at the front of the hotel (room 1). That was still noisy as there's a club at the end of the road and a taxi rank right outside but at least the constant walking across the ceiling backwards and forwards had gone.

Other things that were disappointing;

Website advertises Aveda products and some are but the shampoo and body wash are in unmarked bottles that could be anything (Reception told me that it is radox)

Water was only cool when trying to run a bath.

Breakfast was traumatic. Was given coffee but had to ask for milk. Was given toast but had to ask for butter. You get the idea.

Overall was very disappointed with the whole experience and would advise against it at a weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinge_How
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This was our second stay at the hotel which offers lovely rooms and great service.

Unfortunately we were put in room 7 and had no sleep all night, the noise from people waiting at the taxi rank directly below and also the road was VERY loud until around 5am, it really spoiled our stay - I really do think the hotel should warn you certainly about this room when checking in and give you the option of changing. We only found out about the issue when we came back at night and it was too late to change then.

So, not sure if we would stay again.

Room Tip: Not room 7 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_casual_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed Saturday night on B&B Dinner deal for partner's birthday. We had a wonderful meal. Hotel was lovely with quiet rooms for city centre location. All staff very attentive but not OTT. Liked nice little touches like fresh coffee & milk in mini bar to use for tea/coffee making in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyHouse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I booked in to this hotel for a four-day stay whilst visiting Leicester for business purposes. On first impression I was *very* impressed by the helpfulness and friendly attitude of the staff. The room that I had was very comfortable and exceptionally well-equipped (fluffy white slippers anyone?).
During my second day in Leicester, somebody managed to put a digger through a mains power cable in the street outside the hotel. I do not think that anyone was hurt but the hotel lost all mains power for (I think) half a day. The staff members on duty 'phoned around and arranged alternative accommodation for (AFAIK) all their guests. All though it was not the fault of the hotel, they was extremely apologetic and did their utmost to help their guests. Brilliant!
I had a meal in the restaurant one evening and it mirrored the very high standard of the hotel. The food is excellent and the staff are first class.
The only potential drawback is the location. If your room overlooks the street there is a chance of being disturbed by the noise of people and delivery vehicles.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Park Hotel
Castle Park Hotel
#26 of 41 in Leicester
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Address: 13-21 St. Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the modern quirky restaurant with rooms located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge offers a memorable dining experience with a focus on quality ingredients and bold flavours in an informal setting. The bedrooms are thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester
Hotel Maiyango Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing