We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urgh... So many rickety stairs!”
Review of Castle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This trip was for me and my partner to go visit friends from university, and this hotel was quite conveniently located which is the only positive for me that I can think of about this hotel. We arrived in to check in and the receptionist tried to charge me for the room despite already having paid on the website. After showing her my confirmation emails she then realised there was a mix up though this took around 5 minutes with most of it saying how I was wrong. I got the keys and noticed we were on the top floor. We were told when breakfast would be and when we would check out. So we made our way up, we weren't escorted which does not surprise me, though there was no offer of it which does.

So we went up the stairs; as you can see by the title were awfully rickety and; me not having a great thing for heights did not enjoy going up or down them. So we finally made it onto the top floor, the hotel was a little shabby on the way up but nothing too bad, fallen light fitting, ripped carpet. We got to the room and the door handles were loose... Great start I thought. and it took some gigging but we finally were able to open the door onto.....

The tiniest room I have ever stopped in. It had a double bed in the middle of the room and about a foot of leg room around the bed. Needless to say opening the door fully was not possible. The en-suite was not to bad but only given one towel for the two of us... so my partner went to get another. In the meantime I went to get a more thorough look. The walls were all scuffed marked simply because of the lack of space, damage to the walls and even scuff marks on a pillow. The guess welcome pack was also grubby with so many scraps of paper with all the things that had changed over the course of the packs lifetime which looked considerable.

That evening once we got back from friends we got back and went to lay down after a long day... again having to walk up the stairs which I hated. We could hear the rest of the occupants on the same floor and the walls are not thin. Fortunately all I could hear was talking but It could have been much much worse.

That morning we woke I did not attend the breakfast but my partner did, my partner told be about the burnt croissants and pain au chocolates and the lack of what was on offer. Also the breakfast area was in the basement, how lovely I thought.

Another night we spent and then it came to check out the next morning... we checked out on a Sunday and check out time is 10.30 which is very early in my experience. Though unusually reception did not open on a Sunday till that time, however there was a back post post for keys to check out... felt like thanks for your money now be on your way it didn't seem secure either just to leave the keys there. Service was poor all round. Apart from the cleaner who was very polite, though from the experience not very good at it.

Overall, I would not stay in this place again, the premier inn seems like much more of an attractive option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank propapanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

A group of us come over from Limerick every year to a rugby match at Tigers and we have been staying at this hotel since 2006 and will be returning again in Jan '14. I highly recommend this neat, very reasonably priced City Centre hotel for any visitor to Leicester

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We had to walk up lots of stairs with dirty ripped carpets (no lift) we got to the room door it looked like it had been kicked in at sometime we went into the room it was a really grotty room very dull and boring the bed covers looked grubby so did the towels when I opened the bed there was a hair the kind you don't want to see anywhere, I went in the shower room the shower was filthy,the basin was dirty, sat down gingerly on the bed looked at each other and said we can't stay here it is disgusting so we went on the internet and booked into the premier inn which was only £20 more for twin bed room .i have never been in such an dirty and depressing hotel

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I booked in as My daughter was moving into De Montfort Uni, so needed somewhere cheap and close to stay. Lovely hotel, central and clean. Only issue is had a shared bathroom but this was fine, but just be aware not all rooms ensuite.

Will definately stay again when I visit the daughter in Leicester.

Room Tip: try and get an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I tentatively booked 4 nights at this hotel, and was so impressed, I extended my stay for another 4 nights. Perfect position in the heart of Leicester, clean, tidy, nice decor, great continental breakfast choice, excellent value for money, and exceptional helpful and friendly service.
I will definitely book again, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed alone while visiting family in Leicester and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, for a very low price you get a big room with a tv and free wi-fi and a complimentary breakfast! The staff very very accommodating and helpful, I would definitely recommend this hotel and will visit again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndsay1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pleasantly surprised with the quality and service. Room was nice and clean, staff was friendly and helpful, excellent location (close to city shopping centre), price included continental breakfast, well worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagJ1897, General Manager at Castle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

All feedback is valuable to us as it helps us evaluate our products and services in line with our guests expectations. Thank you once again for your choosing to stay at Castle Park Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
974 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Park Hotel

Address: 12 Millstone Lane, Leicester LE1 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £56 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Park Hotel is an ideal place for business executives and tourists to enjoy the city centre facilities and to relax in this homely, friendly, comfortable hotel. Surrounded by quality restaurants, bars, also boasting one of the best shopping centres. All within two minuts walk! The close proximity of both the train station, bust stations, the Demontfort and Leicester Universities.Leicester Universities.All rooms have en suite, colour tv, and coffee making facilities.Includes free continental breakfast or full english breakfast from just £2.99 Contract rates and special weekend offers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing