We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location, better for a short stay”
Review of Castle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Reviewed 16 June 2009

I stayed in the Castle Park Hotel for 5 nights in June while sitting exams in the City. The hotel is right in the middle of the town centre, and is ideally placed for the shopping district, Highcross Centre, numerous bars, De Montfort Uni, and a short £5 taxi ride from the train station.

My room was on the second floor, with a view over the street. There is secondary glazing so the noise from the fairly busy road outside isn't too intrusive. Room was fairly clean, but quite basic. En suite facilities were really handy.

One slight downside was that the room was only cleaned every other day, and the tea and coffee making facilities were only topped up at the same frequency. Plus guests in the hotel seemed to be quite inconsiderate making lots of noise coming in and out of the building (there are several heavy doors to come through, which would be left to slam), whatever the time of day or night. I think this was worsened by the fact that the two other rooms on my floor were using a shared bathroom at the end of the corridor, so there was quite a lot of to-ing and fro-ing.

This would be an ideal base for shopping and site-seeing, but I would recommend it more for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jntms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2009

First time in leicester,Our group of colleagues working in theatre company for 6 weeks and stayed in Castle Park Hotel. New Curve theatre only 5 min walk,Leicester has great outdoor market which is 2 minutes from hotel,New High Cross shopping centre even havs a cinema.Great location clean hotel, frendly staff,very reasonable price for such location. I would love to stay again.

Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank Inga_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

location excellent, right in the centre,just what we wanted.staff were polite and very helpfull. rooms were clean and very comfortable. will stay there again when we go back to visit. would recommed it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogbret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

A very disapointing stay. Arrived at midday to find that the receptionist had no record of an agreement we'd made for me to arrive early, so I had to take my chances and put my luggage in my room before it had been cleaned up after the previous resident, and hope that the cleaner didn't get confused and take it all away. Compact room, with basin and tv - all you need, really, but the bathroom was on the next floor down.

Breakfast was a bit meagre - I would rather I was charged an extra pound or two and given a proper breakfast, with locally sourced bacon, sausages and free range eggs, than watery pap.

Very thin walls - at least the couple in the room opposite were enjoying their stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a few nights while visiting friends in Leicester. It is good because it is in the city centre and right by the shopping and some pubs and restaurants to go to in the evenings. I felt welcome and had a comfortable, clean single room on the 3rd floor. The price included a continental breakfast which was good for the money. At only £39.95 for a single room it is a very affordable way to see Leicester and i would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluetiger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Stayed here due to a friend's wedding at the time and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Receptionist was pleasant but her English wasn't so. The window in our room was broken and wouldn't shut all the way so all of Leicesters Saturday nightlife kept us awake! Tap was coming off its base and family staying next door's noise had to be muffled by the telly. Thankfully the room was clean and nicely decorated but sleep is just as precious in order to make a good hotel.

Breakfast toast was stale and definitely not agreeable. Don't stay here, I'm sorry I couldn't be more positive.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank belle133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We had the "king size" double room, and the problems...where can I start!:
1. Stains on furnature and walls.
2. Single glazed sash windows which didn't close properly, with poorly fitted single glazed additional internal panes.
3. Very thin walls - could hear baby crying next door and people talking in the stairway.
4. On the corner of busy crossroads - lots of taxi's and speeding cars during the night.
5. Noisy, late opening pub opposite - we were kept awake by shouting on the street outside from about 1:30-2am.
6. Two unequal singles put together to make the "king" bed.
7. Broken curtains.
8. Tiny basic bathroom - smelt of bad eggs the day we left.
9. Breakfast had been left out for a while - the meat and cheese had dried up, milk was almost room temp and although a good choice of cerals they were cheap, unbranded varieties with no flavour.

We paid £50 for a Saturday night, which is cheap for a reasonable distance to the city centre. However, in my opinion only adequate for a place to crash after a long night of clubbing and pubbing. Definitely not for any kind of quiet, relaxing, comfortable or romantic stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ladybug84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#9 of 41 in Leicester
948 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#14 of 41 in Leicester
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Central Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#6 of 41 in Leicester
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Park Hotel

Address: 12 Millstone Lane, Leicester LE1 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range: £55 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Park Hotel is an ideal place for business executives and tourists to enjoy the city centre facilities and to relax in this homely, friendly, comfortable hotel. Surrounded by quality restaurants, bars, also boasting one of the best shopping centres. All within two minuts walk! The close proximity of both the train station, bust stations, the Demontfort and Leicester Universities.Leicester Universities.All rooms have en suite, colour tv, and coffee making facilities.Includes free continental breakfast or full english breakfast from just £2.99 Contract rates and special weekend offers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Castle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing