We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, convenient but a Health & Safety nightmare!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Park Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Utrecht
1 review
“Clean, comfortable, convenient but a Health & Safety nightmare!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

I only needed a one night stay in Leicester and so my main requirement was for a clean and comfortable bed. This I found in my small single bed room on the 3rd floor (non En-suite). The trip down one floor to the bathroom was not a great inconvenience. However I went to sleep with trepidation. Why? If I need to get up in the night I would run the risk of walking into electric wires and the tv aerial lead which were dangling dangerously in the narrow space between the bed and the wall. From the cracks in the casing of the wall mounted tv set, someone before me had obviously failed to negotiate this hazard! Next problem was my early morning cup of coffee. The kettle boiled, I lifted the kettle up from its base which promptly disappeared behind the set of drawers on which it was set. Why? The mini extension lead was too short and only the weight of the kettle was keeping it in place! And so as a cheap, clean, convenient overnight stop - OK. BUT as cheap, clean, convenient and SAFE overnight stop - DANGEROUS!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youngharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    57
    26
    12
    15
See reviews for
19
33
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AdrianOxford
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

I stay regularly at Castle Park, it's very central to Leicester and good value if you are looking for a decent hotel and you don't like the impersonality of hotel chains. The staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel has a selection of rooms: the single non-ensuite are very small, but there are a variety of reasonably priced single and double ensuite rooms. The breakfast is continental (not cooked). Being a hotel in the centre of the city, it's more noisy at the front, but there are quieter rooms at the back. The rooms are tastefully done and comfortable. The hotel has wirelss internet, occasaionly there are problems with wireless reception. The staff do not stay overnight.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

I frequently stay at the Castle Park hotel in Leicester; the hotel is situated in the city centre close to shops, restaurants and businesses, the staff are helpful, the rooms are clean and bright and decorated in a stylish manner. I have stayed at several hotels in Leicester and this one is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarierosenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

The hotel is very claustrophobic. There are no elevators. Guests have to carry luggage up very steep stairs. Staff do not offer any help in regards to helping guests carry luggage. The room was minuscule. When you opened the door - it touched the bed. In fact, the bed occupied most of the room space. The view from the window was non-existent. Take my advice - NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PROFESSORCRITIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leicester hotels

Huddersfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

I stayed at the Castle Park hotel on Thursday the 8th of October and I am sorry to say that it wasn't one of the best experiences I have had in a hotel.

From the moment I arrived there were problems with the credit card booking that my company had arranged in advance for me and I ended up settling the bill on my personal card. There was some confusion over which room I would stay in, being first given the key to a second floor room and then being given the key to a third floor room.

The worst came at breakfast on Friday morning when I chose the only croissant remaining on the serving table to find it alive with green mould. I passed it to the young lady on duty who apologised. Having seen this lack of hygene I did not want to eat or drink anything on the premises and so, without breakfast, I left to find somewhere suitable to obtain refreshments.

I did not enjoy the experience of the Castle Park Hotel and I shall ensure that we, as a company, do not use it again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoolieHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

Stayed at Castle Park with my son after Summer Sundae festival. The room (1st floor) was spacious with a huge bed, tv and load of storage. Bathroom was small but perfectly adequate. It is a little noisy but you expect this on the outskirts of town. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lufcgirlBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

Service: excellent, friendly, young staff.
Room: I had a single room, non ensuite - number 301. I was on the third floor, the top floor, which is accessible only by stairs. The room was long and narrow. It fitted a single bed, locker, chest of drawers and a wardrobe built into the wall. A tv is mounted on the wall. There was no desk or work surface in my room, though perhaps the other rooms might have this facility. The best things about the room? The bed was fantastically comfortable, the tv had most of the terrestrial channels, the sash window opened up. Minor problems were that the kettle cord didnt reach the plug socket - I had to put the kettle on the floor to boil it. The room was also beside the boiler or something as it was very hot, even with the windows open all night - but it was exceptionally hot weather too.

I didn't have an en suite bathroom, and the communal bathroom was on the second floor, one floor down. However, I had the impression that I was the only person using the communal bathroom - the bath was never wet, the shower curtains didn't move etc. It was spotlessly clean, plenty of hot water, and it remained me of a bathroom in a house, not a hotel, so it was very homey! I didn't mind not having an ensuite as I was only staying for one night.

Breakfast was served in the basement of the building in a tiny dining room. Cereals, bread for toasting, yogurts, juice, pastries, bakewell tarts(!) butter and jam were on the menu, as well as tea and instant coffee.
It doesn't do lunch or evening meals, but there is a French restaurant and a pub serving food across the road - both of which do student discounts :) McDonalds is within 2 minutes walk, and Bella Italia and other chains within 5 minutes.

The location is excellent - I was on the high street in about 10 minutes, a short walk which took me through the lanes shopping area - much better shopping here than in the Highcross centre. Also only 10 minutes walk from the museums area, and close to the start of the beautiful New Walk promenade, which takes you to Victoria Park, De Montefort Hall and Leicester University.

A great value for money hotel, perhaps best suited to short stays if you take a room without a bathroom, and suited to solo travelers, students, shoppers, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaia-IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leicester hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#5 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#15 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#10 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Leicester The Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Park Hotel

Property: Castle Park Hotel
Address: 12 Millstone Lane, Leicester LE1 5JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Park Hotel is an ideal place for business executives and tourists to enjoy the city centre facilities and to relax in this homely, friendly, comfortable hotel. Surrounded by quality restaurants, bars, also boasting one of the best shopping centres. All within two minuts walk! The close proximity of both the train station, bust stations, the Demontfort and Leicester Universities.Leicester Universities.All rooms have en suite, colour tv, and coffee making facilities.Includes free continental breakfast or full english breakfast from just £2.99 Contract rates and special weekend offers available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Castle Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Park Hotel Leicester, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing