We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break.”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #18 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked a standard double room for our wedding anniversary. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was a good size and nicely furnished but everything was a little tatty. The mattress was very comfortable though. The bathroom could really do with updating - again a little shabby. I especially booked a room with a bath expecting to be able to have a nice soak but it was far too short to relax in and I'm not tall! It was also hard to get in and out of as it was quite high off the floor. We couldn't watch the TV as it wasn't getting an aerial signal - we tried making sure it was connected properly but still no luck, not too much of a problem though as we were going out anyway. We didn't bother paying for breakfast as we didn't fancy having to traipse to the restaurant next door. We had a room at the front of the hotel and it was noisy, but that's only to be expected for the location. Overall we had a good stay, but I'm not sure it was as luxurious as we were expecting!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. I am pleased to hear that our staff left a positive impression and provided a warm welcome for your anniversary break.

I am pleased to tell you that our bathrooms and bedrooms are due for renovation in the New Year and your comments regarding the décor have been taken on board. Our prime location does mean that a bit of street noise is inevitable; however, we do have a selection of rooms at the rear of the hotel which can be allocated upon request. We sincerely apologise for the trouble you experienced with your TV, a member of staff would have been happy to help you and I can confirm the issue has been rectified with a channel scan.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bail House in the future and hope that you will come and sample one of our more superior rooms.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here last night in the 4 poster room, was slightly concerned about the room not been ensuite, but once there we were met by a friendly receptionist who showed us round the facilities and the room was fantastic. The toilet and bathroom was only 5 seconds from the room.
A superb place to stay due to it's location and we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuckleyWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a kind review regarding your recent stay.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the unique style of the Bail House to your liking. It is unfortunate that the ground floor four poster bedrooms do not lend themselves to having their own en-suite bathrooms; however, we believe the charm and character of the rooms far outweigh this negative. We do have a large selection of en-suite bedrooms available for any possible future stays, three of which host magnificent king size mahogany four poster beds.

Our central location certainly is fantastic and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Needed to stay in Lincoln for one night, so booked the Bail House based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. We had the twin room, which is very comfortable. Plenty of tea and coffee in the room with unlimited refills. Breakfast was provided in the restaurant next door - this was very good and the service was excellent. Great value for such a place full of character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattMolecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews.

It is a pleasure to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that you found the accommodation we have to offer charming, and the facilities plentiful.

I will be sure to pass along your lovely comments regarding breakfast to the team at Ole Ole, who I’m sure will be very pleased.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bail House soon.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Another lovely relaxing stay at the Bailhouse Hotel.
I took my mum this time and she loved the four poster bed!
The beds are comfy and beautifully furnished. Staff were so professional and helpful.
Breakfasts are the only down-side. The small tapas bar next door doubles as a breakfast area, and although not run by the hotel staff, has an arrangement with the hotel proprietor. This is poor service, and not to the hotels standard. And its possibly a reason we won't return, which is a real shame, because the Bailhouse is perfect in every other way: central to the sites,stylish, friendly, homely, with a great seating area downstairs with honesty bar and large TV. Please get the breakfasts sorted sir - we await your reply to our email!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of the Bail House & Mews. It is a pleasure welcoming you back each time and we hope you come and visit us again soon.

With regards to your comments concerning breakfast, I have contacted you via email to discuss these issues.

Thank you once again from everyone at Bail House.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We had this hotel booked for us by a very dear friend and it was fantastic. The staff were lovely and we cant recommend it highly enough. The standard and care were excellent. We will definetly be back.It was truly wonderful. Thank you so much..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy Caswell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Front Office Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review. It is splendid to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that you were pleased with the accommodation and service we have to offer.

Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews soon.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Recently stayed here in a shared apartment, facilities were great, staff were extremely helpful and welcoming. Everything about the stay was great, all the rooms were to a really high standard. I'm sure we will be back to Lincoln, and would definitely be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank recentlytripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Front Office Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a kind review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that the apartments provided everything you needed for your relaxing break.

We hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews soon.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I've been asked to write a review of our stay at the Bail House & mews.
Which sums up the Hotel and Staff, as they are constantly wanting feed back on how to make your stay even more enjoyable.
Unfortunately, there is nothing I can suggest, as our stay was perfect.
We booked in at 17:00 mid week (Wednesday 25th September) And it was fantastic from the start.
I'd never stayed in the hotel before, but was made to feel like a regular. The staff are welcoming and happy to help in anyway they can. I had a few requests to make the night that little bit more special. And they where more then happy to help.
we stayed in the feature room (room 5) which is a lovely small romantic room with exposed Oak beams and a cosy atmosphere. It had all the modern facilities, a large rain shower in the room. (its a shame its in the main room, but that doesn't detract from the room in anyway) With a small en suite bathroom. (the Bath in this room is amazingly big) there is also another large bathroom with big shower just across the landing out side the room. Which makes getting ready in the Evenings or Mornings much easier.
The room itself had everything you could need or imagine. Large Flat Screen T.V, Kettle with Coffee/Tea facilities Still and Sparkling Water. It really was a lovely stay in a perfect room.
If you want to enjoy a perfect evening in a hotel that will do what ever they can to make your stay the best it can be then The Bail House & Mews is the place to stay.

All I can really say is a big thank you to all the staff for making our night perfect.

Room Tip: There is a small outside pool, but it wasn't in operation during the period of our stay, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Front Office Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a delightful review regarding your recent stay.

It is fantastic to hear that our staff went above and beyond to assist with your special requirements. Providing unparalleled customer service is a number one priority at the Bail House so I am pleased that you experienced such service. The Bail House offers relaxing home away from home accommodation with those little luxuries, therefore, providing a warm welcome and making guests feel as comfortable as possible complements the charm and ambience we like to achieve.

The feature room certainly is one of a kind. As a grade II listed building we are very limited to what we can do with regards to the structure of the building which includes the moving of walls to make bathrooms bigger. For this reason the raindance shower was placed within the room itself, a feature that has always been very popular with guests and one that we feel adds to the uniqueness of the room. We are pleased that you found our feature room to your liking and that we provided an ideal base for your evening away in Lincoln.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews soon.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £63 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing