We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place for central Lincoln”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #18 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location of the hotel is really good next to the Cathedral and Castle.We had the room with the four poster bed which was very comfortable .The staff were really friendly and helpful with time to chat on where to visit and eat.Overall a very positive visit and we will return on our next trip to Lincoln.The breakfast at the Ole Ole Bistro next door was also very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DC482013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about you recent stay at the Bail House & Mews.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we will ensure that we pass on your kind comments to Ole Ole about breakfast.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards,
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Location, usually the reserve of estate agents applies equally to hotels, particularly when they are located in the heart of such a wonderful city.
This is a very unusual hotel. We had an en-suite room overlooking Bailgate, quite a large comfortable room. The bathroom was a bit tired, but still acceptable. In addition to the tea making facilities, there was, downstairs, a lounge with additional facilities, computer and honesty bar with everything in from soft drinks to Krug champagne. With the staff all leaving at 9.0pm this showed a level of trust not often found. I sincerely hope that it is not abused because it would be a great shame.
This is a good comfortable hotel in a really good location for exploring the cathedral part of Lincoln. There is limited parking on site.
Oh, and I must not forget to mention the lovely welcome that we had from a young lady who had not been with the hotel very long. Such a pleasant change from the usual bored insincere types that unfortunately seem to favour such jobs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank addlethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your recent stay.

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I know that your comments will make all of the staff here at Bail House very happy.

We are very lucky to have such a central location surrounded by some lovely restaurants and boutique shops and our lounge provides the perfect place to relax after a busy day exploring the Cathedral quarter of Lincoln. We are glad to hear that you found our lounge comfortable and pleasant during your stay.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews soon.

Kindest regards,
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bail House. The location is perfect for seeing Lincoln. The room was spacious with lots of character.

A particular point to note was the service, the staff at Bail House were extremely accommodating and provided a very friendly and warm environment to the place. We would highly recommend and it will be our hotel of choice when we return to Lincoln.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and accommodating.

Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to the Bail House & Mews soon.

Kindest regards,
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went to Lincoln for the weekend and booked a one night stay in the Bail House Hotel. The hotel is in the perfect setting 2 minute walk from the Castle or Cathedral and right on top of the famous steep hill with great little quirky shops and great eating houses. As for the hotel, the rooms are lovely ours had a big old fashioned four poster bed and the room was full of charactor. As we was late booking our room did not have an ensuite, however we only had to share with one other room, so we did not mind. The staff could not be more helpful if they tried, and we loved sitting in the lounge drinking free coffee, and then finally you have the honesty bar where you help yourself to drinks, crisps or sweets and the staff hope you are honest enough to write down what you have had. Where else in this country do you find people who still believe in trust and honesty. We will now make Bail House a frequent haunt and we are already planning our next trip there and will be taking friends and family with us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The purpose of our guest lounge is to offer guests a peaceful area to relax after exploring Lincoln. For this reason we are very pleased to hear that you found it welcoming and comfortable.

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kindest regards,
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

What a lovely hotel which felt more like a home. We loved the lounge and ability to make drinks from the machine.

The staff were really friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was a few steps across the courtyard and in the restaurant next door - quality breakfast and saved us looking elsewhere.

Fantastic location in the middle of Lincoln right near the castle and cathedral.

Top marks, a lot of money and effort has been put into the Bail House Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CostaBlancaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your delightful review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. We are pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and that you loved the guest lounge with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities.

I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the Ole Ole team next door; who I’m sure will be very pleased.

Thank you once again from all the staff at Bail House & Mews.

Kindest regards,
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We visited Lincoln for the weekend and had a one night stay. The hotel was perfect with lots of character plus all the necessary amenities. Perfectly situated too. The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful, giving us advice and tips about the local area etc. The breakfast at the Tapas place next door was also very good, literally out the back door and across the garden. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff provided a friendly and helpful service.

We agree that our location in the picturesque Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln is ideal for exploring and we hope that you come and see us again at another time.

Thank you once again.

Kindest regards
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

My son studies at Lincoln University and I decided to make the most of a few days off work by paying him a visit. I managed to book a room with just 24 hours notice and on my arrival I was very pleased to hear that I had been given an upgrade. I had a lovely traditional double room with a huge double bed and spacious bathroom, that also looked out over the front of the hotel and gave me a view of the fabulous Cathedral.

The staff at Bail House are extremely friendly, informative and rightly proud of their hotel and city. They make a real difference and immediately put you at ease and make you feel welcome. The hotel is in right in the middle of the historic quarter but the Bail House is not a soulless tourist hotel and has bags of charm. The huge sofas, honesty bar, TV and free coffee machine in the shared communal area is very welcoming and provides a real home from home for weary travellers. My son came back for a nightcap after our evening out and we enjoyed a long chat without feeling that we were bothering anybody.

I had a good breakfast in the adjoining cafe/bar which doubles as a Tapas bar for lunch and diner and I fully intend to sample the very enticing menu the next time I visit. The proprietor is from Galicia and assures me that the Pulpo Gallego is very good.

I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Bail House and I fully intend to return over the next few years.

Dom
From Cardiff

Room Tip: Room 3 has a great view over the Bail Gate and Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horsechrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilly M, Reception Manager at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the guest lounge and facilities like a home from home.

We will pass on your kind comments about breakfast to the staff next door and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kindest regards
Lilly Matthews
Reception Manager
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
769 reviews
0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £63 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing