We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #18 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful rooms, very kind service, good breakfast in adjacent restaurant, relaxed atmosphere and perfectly friendly staff. Perfect for a short trip to Lincoln. The Lounge with drinks is fantastic! Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Bail House.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nice room with four poster bed and ensuite. Nice hotel settings. Great location. No complaints other than the hotel is not staffed after 9pm which we thought was a little odd. But overall a good comfortable stay for our weekend in lincoln.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderland8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Service was great, hotel has plenty of charm. I really enjoyed my stay here, close to everything in this cute little town. Staff were very friendly and quick to help. Easy access to the cathedral and castle. I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sunjayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly and helpful and we are very lucky to be situated in such a wonderful part of Lincoln.

We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked one night for my husbands birthday suprise. Got the four poster room with en suite and we were not dissapointed. Lovely staff beautiful room the bed was stunning what a centre piece. The room was big light and airy. The coutyard was lovely to sit in you could help yourself to free tea and coffee in the lounge which was great you also had tea and coffee facilities in your room. Great location loved it. We will be going again for longer next time

Room Tip: Four poster with en suite beautiful no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful.

We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Love Lincoln and usually stay at number 7 but was fully booked so thought we would give this one a try as sounded lovely! Arrived and checked in then shown the apartment which we was notified that the kitchen, dining area was also in use by another party! The kitchen was very dirty and our rooms had not been hoovered, I went to complain however it was blamed on house keeping, was not offered and refund and at 160 a night was disgusted, was offered a complimentary breakfast which I did not except as looking at the state of our kitchen god knows what there kitchen was like!!!! Will not be staying here ever and will not be recommending it... Would rate it as 2 star. I took photos it's a shame I can't upload them as nothing like the photos on late rooms

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelb-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We apologise that on this occasion you did not enjoy your visit.

In regards to the shared kitchen and dining area, I can clarify that this is outlined both on Laterooms.com as well as in the confirmation email that we sent to you on the 18th March 2014 “This apartment also benefits from a shared kitchen and dining area. This is only shared with one other apartment”.

We believe that our offer of breakfast was in fitting with the complaint as our receptionist checked the apartment personally and the apartment was up to our standards.

Once again we apologise that your stay was not as expected. We appreciate all feedback given good and bad so that we can improve on aspects guests felt were lacking, however, it is disappointing that you should leave such a negative review regarding aspects that were, as proven above, made clear to you during booking and prior to your arrival. The Bail House and Mews pride ourselves on honesty and making all policies clear to guests on our website, through third party booking sites and through our booking confirmations.

Kindest Regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House and Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years and will continue to but it is sadly starting to lack the charm it once had! Whilst the tired rooms really aren't an issue the new lack of attention when it comes to house keeping is! Over a three night period the room was never hoovered, toiletries never replenished nor the water and on one occasion even the bed not made but the toilet paper did have a nice triangle! The arrangement re breakFast is hard to accommodate..not everyone can tell the day before the exact time they will be in for that! And before the breakfast room was taken over last year they did do the most amazing breakfast so that is a sad loss. On the whole the place including the out side is looking sadly unloved and unkept! Such a shame for a place you look on as a home from home!

Room Tip: Not any facing the courtyard unless you want to be kept awake with kitchen staff from the tapas bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DawnWGioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you will continue to stay with us here at the Bail House and do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we did not meet our usual standards.
Having taken your comments of board, we hope that on your next visit the ‘charm’ as described shall be reinstated.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had a very comfy sleep in my massive four poster bed!!! The room was huge with a high ceiling. Stayed in a non en suite room (I thought it was a little pricey for a mid week stay and sharing a bathroom) but luckily I was just around the corner from the bathroom, although I felt as though I needed to wear my shoes just to leave my room (if I booked again I would choose en suite as I would have felt more relaxed)
Bought some snacks from the hotel's lounge area...a bit overpriced... £1 for a normal sized Mars bar and £1 for a can of Tango (obviously not breaking the bank but....you know)
Felt a little bit 'looked down upon' as the hotel is very up market and I felt as though I should have been dressed up to be staying there.
Overall I enjoyed my stay as I had a really good night's sleep and a nice hot chocolate! A really nice hotel!

Room Tip: I would definitely choose en suite if it's within your budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LawlyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House.

We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,852 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 mi away
Charlotte House
Charlotte House
#12 of 51 in Lincoln
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newport Guest House
Newport Guest House
#6 of 51 in Lincoln
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing