We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - and excellent staff!”
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bail House & Mews
Ranked #16 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location - and excellent staff!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Seven of us stayed over a long weekend. The staff were amazingly helpful. The location is ideal for sightseeing in Lincoln.

However, the front rooms overlooking the Bailgate have to contend with late night revellers at the Weekend. Pity really! Take your ear plugs!

Phill

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear will be quieter at the Weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us within Pemberton House.

We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    168
    66
    40
    26
See reviews for
88
282
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked two-bedroomed apartment for one night for a city break to celebrate my mum's birthday. First impressions of the main hotel were generally positive and staff pleasant but the apartment was really disappointing. Beds and bedroom furniture were adequate but the whole set-up was shabby and tired: curtain hanging off a rail, battered and uncomfortable sofa, kitchen taps broken, noisy boiler which didn't heat the water up, leaking taps in the bathroom and a woeful shower. Although the kitchen area was quite well-equipped, it lacked basics like tea towels and the layout meant that you couldn't have more than one person in there at any one time, plus it encroached on the 'seating area' to the extent that only 2 people could comfortably sit to watch TV. From the other positive reviews of this accommodation, I can only assume that the main hotel is of a higher standard but the apartment was poor value for money in my view. The staff are only on reception until around 9pm so if you realise too late, as we did, that there were too few, very ancient and flat, pillows, or that the lamp in the bedroom didn't work, there was nobody to ask for replacements. It's also quite noisy in the courtyard due to the tapas bar's beer garden across the way - although the breakfast, which is served in the tapas bar the following day, was very good. Overall, wouldn't recommend this accommodation and don't think it's worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't book an apartment in the rear courtyard - go for the main hotel which presumably are of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJones77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful rooms, very kind service, good breakfast in adjacent restaurant, relaxed atmosphere and perfectly friendly staff. Perfect for a short trip to Lincoln. The Lounge with drinks is fantastic! Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Bail House.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nice room with four poster bed and ensuite. Nice hotel settings. Great location. No complaints other than the hotel is not staffed after 9pm which we thought was a little odd. But overall a good comfortable stay for our weekend in lincoln.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderland8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Service was great, hotel has plenty of charm. I really enjoyed my stay here, close to everything in this cute little town. Staff were very friendly and quick to help. Easy access to the cathedral and castle. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunjayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly and helpful and we are very lucky to be situated in such a wonderful part of Lincoln.

We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked one night for my husbands birthday suprise. Got the four poster room with en suite and we were not dissapointed. Lovely staff beautiful room the bed was stunning what a centre piece. The room was big light and airy. The coutyard was lovely to sit in you could help yourself to free tea and coffee in the lounge which was great you also had tea and coffee facilities in your room. Great location loved it. We will be going again for longer next time

Room Tip: Four poster with en suite beautiful no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful.

We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews.

Kindest regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House & Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Love Lincoln and usually stay at number 7 but was fully booked so thought we would give this one a try as sounded lovely! Arrived and checked in then shown the apartment which we was notified that the kitchen, dining area was also in use by another party! The kitchen was very dirty and our rooms had not been hoovered, I went to complain however it was blamed on house keeping, was not offered and refund and at 160 a night was disgusted, was offered a complimentary breakfast which I did not except as looking at the state of our kitchen god knows what there kitchen was like!!!! Will not be staying here ever and will not be recommending it... Would rate it as 2 star. I took photos it's a shame I can't upload them as nothing like the photos on late rooms

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelb-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We apologise that on this occasion you did not enjoy your visit.

In regards to the shared kitchen and dining area, I can clarify that this is outlined both on Laterooms.com as well as in the confirmation email that we sent to you on the 18th March 2014 “This apartment also benefits from a shared kitchen and dining area. This is only shared with one other apartment”.

We believe that our offer of breakfast was in fitting with the complaint as our receptionist checked the apartment personally and the apartment was up to our standards.

Once again we apologise that your stay was not as expected. We appreciate all feedback given good and bad so that we can improve on aspects guests felt were lacking, however, it is disappointing that you should leave such a negative review regarding aspects that were, as proven above, made clear to you during booking and prior to your arrival. The Bail House and Mews pride ourselves on honesty and making all policies clear to guests on our website, through third party booking sites and through our booking confirmations.

Kindest Regards
Ella Watmore
Reception Supervisor
Bail House and Mews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Property: Bail House & Mews
Address: Bail House 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing