We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for the money”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not good for the money”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I had looked forward to two nights in a great small city and chose this place after reading other reviews.
The appearance of this gaunt building sandwiched between the MacDonalds and Morrisons was not encouraging - but at least the cathedral was in sight still. Though the location for tourist activity is OK - it is far from the best even at the price. Car parking is a charged extra - listen closely to how to work the barrier system!
The room was OK - not large,but clean enough. The carpet could have benefited from a shampoo and the complementary services in the room were weak - we had to ask for tea bags etc during stay.
Far the worst feature of the stay were the breakfasts. They were basically a 'university hall' service. The same each day, little choice was available, and the scrambled egg was sloppy and unpalatable. The sausages lacked taste and seating was uncomfortable.
The reception staff did a lot to recover from the very worst kind of experience.
Do the business people - or those visiting the nearby University - not want something better on visiting Lincoln. We certainly will!

Room Tip: Get high to reduce sound impact from large roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSPENCERPHILLIPS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel, it is only with guests feedback that we can aim on improving what we already offer, I’m sorry you seem confused by the car park operation I can only think this is due to the fact that we have a free 15 minute window for people being picked up/dropped off that in this “window” we cannot validate your ticket after this period once validated the ticket works for the duration of your stay enabling exit and entry.
As part of a branded hotel group guests choose us for consistency and we uphold this by standardising our offering, if you stay at an Holiday Inn Express in London or in Lincoln the product is the same. The number of complimentary teas and coffee’s in the room is one of our standards, and as you mention we supply more on a request basis at the front desk.
I’m sorry you didn’t like the fact our free breakfast is self-service and it is an area under constant review and after guest feedback we added three hot items to what was historically a cold continental selection we now have over thirty items in our breakfast buffet.
Once again thank you for your review

Darren Spencer-Phillips
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    401
    105
    26
    10
See reviews for
169
367
35
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

There are two Holiday Inn Express hotels in the city only about 500 metres apart, this one was £50 less than the one on the riverfront but no less quality. Well fitted and new enough to feel good. Staff very helpful, room very quiet considering a busy roundabout adjacent. Will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We were on fourth floor so maybe that helps in getting separation from the traffic below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

On my first night at the hotel I have to say the food was well below par from what I would expect from such a chain hotel.
The check in receptionist did not stand out at all, however in the evening duty manager Ryan and his colleague Chris, were chatty, welcoming and everything I would expect from hotel staff.
Must say on the second night I was served my dinner in was placed in front of me the young lady serving did not look at me, but swiftly turned and walked away, without bothering to ask if it was the correct meal, if I needed anything else, god forbid a smile!
Once again duty manager Ryan and Chris were on duty, I now feel that if the other members of staff are the ones we encounter, Ryan and Chris should be training managers for the group!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSPENCERPHILLIPS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I’m sorry you felt that the food was “below par” as part of the holiday inn express group we do not offer a full a la carte dining experience but in line with our brand a small selection of simple classic favourites. I will certainly pass on your comments to Ryan and Chris and I am glad that they displayed excellent customer service; this makes your other comments particularly disappointing regarding the other members of the team you encountered, once again thank you for the comments.

Darren Spencer-Phillips
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Hotel very well located and short walk into old town Lincoln. Staff very helpful and friendly. Well above average than some of the other Holiday Inn Express I have stayed in. Onsite car park although this is extra cost.

Room Tip: Room facing city ideal as view over Lincoln and Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We (family of 4) recently stayed here for an extended period, and were well catered for. Obviously an apartment would have been better, but unfortunately it wasn't an option, as it was a work trip. The rooms were serviced daily, and although myself and the kids did hang around the room from time to time, we were never interrupted for cleaning. The rooms were an ok size for a family, consisting of a queen size bed, with a sofa bed that was permanently in bed position for the kids. Breakfast was self service and included, plus very substantial. The restaurant menu was pretty basic, and a little overpriced for what you can get around town, but fair if you're considering convenience. The pizza's were quite good. It's very much a typical hotel, décor wise, that's very clean with pleasant helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have stayed in an express before and was not overly looking forward to my stay, but I was pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were very pleasant and checked me in quickly. My room was a good size with a good sized working area and nice sofa, so no sitting on the bed all the time. There was a problem with my room but they moved me straight away with no fuss. You will need to bring all your smellies as only a basic body wash is provided. The bar area is nice and somewhere you might want to sit and have a drink. The breakfast was basic, but not too bad. Good location for the city centre, only a 10 min walk into town. When I come back to Lincoln I will probably book here again.

Room Tip: There is no gym within the hotel and parking is not free. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSPENCERPHILLIPS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review Its great to hear when guests have had a great stay and we provided everything they needed, myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back soon

Darren Spencer-Phillips
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We use the Holiday Inn chain regularly throughout the UK.. and this one was excellent for location, nice friendly staff helping us choose a Restaurant for a special evening (The Old Bakery), the foyer/bar area always had people around and was lively a place you actually wanted to sit and have a drink or snack and watch the world go by and definitely no complaints with the free Breakfast....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
868 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,717 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Address: Brayford Enterprise Park Ruston Way | Ruston Way, Lincoln LN6 7DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lincoln
#3 Family Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the sleek Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre hotel for contemporary comfort in the heart of Lincoln's business district. It's a short trip from Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre to Lincolnshire Showground for your event or conference. Afterwards, you can catch up with colleagues over a drink or meal in our vibrant Lobby or dine out at the numerous restaurants on nearby Lincoln High Street. Or head back to your air-conditioned Guest room where free Wi-Fi allows you to work at your desk in peace and quiet. We're a 5-mile drive from Lincolnshire Showground, and 40 miles from East Midlands Airport. Drivers can relax as there's plenty of secure parking at our hotel. Invite colleagues to meet in our naturally lit meeting room. Or work via complimentary WiFi in the hotel's striking aubergine and cream toned public areas.Set just behind Lincoln High Street, the Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre puts brand-name shopping and trendy restaurants right on your doorstep. It's a pleasant 15-minute stroll to Lincoln University and the craft shops of the cobbled Cathedral Quarter. An enticing selection of bars makes buzzing Brayford waterfront a good choice for your night out. Kick-start your day with our complimentary continental breakfast with hot items. Spend evenings relaxing with friends over drinks in the Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre's stylish Great Room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing