We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every respect”

The Ivory Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ivory Guest House
Ranked #40 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Derby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent in every respect”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

An excellent weekend. Super room, great breakfast, helpful owners, one couldn't ask for more. A short walk to the city centre with very comfortable clean rooms it certainly lives up to it's rating. all in all superb value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Myself and my partner along with my mum stayed here for a 2 night weekend getaway combined with visiting my sister who is attending Lincoln Uni. The rooms had a lovely homely yet luxurious feel and I could have spent many more a happy, comfortable night in the large bed. The breakfast was ample and there was much to choose from, on the 2nd morning we wasted to have breakfast in our room and there was no problme with us taking our coffee/toast up to our room to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in bed. The wlak to Brayford Wharf and the City centre was about 10 minutes and a lovely stroll. I would definitely stay here again - a lovely refreshing change to the generic hotel rooms of a travelodge or holiday inn etc

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed for 5 nights with a 9 months old baby and were really happy. Lovely and very clean room, very good breakfast, very good location for central Lincoln. Were provided with a cot, no highchair but no problem to put our pushchair into the breakfast room. We had a really good week there and will certainly choose the Ivory again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familie_Reisevogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Lincoln, our first visit. We were guided by the reviews in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The Ivory is in an ideal location, a 10 minute stroll to either the town centre or the castle/catherdral area. On arrival, we had the choice of parking outside at the front, or the off-road area at the rear, a plus point for any city B&B. The B&B was spotlessly clean, very warm and we were made very welcome. Our room was modern and cosy.
The Breakfast the next morning consisted of a variety of items, the full English was piping hot, fresh and delicious - a meal to set you up for the day. I have no hesitation in recommending the Ivory and its friendly hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandMark103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

My mother and I went for a two night break for her birthday and we had a lovely stay. When we arrived we were given a pass to park the car putside the building and we were shown to our twin room - the beds were comfortable and modern; the room was spacious, clean and warm and we had a a good ensuite shower room with lots of hot water.
The Ivory is a good 15 minute walk from the centre of town and our host James was very knowledgeable and gave us a map to begin our wanderings including a nice short cut to the Cathedral Quarter which cut out the aptly titled 'Steep Hill'!
The full english Breakfast was hearty and kept us going through the whole day. All in all a lovely little guest house, with a friendly host - which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed here for three nights in November, two of which were cold and wet. The Ivory was however warm and welcoming. The room was comfortable and furnished and decorated to a good standard. The substantial breakfast was just the job for setting us up for the cold November days! Reasonably placed for a short walk into Lincoln centre where visits to the Cathedral and Castle are a must.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandchester, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We stayed at the Ivory Guest House from the 9th to 13th September 2010. The rooms are clean and reasonably well appointed. Our rooms drawbacks were, lousy internet connection and the two steps down to the ensuite, almost missed the steps on a couple of night visits. The guest house is in a nice quite location, easily accessed. Easy walking distance to the "High Street" for shopping, easy walking distance to the Castle and Cathedral and also easy walking distance to the Bradford Wharf district for great restaurants. The hosts are helpful and knowledgable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiBillBass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tennyson Court
Tennyson Court
#31 of 48 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Yarborough
#5 of 14 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#29 of 48 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#9 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Guest House

Property: The Ivory Guest House
Address: 258 West Parade, Lincoln LN1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivory Guest House Lincoln is ideally located within minutes from Lincoln city centre, ensuring guests have easy access to all of Lincoln’s splendid attractions such as Lincoln Minster and Castle, Lincoln’s unique shops, many restaurants and riverside pubs and inns. Graded with 4 Stars by Visit England, Ivory House is a centrally located Bed and Breakfast offering excellent accommodation for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing