We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, unpretentious B&B”

The Ivory Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ivory Guest House
Ranked #43 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very clean, unpretentious B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, we booked 2 nights here. We like to stay at character B & Bs so were a bit disappointed. That said, our very small double room was attractively & efficiently renovated & was very clean & in excellent condition compared to many at the same price. Everything looked pretty new. Unfortunately, the room was on the 3rd floor, it was hot, there wasn't a fan, and only one of the 3 windows opened. Fortunately, the neighborhood is quiet to the rear, and we slept with the window open without disturbance. We dispensed with the duvet the first night. We mentioned this to the owner at breakfast & the second night it was replaced with a sheet. The bathroom was small with a half size sink but full shower and was very clean and nicely redone.

The dining/reception/hall area does not begin one's stay with a good impression. It could use a redo. The morning English breakfast was hot & very good, along with cereal, juice & yogurt. We enjoyed the pressed coffee with refills & variety of toasts.

The owner directed us to several restaurants, one in particular we really enjoyed, and made several suggestions for sight-seeing. He was very helpful.

The exterior and immediate area is not very attractive. These are small row homes, many student lets and not in the best of shape. It appears to be a neighborhood in transition. Since it is in convenient walking distance to both High St. and Brayford, no doubt it will improve as many seem to be sprucing up some of the houses. We were given parking permits to place in our car window parked on the street. & this worked fine. A very nice perk for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Ivory Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Thank you for your review. Although the room on the 2nd floor you refer to is our smallest room. It has premium carpets and wallpaper which are under a year old. With antique walnut wardrobe and good quality bed & shower en-suite, this room has been assess by Visit Britain as a 4 Star double room and I believe has a lovely character. The window is long with 3 sections, the middle section is a tilt and turn, which fully opens and complies’s with fire regulations egress. At the time of your stay it was the hottest day of the year and reached up to 33*c and for our short English summers we have decided not to have air conditioning. However, we have now purchased a fan for this room.

We try to offer great service at the guesthouse and to this end, we always have had a notice in all our rooms, stating that if you have any problems please ring us at any time.

We do live in a City, and a very lovely one at that, from this room window you can see Ellis Mill on the hill side, which at night is all alight in its glory some 500mts away. You mention student accommodation; we only have one rented let in our immediate area which at the moment is not at its full potential. Therefore, I have contacted the relevant agent and council service to give them your views, and I’m pleased to say that they have acted quickly. We take your views very seriously. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were, in your words “were a bit disappointed”. But we do thank you for your praise of our service, food and value for money, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
26
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

An excellent weekend. Super room, great breakfast, helpful owners, one couldn't ask for more. A short walk to the city centre with very comfortable clean rooms it certainly lives up to it's rating. all in all superb value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

Myself and my partner along with my mum stayed here for a 2 night weekend getaway combined with visiting my sister who is attending Lincoln Uni. The rooms had a lovely homely yet luxurious feel and I could have spent many more a happy, comfortable night in the large bed. The breakfast was ample and there was much to choose from, on the 2nd morning we wasted to have breakfast in our room and there was no problme with us taking our coffee/toast up to our room to enjoy a leisurely breakfast in bed. The wlak to Brayford Wharf and the City centre was about 10 minutes and a lovely stroll. I would definitely stay here again - a lovely refreshing change to the generic hotel rooms of a travelodge or holiday inn etc

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichstetten am Kaiserstuhl, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

Stayed for 5 nights with a 9 months old baby and were really happy. Lovely and very clean room, very good breakfast, very good location for central Lincoln. Were provided with a cot, no highchair but no problem to put our pushchair into the breakfast room. We had a really good week there and will certainly choose the Ivory again!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familie_Reisevogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Lincoln, our first visit. We were guided by the reviews in Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The Ivory is in an ideal location, a 10 minute stroll to either the town centre or the castle/catherdral area. On arrival, we had the choice of parking outside at the front, or the off-road area at the rear, a plus point for any city B&B. The B&B was spotlessly clean, very warm and we were made very welcome. Our room was modern and cosy.
The Breakfast the next morning consisted of a variety of items, the full English was piping hot, fresh and delicious - a meal to set you up for the day. I have no hesitation in recommending the Ivory and its friendly hosts.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandMark103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

My mother and I went for a two night break for her birthday and we had a lovely stay. When we arrived we were given a pass to park the car putside the building and we were shown to our twin room - the beds were comfortable and modern; the room was spacious, clean and warm and we had a a good ensuite shower room with lots of hot water.
The Ivory is a good 15 minute walk from the centre of town and our host James was very knowledgeable and gave us a map to begin our wanderings including a nice short cut to the Cathedral Quarter which cut out the aptly titled 'Steep Hill'!
The full english Breakfast was hearty and kept us going through the whole day. All in all a lovely little guest house, with a friendly host - which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manda7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed here for three nights in November, two of which were cold and wet. The Ivory was however warm and welcoming. The room was comfortable and furnished and decorated to a good standard. The substantial breakfast was just the job for setting us up for the cold November days! Reasonably placed for a short walk into Lincoln centre where visits to the Cathedral and Castle are a must.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.6 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tennyson Court
Tennyson Court
#32 of 52 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Yarborough
#7 of 13 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rest
The Rest
#2 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Admiral Guest House
Admiral Guest House
#29 of 52 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#8 of 52 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Guest House

Property: The Ivory Guest House
Address: 258 West Parade, Lincoln LN1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivory Guest House Lincoln is ideally located within minutes from Lincoln city centre, ensuring guests have easy access to all of Lincoln’s splendid attractions such as Lincoln Minster and Castle, Lincoln’s unique shops, many restaurants and riverside pubs and inns. Graded with 4 Stars by Visit England, Ivory House is a centrally located Bed and Breakfast offering excellent accommodation for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing