We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fab place to stay”

The Ivory Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ivory Guest House
Ranked #44 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. James was very welcoming - on arrival he gave us a parking permit and a map with recommendations for places to visit & restaurants to try. The room was fab and the breakfasts amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in a room on the top floor, it was lovely-clean, light, airy & well decorated. Parking was mo problem as we were given a parking permit for the duration of our stay. Breakfast was superb-great presentation, plenty to eat and it wasn't greasy! James, our host, was very relaxed and welcoming. Only a 10 minute stroll into town. Would highly recommend the Ivory Guest House. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forensix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed last week-end as a short rest bite for my husband, and found a wonderful gem, our room was on the first floor and overlooking the back of the house, this was ideal for us. The room was very clean and the bonus of having a bath and shower was great. Breakfast could not be beaten very clean and plenty to eat. The hosts recommend a few places for us to eat in the evening and we followed his advice and was not disappointed. Very helpful information about the city. Wonderful stay and would recommend the Ivory to anyone. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed in February 2011 with my youngest son and returned to stay with my husband to attend our eldest son's graduation. It is a good location to walk to the centre of Lincoln. The guest house in my view is excellent. Superb breakfast, spotlessly clean and fresh accommodation. The owners James and Sarah are very helpful and pleasant and are there to help, but enable you to come and go as you please. The price is excellent value for the city centre and the parking permit is a real bonus. I much prefer this to Travel lodge type accommodation. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the twin room at the front on the first floor and the double room. Double room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 September 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I cannot fault this Guest House in any way, shape or form.
Excellent Room, Clean, bright, fresh and great sized room.
Very Warm welcome upon arrival, provided map and local information such as suggesting a few places to visit and eat whilst we were there.
Breakfast amazing,this really is a FULL English Breakfast.
James and Sarah do a wonderfull job at this Guest House and we will definatley be coming back for another stay. Would recommend early booking though to avoid disapointment.
Thank you for a wonderfull stay.
Sarah and Andrew.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Andrew2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, we booked 2 nights here. We like to stay at character B & Bs so were a bit disappointed. That said, our very small double room was attractively & efficiently renovated & was very clean & in excellent condition compared to many at the same price. Everything looked pretty new. Unfortunately, the room was on the 3rd floor, it was hot, there wasn't a fan, and only one of the 3 windows opened. Fortunately, the neighborhood is quiet to the rear, and we slept with the window open without disturbance. We dispensed with the duvet the first night. We mentioned this to the owner at breakfast & the second night it was replaced with a sheet. The bathroom was small with a half size sink but full shower and was very clean and nicely redone.

The dining/reception/hall area does not begin one's stay with a good impression. It could use a redo. The morning English breakfast was hot & very good, along with cereal, juice & yogurt. We enjoyed the pressed coffee with refills & variety of toasts.

The owner directed us to several restaurants, one in particular we really enjoyed, and made several suggestions for sight-seeing. He was very helpful.

The exterior and immediate area is not very attractive. These are small row homes, many student lets and not in the best of shape. It appears to be a neighborhood in transition. Since it is in convenient walking distance to both High St. and Brayford, no doubt it will improve as many seem to be sprucing up some of the houses. We were given parking permits to place in our car window parked on the street. & this worked fine. A very nice perk for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 September 2011

Thank you for your review. Although the room on the 2nd floor you refer to is our smallest room. It has premium carpets and wallpaper which are under a year old. With antique walnut wardrobe and good quality bed & shower en-suite, this room has been assess by Visit Britain as a 4 Star double room and I believe has a lovely character. The window is long with 3 sections, the middle section is a tilt and turn, which fully opens and complies’s with fire regulations egress. At the time of your stay it was the hottest day of the year and reached up to 33*c and for our short English summers we have decided not to have air conditioning. However, we have now purchased a fan for this room.

We try to offer great service at the guesthouse and to this end, we always have had a notice in all our rooms, stating that if you have any problems please ring us at any time.

We do live in a City, and a very lovely one at that, from this room window you can see Ellis Mill on the hill side, which at night is all alight in its glory some 500mts away. You mention student accommodation; we only have one rented let in our immediate area which at the moment is not at its full potential. Therefore, I have contacted the relevant agent and council service to give them your views, and I’m pleased to say that they have acted quickly. We take your views very seriously. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were, in your words “were a bit disappointed”. But we do thank you for your praise of our service, food and value for money, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

An excellent weekend. Super room, great breakfast, helpful owners, one couldn't ask for more. A short walk to the city centre with very comfortable clean rooms it certainly lives up to it's rating. all in all superb value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
3.5 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
759 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
4.6 mi away
Canal View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivory Guest House

Address: 258 West Parade, Lincoln LN1 1LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £35 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ivory Guest House Lincoln is ideally located within minutes from Lincoln city centre, ensuring guests have easy access to all of Lincoln’s splendid attractions such as Lincoln Minster and Castle, Lincoln’s unique shops, many restaurants and riverside pubs and inns. Graded with 4 Stars by Visit England, Ivory House is a centrally located Bed and Breakfast offering excellent accommodation for both business and leisure guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing